We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
New Jersey
1 review
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I stayed at the Hilton City Avenue while visiting St. Joe’s University with my son on April 12th. We stayed in room 815 and the room seemed to be freshly renovated. It was very clean and spacious and I liked the large flat screen TV in the room. The staff was very friendly and it seemed each time I came in contact with someone they said hello. I didn’t have dinner at the hotel, but breakfast was very nice and the buffet had a good selection. It was a nice stay and I would recommend this hotel not only for it’s convenience to St. Joe’s University, but that all staff were friendly and the hotel was very clean.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bmd1555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HiltonCityAvenue, Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 30, 2010
Thank you for the kind words regarding your recent stay. All the team members at the Hilton Philadelphia strive to ensure each and every guest has a comfortable and memorable experience. We are proud to be an official hotel partner of St. Joseph's University and work very closely with them each day. Our proximity to the University (1/2 mile) makes it easy for many members of the "Hawk" community to stay with us on a regular basis while their family is attending school. We look forward to your next arrival so we can "WOW" you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

871 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    226
    169
    112
    101
See reviews for
279
113
38
360
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Churchville, Md
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

I had a 3 day seminar at the Hilton in March. At first I was going to commute back home each night 1 1/2 hrs. I was so impressed with the hospitality and atmosphere of the hotel, I stayed for 2 nights . Right from the start the staff was so heplful and friendly. It is located out of the hustle and bustle of the center city but stores and restaurants were still close by.
My room was excelent and the bed was very comfortable. The included breakfast buffet was outstanding. Eggs to order, fresh friut with many options. The best I have ever had as an included breakfast.
I spent a couple of hours in the lounge the last night. The staff was delightful and entertaining. I met a local doctor there reading a book. He said he stops by often because it has the best atmosphere he has found for a relaxing drink.
I have stayed in hotels all over the world. This was an unexpected pleasure even though I had a lot of work to do. The parking was reasonable as well. Go figure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevemd54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I traveled with my son for a campus experience at St. Joseph's University. The hotel is minutes away from SJU so it was very convenient. We were in Room 611 and it was beautifully renovated. The room and bathroom were extremely neat and clean. The beds were made up nicely and looked very inviting when entering the room. They were also very clean and very comfortable with a down comforter. We had a great night's sleep. The lobby had plenty of seating contrary to other reviews. Staff extremely friendly. Pool and weight room very nice. We had a complimentary breakfast but were unable to use. On the down side, it cost $10 for valet parking but it was worth it so you didn't have a long walk after parking car since there was no actual parking lot at hotel. We also didn't like the fact that it costs $10 to use wireless internet. I believe that should be free since it is something guests would commonly use. One night's stay is little pricey but I would still highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yankyfan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altoona, PA
2 reviews
Reviewed April 12, 2010

I'm a stickler for cleanliness and the room was clean. It was OK to give my daughter a bath in the tub. Not a speck of dust or dirt anywhere. The remote control was missing but we don't really watch TV so it was fine. They had valet parking which was a big plus, and cabs were readily available. I would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MedWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, NE
1 review
Reviewed April 5, 2010

I travel at least 30% of the time for my job. Whenever I have business in the Philadelphia area, I always have my agent book me at the Hilton on City Ave.

Thus far in 2010, I have stayed at the Hilton four times. I have never had such consistently superior service from the same hotel in the 10+ years I've been traveling with my company. The staff have always been very helpful and courteous. The accommodations are top notch, leaving nothing to be desired. The cleanliness of the hotel is truly unlike any other hotel where I have stayed. And even when staying in Philadelphia and having my pick of top notch restaurants, the food at the hotel is very comparable - and convenient after a look days work.

I'm very surprised by some of the other reviews written here. I rely on feedback from Trip Advisor when traveling to new business locations and I have never come across the issues that some of my fellow travelers have described. Maybe they have the wrong hotel? Hands down, I would highly recommend the City Ave Hilton - you will not regret your decision.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevinWilliamsJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed March 22, 2010

The staff was very helpful and friendly. Service was great.
Thank you
I will not hesitate to stay at Hilton again.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bigmammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
willow grove
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 18, 2010

Recently I stayed in room 1017 at the Hilton. The room was very clean and spacious. (It looks like remodeling was just done). I had a horrible travel week prior to getting there and was a bit cranky. Upon arriving, the front desk clerk noticed and definitely went out of her way to make me smile. After checking in, I went to the Polo Lounge for a drink. I was very happy with the wine selection and felt my trip was finally getting better. I was also pleasantly surprised at the selection of breakfast items on the buffet in the morning. Check out was simple, staff was pleasant. All in all, a great ending to a bad week! Would certainly stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mellon31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#65 of 86 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 86 in Philadelphia
669 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing