We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CityPass users worth the visit, or those that want to see 1968”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #17 of 438 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
DC Area
Level Contributor
114 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“CityPass users worth the visit, or those that want to see 1968”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

We passed by this museum on our first visit back on Memorial Day weekend. Being part of the CityPass we decided to stop by before seeing the Liberty Bell. Wasn't too disappointed. Very much a museum for families with elementary aged kids...

The Freedom Rising presentation was very moving and informative - though we wished it could have been done in a manner to address very recent Supreme Court (SCOTUS) decisions. The Constitution is a fluid document that SCOTUS addresses as needed; as well as Congress with amendments. As Freedom Rising addressed.

It was the 1968 exhibit that drew me in. I was 10 yo at the time - it was my coming of age. A time that I really took note and remembered of the events of the world around me. For those of us that remember 1968, a somber trip through time. And for those that don't there are docents to help lead talk about various parts of the 1968 exhibit.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank ChipNovaMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    316
    116
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
169 reviews
56 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Wonderful Center”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Outstanding opening presentation (I think it's called Freedom Rising) and wonderful interactive museum. Open, bright, pleasant facility to visit. Great for children and adults.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LSC06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crescent City, IL
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Interactive Place to Learn about the Constitution”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The show "Freedom Rising" was great! The narrator was very informative and enthusiastic. The graphics were stunning and you felt like you were a part of history. The upstairs exhibit has a lot great information with some interactive stations. You can try on a robe that the Supreme Court justices wear, receive the presidential oath of office, and use your viewpoint on certain issues to let you know how you would have voted in a past election. The only bad thing is that you couldn't take pictures within that part of the exhibit. In Signer's Hall, they had bronze statues of all of the men that signed the Constitution and a book where you could sign your name as well. The 1968 temporary exhibit had some interesting aspects and I would recommend checking it out. You can get both for the same ticket price. Definitely enjoyable for someone who enjoys history!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“History alive”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Definitely for kids and adults. The show "Freedom Rising" actually moved me! The upstairs is loaded with a good interactive history museum that moves you through the constitution and its reference points in America. This is worth the visit and do it in conjunction with the Constitution Hall tour, one right after the other.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Well worth visiting- most enjoyable history museum I've ever been to”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

The multimedia show in the Kimmel auditorium was excellently delivered by an apparently well trained actor. It was inspirational. The historical descriptions with pictures on the outside of the upper floor were well conceived and entertaining. Unless you're a history scholar, I think most folks will learn something. I didn't have time to read all of the panels. I encourage you to see the 1968 exhibit included with admission until September 2. Certainly will bring back memories for persons in their mid fifties. Seeing the Huey helicopter and hearing the voices of the GIs was especially moving. I certainly understand how seismic the events were in that year and added to my knowledge of the Brown Berets and the Chicago riots at the Democratic convention. Fun last section with a musical quiz about 1968. I had alot of the albums in the bin. Very cool.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing