We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun way to learn”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
More Info
$31.99*
and up
Philadelphia Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour
More Info
$33.00*
and up
Founding Fathers Tour of Philadelphia
Ranked #18 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Washington DC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fun way to learn”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

We're both in our thirties and interested in history (and one of us actually knows about it), no kids. We really enjoyed walking around this place and learning at our own pace, checking out what interested us

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank lewjamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,229 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    720
    326
    122
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“expensive disappoint”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

what a missed opportunity to tell the story of how the Constitution really changed the world. Instead, you get a glitzy, Disney-like, superficial fairy tale story

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pabljs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Must see!!!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The National Constitution Center is a must see if you are visiting Philadelphia. There is just so much to see it might take more then 1 day. I recommend that if you choose to visit the National Constitution Center that you take the time to read all the explanations attached to the various exhibits. If PATCO ever opens the Franklin Square train station it will make visiting this attraction that much easier for folks. My recommendation that if you visit Philadelphia when the Philly Phlash is operating, purchase an all day ticket and use the Phlash to get around town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank RandiRNNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Living Constitutional History”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

New director, Jeffery Rosen, has revitalized this important museum of the history of the US Constitution into the true town hall it was meant to be. A new exhibit, 1968, with both the political and social context of that year, month by month, supplements the impressive and interactive permanent exhibit, but the NCC's educational mission with a number of free and low cost public events is its real contribution. National Liberty medal in the fall, this year Hillary Clinton, will also be streamed on line.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nasus59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Jewel”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Once again, I had an enjoyable trip to the National Constitution Center. This time, the special exhibit was "1968". Wow, I wish I had held on to the things I had that year. Who would have guessed that they would have meant so much to me now? The work that is put in to each exhibit is really amazing. Each time I have visited, I have had a great experience, and have learned even more of our country's history. I usually bring visitors with me, and it is always a great experience, especially mingling with the signers of the Constitution. Where else could I hobnob with such elite members of our government? I received a membership to the Center this year as a gift, and I'm taking full advantage of it, especially since I can bring a guest with me each time. Keep up the good work. What's next?

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing