We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable introduction to historic Philadelphia”

Free and Friendly Tours
Ranked #19 of 76 Tours in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Take a Free and Friendly walking tour with us! It’s free, which means you tip us what you want. It’s friendly because we’re friendly folks. And it’s Philadelphia because we love it and want you to love it too. We’re a Philly company and we’ll show you the whole Philadelphia – or the whole of what’s in walking distance. We lend our friendship freely and we’ll gladly recommend a place to go out after the tour.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyable introduction to historic Philadelphia”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a personal tour because no one else showed up, which meant we got a customized tour. Friendly, well- organized, knowledgeable about the historic section of Philadelphia. Good stories of Ben Franklin. Would have appreciated more knowledge of architectural history. But a very good quick intro to the history of the city.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Beechwoodblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Patient, knowledgeable, and personal!”
Reviewed June 17, 2013 via mobile

Three if us went on tour with one of the owners today. Absolutely phenomenal background from extensive research, very patient despite numerous interruptions, and the tour content was highly flexible. We have been on other tours in other cities and countries and they are what I consider to be "canned." This was MUCH, MUCH different and better! Will use them again any time we have visitors to Philly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ineedatrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“thoroughly enjoyable walk through history”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Mark was our tour guide. He made the entire walk through the historic district very informative while making it interesting too. He was easy to listen to and told several humorous anecdotes to illustrate his points. The price was certainly right. Nothing! We gave Mark a well deserved tip. My wife and I are from NY and our two friends are from Ireland. We were completely satisfied.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ABQ
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fun and informative”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

We were in PHL for weekend recently, and ended up on private tour with Mark....Lots of great history and funny stories....Mark was very nice, easy to talk to, and easy to LISTEN to....
Highly recommend Free and Friendly Tours...easy walking, leisurely pace...still saw a lot ...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lsb1124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Mike The BRAIN of Philly Cheesteak Tour”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spotted Mike a block away sign in hand and a smile on his face. Full of energy and knowledge he was on point from the first moment he began talking. Originally with 3 groups it ended up just being my girlfriend and I so made it that much more fun and exciting. After living in the Philadelphia area our entire lives we took our first tour together and Mike definately helped us with some interesting and great information. This guys knowledge was so strong and was clear he loved what he was doing. He amazed us with ever word he said. Mike is extremely friendly and easy to talk to he had so much information on everything we walked by and was even quicker with a off the book question. I am not much of a history kinda guy but he made me feel very comfortable to ask questions and did not make me feel dumb for asking something the average person may know. He has a great sense of humor and ties it in with some singing and just A+ everything. Really enjoy talking about facts we learned to our visiting friends to area. GREAT TOUR GREAT TOUR GUIDE ALL IN ALL GREAT EXPERIENCE We look forward to exploring the other Free and Friendly Tours they offer in the area.

MIKE DEFINATELY PUTS THE CHEESE ON THE STEAK IN THIS TOUR!!!

THANKS MIKE!!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank stevesreview30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Free and Friendly Tours also viewed

 

Been to Free and Friendly Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing