We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Facility...Nasty Part of Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #48 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice Facility...Nasty Part of Town”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I found the room to be clean and comfortable, and the general amenities quite good. I slept like a log. Nice bed, and no complaints. Addendum: In 2014, I thought it was pretty shabby to get clipped an extra $10 for in-room WiFi since anyone who is travelling on business is pretty much married to their laptop.

They did offer a voucher for a breakfast in the morning...at 0630 which was about half an hour too late since you must often be up and on the road (to the airport, to the client site) at ungodly cow-milking hours. This is not a tourist's Hilton, close to historical attractions and other 'must see' places. This is a business person's Hilton and they need to tailor their service hours accordingly.

I've worked on City Avenue for about a decade now and despite much re-development, it is still like a pretty girl with the clap: Appearances can be deceiving. (Yes, I was staying at a hotel for business, right next door to my business: Snow-pocalypse XXIV and someone must be there at 0700 to make the wheels of commerce turn, even in bad weather.) The Hilton has shuttle service to other points of interest, and is right on the main drag for heavily traveled metro bus service, too. But I wouldn't wander too far from the well illuminated side of the building.

The Hilton can't help what neighbors have grown up around it, so this isn't a knock on them. It would not be my first choice for accommodations if I did not have to be specifically THERE.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank webwrench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay during the winter storms and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that the hotel and it's service team helped to make your overall stay a pleasant one dispite the inclement weather outside. I did make not of the issues you raised with regards to the internet and the hours of operation for breakfast and will be sure to share them with the appropriate team members.

As you mentioned the hotel is not in the touristy area of Philadelphia, but it is with in very close proximity to many great dining and shopping opportunities and is only a short drive to all of the main cultural offerings of the city. The hotel is also only five minutes from Saint Joseph's University and right next door Philadelphia College of Osteopathic Medicine. The Please Touch Childrens Museum and the Philadelphia Zoo, America's oldest Zoo, are only five minutes away in beautiful Fairmount Park.

Again thank you for your stay and for taking the time to share your thoughts. I hope you will be a guest of the hotel again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    217
    161
    109
    97
See reviews for
259
105
37
347
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
19 reviews
Reviewed February 13, 2014 via mobile

Our visit was precipitated by a widespread power outage, which left many hotels fully booked by both local victims and visiting "second responders." Our two rooms were well insulated for sound, and the beds were quite comfortable; however, there was no ordinary blanket provided to exchange for the comforter I found too hot (this seems to be an industrty standard). Some of the leather furniture needed reupholstering, one room's refrigerator never worked, and in one bathroom the tub/shower diverter was stuck on shower. Both rooms had huge flat-screen HD TVs.

While the room rate was not outrageous, there is an extra charge for mundane things like Internet access, parking, and breakfast (all free at Hampton Inn). The two restaurants offer good to excellent food at high prices. Staff of the hotel and its restaurants were always courteous and helpful.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JP2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your stay and that the hotel's service team met you needs and expectations. I have made note of the condition and mechanical issues you raised and assure you that these will be addressed. I will be sure to share your feedback with all members of the team both the positive and those areas that are in needed of improvement. I do hope that you will choose the hotel again the next time you are in need of overnight accomidations. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Stayed at Hilton for two nights during the power outage in our area. We chose this Hilton because it is close to our office. The room was clean and on the small side. We had two good night sleep on warm beds in a warm room. Too bad this hotel does not offer breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was pleased to read that both the hotel and it's team met your needs and expectations during your stay and that you checked out a happy and satisfied guest. I hope that you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in need of a place to stay in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2014

As noted in other reviews, the rooms are very dated. Furniture, carpet and paint all look very tired. In my room, the closest door was off the running and could not be opened. I called twice for maintenance and they never came. My daughters' room had an industrial air blower in it when they checked in, and the room had a sickeningly sweet smell. The rooms have an alarm clock type device, but only maintenance can set the correct time! (you can set the wake up time).

Unfortunately there aren't many other options in this part of Philadelphia but this place is not good.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for sharing your thoughts on your stay. I would like to personally apologize for the hotel and it's team not having met your expectations. I assure you that it is the goal of all members of the staff to ensure that each guest has a memorable stay and I am truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. I will be sharing your comments with the appropriate team members so that corrective steps can be taken to improve the operation of the hotel. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Philadelphia hotels

Weston, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

The furniture in the rooms are very worn and need replaced. My desk chair was broken. When I called to ask it to be replaced, no one came. The food for the meeting rooms was excellent, but breakfast was pricey and slow. Bar restaurant was also very slow to get food.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Joy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for posting a review. I apologize that the hotel and it's team did not meet your overall expectations in all aspects of your stay. It is our goal to make every guest's stay memorable for both service and product and I am truly sorry that this was not the case during your stay. I will be sharing you thoughts with the appropriate team members so that improvements can be me made to product and service level that is provided to the guest. I do hope that you will consider staying at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2014

The valet service was sub par. Long waits and the valet even forgot to give us our key. We made it all the way Downtown before we realized we had to turn back to get the key. We got no apology from the jerk that forgot the key. He made it seem like it was our fault for not getting the key from him. The internet service was awful. I could not stay on long nough to get ANY work done on my stay. Definitely put me behind schedule. In this day and age where the internet is invaluable to completing work on time, it is imperative that the signal be reliable. Lastly the room's fridge was ridiclously loud and bust randomly in the middle of the night waking me up on several occassions.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Paddy312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
I want to thank you for your stay and for posting a review. I apologize that both the hotel and it's team did not meet you expectations in all aspects of your stay. It is the goal of the hotel and it's team to make every guest's stay memorable and I am truly sorry that this was not case with your entire stay. I assure you that I will be sharing your thoughts with the appropriate team members. I do hope that you would consider staying at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area so that you can see that improvements have been made based on the feedback you have supplied.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights for an event at PCOM which is right next door. Rooms could use some updating…furniture and carpets are a bit worn, but the room was clean. Hot water seems to be an issue in the morning. Had a nice hot shower late one evening, while the water was barely warm in the morning. Comfortable bed, extremely helpful, friendly staff. Location is nice. Lots of dining options within a short walk. I would stay again if I am in the area.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ldmilton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I appreciate you taking the time to share both the positive aspects of your stay as well as those issues where the hotel and it's team can make some improvements. I assure you that your feedback is truly valued and will be reviewed with all of the appropriate team members. I hope you will stay at the hotel again the next time you are visiting PCOM.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 85 in Philadelphia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing