We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice little Tapas restaurant in the heart of Philly”
Review of Jamonera

Jamonera
Reserve with OpenTable
Jamonera is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #80 of 4,357 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: 13th b/t Sansom and Chestnut
Transit: Broad Street Line - Walnut Locust Station
Ulm
Level Contributor
194 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very nice little Tapas restaurant in the heart of Philly”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Very nice, little Tapas restaurant with in- and outside seating. The service is attentive, helps making great choices. The menu is not too big, but all we tried was excellent. The food can be all shared and with the accompanying wines and cocktails this place offers a great Tapas dinner experience.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank howo72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    59
    18
    6
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
537 reviews
338 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
“Maybe 3 & 1/2”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The pluses: Nice decor, sangria you can suck down like lemonade, interesting wines by the glass, sherry flights. Certain dishes like the peppers & artichokes, bacon wrapped figs, spanish potato tortilla & pork & romanesco were very tasty. Excellent desserts & La Colombe coffee.

The minuses: Some dishes were completely flat. A special of mustard greens was very boring. And the rice balls were prepared well but not seasoned & the sauce accompaniment was thin & uninspiring. Tables are tiny (the space is very small & not conducive to large group dining or for that matter intimate conversations) and because they serve plates as they are ready your tabletop can get quite crowded quickly. This is a pet peeve of mine. I find it incredibly awkward to have continually shift plates & watch how I pick up my wine or water glass. (sigh)

Service was warm but a little spotty. Not the end of the world but at $65+ per person you'd expect a higher level of care.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pookala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not quite athentic... but great Spanish food”
Reviewed May 6, 2013

Having been to Spain numerous times,I think that Jamonera has taken traditional
Spanish tapas and put their own spin on it to some extent.

Having said that, I think the results are excellent. I really enjoyed it when I ordered the tapa del dia and got a glass of vermouth covered with the traditional "tapa" holding the food on top!

It's a small place, not suited for a large group but perhaps 6 can be accommodated if you make arrangements in advance.

I loved the vegetable tapas plate and also enjoyed the boquerones very much. The jamón iberico was very enjoyable and served with the same sort of pretzel like nuggets my friends in Madrid served to me with Jamón. The Jamón was pricey... but it is a pricey item everywhere and they served it right!

A less expensive option was the Patatas Bravas, which were very good and come with their sherry based hot sauce. That hot sauce was fantastic. Starting off with the potatoes might be a good option as they are a less expensive dish and will fill you up before moving to the more expensive options on the menu.

I loved this restaurant. Will visit the next time I am in Philadelphia.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aguiladeacero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
294 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“great food and very attentive service”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Recently has lunch at this Tapas style place in Philadelphia City Center.Service was superb, attentive, food delivered hot from kitchen and water glasses kept full. Quality of food was excellent, with varied choices and adequate sizes for this type of food. Space was a bit tight, eatery is smallish with tables very close together.Would clearly return and try more things.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveler13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food, tiny place”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Great food, very small place, glad we had reservations! If you want to have a quiet private conversation, this isn't the place. We were sandwiched between two tables and found ourselves struggling to hear each other. We ordered the octopus - it was amazing as was the salad with beets and fried goat cheese!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jamonera also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Jamonera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing