We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, nice lobby, rooms and corridors need help”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Ranked #46 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
GreenLeadersBronze level
Colorado Springs
Level 6 Contributor
746 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Great service, nice lobby, rooms and corridors need help”
Reviewed January 15, 2014 via mobile

The lobby at this hotel is lovely and the front desk/welcome service is outstanding. Sadly, upon entering the elevators for the guest floors things go quickly downhill. The hallways feel dark and outdated. The rooms are in need of serious renovation. I was in the corner suite of the Hilton Honors floor and the condition of my room was a dissapointment. The furniture is worn, carpet buckled, walls scuffed, shower outdated.

As for location - my room view featured a nice vista of Center City Philly in the distance... Sadly the foreground is dominated by old retention ponds currently under noisy construction.

The hotel has the right people and a solid service ethic - it's time to invest in modernizing the propery.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank COLadyRoadWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was please to read that while you found issues with decor etc, your interaction with the Service Team was a positive one and they met your needs and expectations. I do hope that you choose to stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

861 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    225
    167
    112
    100
See reviews for
275
111
38
356
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2014

The service at this restaurant is truly the worst I have experienced in years. For a restaurant to charge as much as they do one should expect the service to go along with the high price of the food. I was with a party of 6 and it took the waiter almost an hour to take our orders. After our food was served no one came back to the table to ask if everything was okay and if there was anything else we needed. The deserts were cold and were sent back.
The restaurant was half empty so I am at a loss as to why the service was so bad. Avoid throwing your money away on an expensive meal with poor service in the lobby of a Hilton franchise hotel that at best is an average hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank CLF2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review of your dining experience in Delmonico's. I would like to personally apolgize that your experience was not as pleasant and enjoyable as it should have been. Delmonico's has built a very strong reputation with both the local community as well as with our hotel guests. I am truly sorry that with your dining experience the restaurant and it's Service Team did not shine and live up to it's repuation. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Hotel is about 45 minutes from airport. Hotel listed as about 5 miles from downtown and it took almost 25 minutes to get there. Cabs are not readily available, so expect to wait around 10 to 15 minutes.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Fabia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I am truly sorry that you encountered transportation issues in going from the hotel to Center City. While it is only five miles from the hotel to Center City there are times where traffic can back up and delays occurr. Aside from these travel related issues I hope that your stay was otherwise pleasant and enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Stayed here for one night for a meeting at the college next door. While the room was clean and the bed comfortable (and my room was quite large but I think I was upgraded as an HH Gold) there is lots about this hotel that could be improved. As others have noted some of the room furniture is worn -- might be time for an update.

Service in the restaurant is okay, but can be slow (at least the times was there).

My biggest concern was with little things. The business center had UPS shipping labels, but no envelopes/UPS boxes, nothing. I asked at the front desk and the response was basically non-responsive -- no we don't have any.... I expect more from a full service HIlton.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mot29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your stay and for taking the time to post a review. I truly appreciate your feedback and would like to personally apologize for the lack true hospitality that was displayed by the team member when you brought your concerns to their attention. I assure you that this is not the norm here at the hotel and I am sorry that this was the type of interaction that you encountered. I will be sure to share your thoughts with all members of the team. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

My family had 2 rooms in this center city hotel. As is the case with urban hotels, almost every amenity comes with a cost. Parking is a steep $10 a day.
The club and desk chairs in both rooms were torn and/or missing the brown bonded leather in many places. The tan fabric showed where the leather was missing, giving the chairs a mottled effect. The mattresses could use replacing.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and, for this reason, the hotel deserves 4 stars.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank NOTyouGUYS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was please to read that the hotel's Service Team met your needs and expectations and assisted in making your stay pleasant and enjoyable. I truly appreciate the feedback you have supplied with regards to issues related guest room decor and wear and tear. This information is valued and will be put to good use. I hope that you will choose to stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Nice view on the 10th floor. Friendly staff and front desk. nice amenities for Hilton Honors members. Had one meal in the bar. Comfortable bar, decent pizza. I'm looking forward to next week when I'm back again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doug R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was very pleased to read that the hotel and it's Service Team met your needs and expectations during your stay. I will be sure to share your very kind comments with all members of the team. I hope to have you as a guest again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield, United States
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2014

We were here for nights while my father was in the hospital. Everything was great. Room was clean, the food was good and the staff was very friendly and efficient. I couldn't ask for me. I should mention I have worked in the hotel industry so I can see more than the average guest and I was very impressed with every aspect of my stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brian S, General Manager at Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Thank you very much for your recent stay and for taking the time to post a review. I was very pleased to read that the hotel and it's Service Team met your needs and expectations. I will be sure to share your very kind comments with all members of the team. I do hope that you will choose to stay at the hotel again the next time you are in the Philadelphia area. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Crowne Plaza Philadelphia West
#64 of 86 in Philadelphia
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#26 of 86 in Philadelphia
660 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue

Property: Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue
Address: 4200 City Ave, Philadelphia, PA 19131-1611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue 3.5*
Number of rooms: 209
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Philadelphia City Avenue Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing