We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeds expectations”

National Constitution Center
Book In Advance
More Info
$55.00*
and up
Philadelphia CityPASS
Ranked #17 of 437 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: The National Constitution Center is the first and only nonprofit, nonpartisan institution devoted to the U.S. Constitution and its legacy of freedom. Located two blocks from Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell in Historic Philadelphia, the Center illuminates constitutional ideals and inspires active citizenship as a state-of-the-art museum, a civic education hub and America's Town Hall.
Useful Information: Activities for older children
PA
Level Contributor
163 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Exceeds expectations”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This is a modern museum, with multimedia and interactive exhibits for nearly everyone. Do NOT miss the show, which explains the history and purpose of the Constitution and introduces the goal of the museum. If that sounds dry, it is because my description has not done it justice. I have seen the show three times and it is still so moving that it brings tears to my eyes. Even my husband was emotional about the presentation. The museum itself lays out the historical challenges to the Constitution and our nation in a way that make should regret our national mistakes and feel proud of our solutions and heroes. There are myriad exhibits celebrating the Americans that fought for freedoms of every kind. Visitors can pretend to take the Oath of Office, vote on many topics and "mingle" with the signers of the Constitution. The museum achieves its mission of celebrating and appreciating our uniqueness and greatness as a nation.

We were also able to visit the temporary 1968 exhibit which is also fascinating and moving. Full of nostalgia for bygone styles and people and sadness about the violence and prejudices of the time and respect for the heroes. Truly excellent.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaPa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    696
    315
    116
    41
    20
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Williamstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
94 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Entertaining for All Ages”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

What a great afternoon we spent at the National Constitution Center. Be sure to visit the 1968 Exhibit which is there until September 2. The exhibit has a Huey Helicopter flown in Vietnam, fashions, music and lots of memorabilia from 1968. There are many interactive history exhibits that can be enjoyed and appreciated by everyone. Definitely time and money well spent!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Toribean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wildwood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
451 reviews
202 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 234 helpful votes
“Bzillions of very interactive exhibits”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I thought History museums are not supposed to be so much fun. But I visited when a school group was there and it was a mad house of excitement. Many, many exhibits. I thought the Signing Room was excellent -- life-sized bronze statues of the signers of the Declaration. And you get to add your John Hancock to a copy of the Constitution. There was good section on the Civil War. I didn't see who was controlling the giant scoreboard, but someone was counting electoral votes in hypothetical presidential elections. The one I watched was JFK vs Bush -- that's a novel way to study history!! But the kids were fully engaged. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank movieglue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
160 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“A "must do" for history buffs”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

History buffs will spend hours here...the rest of us will appreciate this place for it's architecture, displays, and a room with bronze life-size statues of all the 39 signers of the Constitution (and the 3 who refused). I even signed the Constitution and have a photo to prove it.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank prettywoman65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Michigan
Level Contributor
87 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Inspiring and great fun for the kids!”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

That presentation with the live narrator always gets me! We've been here twice with a span of a few years between visits and were pleased to see the center has been maintained (physically) and updated to reflect current events. Our two kids, ages 7 and 9, had a lot of fun here and learned a lot. The good stuff: museum staff was super helpful, friendly, and knowledgeable (especially the young man hosting the presidential trivia game!); many of the exhibits were highly interactive and ideal for our young children (and the text-heavy exhibits mean that we'll have new things to see and do when we return and they are older); taking the oath of office with the chief justice; the room of statues depicting everyone who was part of the Continental Congress; the special exhibit called "1968."
This was a special treat and a great day in Philadelphia--a great way to learn about history in the place where it all happened!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed National Constitution Center also viewed

 

Been to National Constitution Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing