We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and Festive Mexican”
Review of La Calaca Feliz

La Calaca Feliz
Reserve with OpenTable
La Calaca Feliz is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #360 of 4,403 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Philly
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fun and Festive Mexican”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We've been wanting to try La Calaca for a while and finally got there last weekend. It was worth the wait. Fun and Festive sums it up with great food featuring small plates or regular sized entrees. Creative food, great staff and a place to relax with friends and just have a good time. The only thing I could find to caution you on is the noise level, but with tables outside, the spring and summer season should make La Calaca perfect. Recommend it highly for a great, fun evening.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cosmo_Philly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    38
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Wonderful!”
Reviewed February 16, 2013

Best Mexican in the city! Delicious, fresh, wonderful food and some of the best drinks I've ever had. Service is friendly, knowledgeable, and attentive but fun at the same time. Beautiful space, lovely atmosphere and truly outstanding food. A must go place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank theFraulein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fun & Delicious!”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

What a great experience! 3 colleagues and I had dinner at La Calaca Feliz and had a wonderful time! The food was wonderful! Not only was it presented well, the tastes we experienced were incredible! I will be taking my husband there as soon as we are in Philly again! Thank you such a great dining experience!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wvualum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best Mexican in Philadelphia!”
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Top Mexican restaurant in Philadelphia - if not the best. Make a reservation and sit back sipping your margaritas while you enjoy the awesome food. The bar area is very small so you have to strategize to try to get a seat at the bar. It is better to come in and stay for dinner. They also have a nice outdoor area in the back with overhanging trees. We enjoyed dinner out there during the summer. Awesome restaurant right on Fairmount Ave and plenty of other bars and restaurants where you can stop in for a drink too.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tripgal926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Relaxed atmosphere and pleasantly creative food”
Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

This place was packed on a Saturday night. We ended up having food and drinks at the bar. Margarita was excellent and the food was pleasant surprise. The cuisine is a nuevo-Mexican and while there were not a lot of options for vegetarian friend, we both left happy, full and looking forward to returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cob2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Calaca Feliz also viewed

 
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to La Calaca Feliz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing