We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Independence Mall

Independence Mall
Book In Advance
More Info
$32.00*
and up
City Sightseeing Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off Tour
Ranked #26 of 433 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood in the middle of the city.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
455 reviews
183 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Great Place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

We had a great time. The Park Rangers did a great job. We had to cut the trip short because it started raining cats and dogs.. I will return to finish the trip...

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BigWash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    111
    18
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fillmore, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Good place to start and orient yourself”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

This is a great place to start and orient yourself with the city. This is where we picked up the Duck tour which was a great way to orient ourselves I may add. Figure spending an hour or so in line for the Liberty Bell (security clearance...free to enter to see bell and take a picture of course and a great display of its history. The information center which is helpful and has several people speaking different languages is also here as well as a nice refreshment area, tour planning section and nice bathrooms. (ALWAYS important!) We were there on the 4th of July so the whole lawn outside was set up with various reenactment venues of the British and Patriots who kept "in the time" with language when approaching tourists and trying to get them to sign up for the fight! We were able to see the reading of the Constitution on the 4th with the guest speaker of the VP of the USA and the famous 4th of July parade started from this area as well. In commemoration of a famous bakery's immigrant history to the USA, each 4th they make a US flag of 2500 cupcakes and give them away from here as well......yes tons of people waited the 20 minutes or so for the fast moving line to partake in this communal celebration of our flag and its history....the immigrant family's descendants were there saying happy 4th to each and every participant.....reminds us why it is great to be an American...don't see how you can do Philly and not visit here

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“The Cradle of Liberty and the place where July 4th started”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2014

Not much to say but this area continues to revitalize and appreciate the treasures. The open space between Independence Hall and the National Constituion Center is a great place to just relax during the warm months. During the July 4th week, enjoy the oudoor concert with the Philly Pops. There are so many structures with major historical significance within one square mile.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Abejo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
305 reviews
113 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Historical”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2014

My friend took us here and I really enjoyed. As I don't know anything about American history, I found it very interesting. It was an extremely hot day when we went which made it uncomfortable and rushed so I'd go there again to read all the outdoor exhibits.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank BarbsZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
260 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Beautiful park to enjoy. ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

Open air park with grassy area which has the visitors center, the great liberty bell and an unexpected treasure of a ghost house which is the foundation of George washington s home in Philly (they found it while erecting the new liberty bell center). The NPS rangers were nice and well informed about the sites and would answer any questions. A MUST SEE. Stop when visiting philadelphia.

Helpful?
1 Thank Argusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Independence Mall also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Independence Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing