We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is 21 Century - Quality is Key!!!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #47 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This is 21 Century - Quality is Key!!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Room was dusty and refrigerator had too much water in it. Too far from parking that is also not free and there was a confusion with regards to how to pay for the parking. Parking attendant had one idea and then the front desk personnel had another. Get it straight guys. Internet access not free!!! This is really the 21st century WiFi should be complimentary. Had an assignment that needed to be done in a timely manner and had problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I would like to apologize for the both the hotel and it's Service Team not having met your needs and expectations. I will be sharing your frank and honest assesment with all of the appropriate team members. Thank you and I do hope that you would consider staying at the hotel at some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

791 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    204
    159
    104
    90
See reviews for
244
101
34
333
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stay was great. Nice clean room and friendly staff. The only complaint I have is parking. There's no direct parking lot for the hotel. Valet parking is available for $10 per day otherwise you walk down the block and park yourself for $5 per day.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Bridget B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel and it's Service Team met your needs and expectations. I truly hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are traveling to the area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orangeburg, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014

The staff members at the City Avenue Hilton were exceptionally caring and attentive to my every need! From the parking to the breakfast greeter (from the door to the back), EVERYONE was naturally in tune with the absolute ultimate level of customer service! This hotel was a good distance from where I attended my daily meetings, but that staff made it worth staying there.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for sharing your thoughts about you recent stay, the feedback you supplied is greatly appreciated and valued. I will be sure to share your very kind comments with all members of the team. I truly hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

We spent four nights at this hotel as we were in the city for a family bereavement.
We paid the balance of our account by cash the day before leaving and at checkout the staff said were short by TWO CENTS which they collected and refused to give us a receipt
Secondly they said they would send security to check out our room
I have been travelling and staying in hotels for over forty years and never received such disrespect
Not to mention the furnishings in the room needs much repair or should be changed
We have pictures to show,,

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jenlivlife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
I want to thank you for your recent stay and for posting a review. I am truly sorry that you experienced issues during your stay and would like to offer you my sincere apologies for these things having occurred. I will be sharing your comments with the appropriate team members so that steps can be taken to avoid issues such as this in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I chose this hotel for it's proximity to St Joseph University, and was even given a discount through the St Joseph website. Accommodations were great, and I was glad the hotel offers valet parking at a reasonable price. The breakfast buffet was very good, and I wouldn't hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank victoriac203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay while visiting SJU and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel and it's team were able to meet your needs and expectations. I truly hope that you will continue to stay at the hotel when you visit the Philadelphia area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Covington, Louisiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

The hotel far surpassed the very high Hilton standard. The staff and management were wonderful and helpful. It is convenient to our needs and to the airport. The breakfasts were fresh, cooked to order and reasonably priced. The view out over the reservior and on to the city was spectacular.

Room Tip: It was all good. Speak to Manager Randy if you get the chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and that both the hotel and the Service Team met you needs and expectations. I will be sure to share your very kind comments with all members of the team. I hope that you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area, thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto,Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

My family stayed at this location and I should've really adhered to the comments about this location as they were bang on. The desk staff needs to be re trained how to deal with the public. Upon leaving we told that they had to send security up to the room before we could leave the area even though we had paid cash upfront for the whole stay. I have never had that happen to me at any place I have ever stayed. When we were returning the last of the keys they gave us another bill for 2 cents which I am not sure why. Also they cut off our wifi before stay ended which again not sure why even though again their website clearly states that each room comes eqipped with wifi. We were staying on a senior rate and other half way thru the stay did the decide to add all sorts of things that do NOT come with the senior rate, even though it reads on their main website that breakfast and even evening cocktails come with a stay at this location. If this is only for certain rate that should be clearly stated as well. I would NOT recommed this location to any one and please be aware of comments like mine and do NOT stay here. The furniture in the rooms are very dated ripped and need to be donated to good will.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naddy016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, April 26, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for sharing your thoughts. I would like to offer you my apologies and assure you that I take comments such as yours very seriously and will be sharing them with team members so that corrective steps can be taken. I am truly sorry that the issues you raised occurred and for the fact that they took away from your stay. I hope that you will consider staying at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#21 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 601 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing