We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Filling”

Chew Philly Food Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$29.00*
and up
Chestnut Hill Culinary Experience
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Voted BEST CITY TOUR by Philly A-List and commended by The Travel Channel as: "Excellent food tours...which lets guests sample beloved savory and sweet food found only in Philly while learning about local architecture, history and culture"! Our tours are original concept, meaning that we were the first & original food tour in each of the neighborhoods in which we operate, with long-standing relationships with our tasting locations. We want to impress that our Philadelphia Guided Tours are non-touristy, REAL neighborhoods we'll be showing you around - featuring foods from locally-owned businesses celebrated for their cultural Philly foods. And for those native to the Philadelphia area, we'll show you hidden foodie gems you may have missed, up-and-coming food trends, & in-depth history of Philadelphia's 300-year-old neighborhoods. Peruse our 400+ reviews, then head to our site to reserve your space, (we're not exaggerating, nearly every tour sells out!). We can't wait to meet you!
Reviewed October 9, 2012

If you have guests (local or not) who wish to get a taste of real Philly local cuisine (cheesesteaks, pretzels,pizza), this is a great way of fulfilling that wish. Good combination of local food, local history, and a genial guide (Benni - she'll explain). We have done food tours elsewhere but never in our hometown - kinda "coals to Newcastle" thing - glad we took it. We were blessed with wonderful fall weather. Really hard to pick a favorite spot - they were all good - but take something as humble and quintessentially Philly as a soft pretzel - we've all had our share of soft pretzels across the spectrum of bad -> good -- Tasty Twisters are really quite good. Avoided the chain places and really stuck with local spots which is what we were hoping for.

Thank Steve_7153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your reviews. We are so happy that you were able to enjoy beautiful fall weather along with the delicious food tastings. We're also glad that you mentioned Tasty Twisters soft pretzels. We agree, they are the best around! Thank you again for choosing Chew Philly Food Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (436)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tomato pie"
in 63 reviews
"our tour guide"
in 80 reviews
"great tour"
in 43 reviews
"chestnut hill"
in 21 reviews
"food portions"
in 6 reviews
"cheese shop"
in 9 reviews
"pretzels"
in 27 reviews
"philly food"
in 14 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 13 reviews
"fun afternoon"
in 6 reviews
"steak"
in 16 reviews
"different foods"
in 5 reviews
"spend an afternoon"
in 8 reviews
"walking tour"
in 15 reviews
"stops"
in 39 reviews
"volo"
in 12 reviews
"bethany"
in 11 reviews
Filter

368 - 372 of 436 reviews

Reviewed October 9, 2012

Used Groupon and really enjoyed this food, cultural and historical tour of Manayunk. Food was delicious (red velvet cupcake at Sweet Elizabeth's incredible), guide very knowledgeable, and the tour went at a good pace. Food allergies, restrictions are accommodated. We enjoyed the walking from one restaurant to the next since there was a fair amount of food, and this stretched it out a bit. Would definitely recommend the tour, and just hope for a pleasant day like we had. The tours fill quickly, so you don't really have time to see what the weather will be like before you book---only downside. If it's rainy, the tour still goes.

Thank Carol_B749
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for your feedback! We love that you pointed out that our tours are conducted rain or shine. Many of our tour participants feel this is an asset of our tours - this means that it is highly unlikely that our tours will be cancelled. Best of all, each of our food selections tastes delicious regardless of the weather! Thank you again for choosing Chew Philly Food Tours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We had a wonderful tour guide. Benni was fun and knew alot about Manayunk. Were surprised at the amount of food we were able to sample. Had so much we even brought some home. Had great weather which helped the great walk we took along the Canal and many of the old streets.

Fran and Alex

Thank Fran N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We're glad that you felt our food tasting selections were generously portioned, as we pride ourselves on providing a hearty, progressive lunch for each tour participant. Thank you again for choosing Chew Philly Food Tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Took advantage of a coupon and went with friends to try our first food tour. Great guide, great weather, great food. Tomato pie was very tasty, and the pork and broccoli rabe was the best. Lovely to look at and tasty to drink cappuccino (they do designs in the froth). The guide gave us interesting bits of history of the area and about the local architecture. We walked off a few of the calories we tasted on the hills and steps of Manayunk- not a handicap accessible tour.
Well worth it.

Thank Barb L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review. We love that you mentioned the cappuccino which we serve on our tours. We agree, it's the best in the city, and the beautiful latte art definitely adds a special something. Thank you again for touring with Chew Philly Food Tours!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed October 2, 2012

My wife and I attended this Food Tour and we were pleased. The guide was very knowledgable of the Manayunk area and personable. We walked along the the streets and nature trail along the canal on our journey to sample the food. I enjoyed all the samples of the food with the roasted pork with broccali robe being one of my favorites. One suggestion, we passed alot of ethnic restaurants on this tour. You may consider adding some of these in the future.

Thank Curt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChewPhilly, Owner at Chew Philly Food Tours, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your review. We're glad that you enjoyed our food tastings, which focus on Philly Foods in the Manayunk neighborhood, as well as our scenic tour route. We hope to see you again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chew Philly Food Tours also viewed

 

Been to Chew Philly Food Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing