We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of food and fun!”

Chew Philly Food Tours
Book on TripAdvisor
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Philadelphia Iconic Foods Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Experience the tastes of Philadelphia with our 2.5 hour walking tours. Our tours take place in off-the-beaten-path neighborhoods of Philly, revealing th secrets of where the locals really dine. You'll visit small mom-and-pop shops with intriguing history and impressive offerings, while exploring new cultural foods and flavors. All 6+ tastings are included in our ticket price, and with scheduled seated time throughout we've thought of everything to make your experience perfect. We can't wait to show you OUR Philadelphia.
Gulph Mills, Pennsylvania, United States
2 reviews
“lots of food and fun!”
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This was a really different way to experience Manayunk, get to know the history of it AND eats tons of good food! Our guide was witty and did a great job keeping the pace leisurely but moving.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad that you thought touring with Chew Philly was a great way to experience Manayunk. We definitely agree. Thank you again for choosing Chew Philly Food Tours!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    333
    60
    13
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Eagleville, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Fun, filling and definitely recommended.”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My wife and I were looking for something different to do in the area and definitely enjoyed our 2.5 hour tour. Our guide, Benny, was funny, entertaining and knowledgeable. Not only did we find some new places to dine in the future but we also learned about a new walking path and some parks in the Manayunk area. We highly recommend the tour and cannot wait to visit the restaurants again for the delicious cheesesteaks and cupcakes.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so happy that you loved our cheesesteak and cupcake tastings. We will pass on your compliments to our tour guide, Benni, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A great way to feed your body and your brain”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

This was a fantastic experience that allowed us to explore the hidden gems of Manayunk. To be truthful, I was skeptical about what we would find. That sentiment did not last long as our vibrant guide, Bennie, drew us in quickly with her great personality and humor and kept us engaged throughout our tour. As a history nut, I was really pleased with the historical tour that Bennie took us on between stops. The businesses and foods selected were outstanding and the portion sizes made us thankful for the walking portion of the tour. We are definately coming back for more next year and will tell our friends. All in all, a fantastic experience at a great price.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gillettejw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Wow! Thank you for writing us a 5-star review. We truly appreciate your time. We're so glad that you enjoyed the historical aspect of our tour as much as you did our carefully selected food tastings. We can't wait to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Easthampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Excellent tour”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

We just finished taking the Chew Philly tour and had a great time. Benny, our guide met us on time and took us to 6 food stops and gave us a lot of information about the area along the way. She was very friendly and took great care of us. All of the food was very good. I was so full at the end and had to take my cupcake to go. Some of the items we got to try we're tomato pie, soft pretzel, cheesesteak, pork sandwich, canolli, cappuccino or hot chocolate, and a red velvet cupcake. We had a great time and would highly recommend. There is a lot of walking, up and down hills, but we did not mind as it spread out the food stops.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Mich115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We love that you remember each and every food tasting that you experienced! We are so glad that you enjoyed our tour, and hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downingtown, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Fun, Friendly and Filling”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Everything about this experience was great. My husband was worried when he read 'taste' in the description, but at the last stop, he seriously had to think about eating or taking the cupcake with us. Each place we stopped served excellent food and we can't wait to go back to several of them. The cappuccino was likely the best I've ever had. Benni was a delight. She was friendly, energetic, knew when to pause and knew when to encourage people kindly so we could keep on tour time. The stories and history she shared were interesting and we walked away knowing so much more about this area. And we met some of the nicest people as well. All around a great experience, and I would do it again. Can't wait til you expand to other areas of the city! We want to join you!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for the kind words. We love that you emphasized that our "tastings" are very filling - we like to think of them as equivalent to a progressive lunch. Don't worry, we'll be sure to e-mail you and other tour participants when additional Chew Philly Food Tours locations are added. We hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chew Philly Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Chew Philly Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing