We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful holiday show -especially for the little ones”
Review of Comcast Experience

Comcast Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Small-Group Holiday Tour of Philadelphia's Center City
Ranked #81 of 445 things to do in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Lafayette Hill, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wonderful holiday show -especially for the little ones”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Tue lobby of the beautiful Comcast center becomes a magical theater for a brief 15 minutes or so each day during the holidays. (Yes- I know they run shows at other times of the year) but the holiday show is a marvel. And it's FREE! One side of the inside of their lobby becomes 1 screen or 3 screens or 20 screens as it comes to life with music and pictures and special effects to rival those,in Hollywood. part of the lobby even snows at one point!
It gets very crowded before Xmas. Best bet- go between Xmas and New Years. Come early and grab one f the few benches...or I'd you don't mind, just plop down on the floor and make yourself comfy,
The head downstairs in their food court for a snack or meal.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank wagsalot13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    47
    16
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dover, Delaware
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“free and neat”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

first off it is free, its inside and its entertaining. Wasn't a real christmas light display more like an ecletic mix of mini shows on a big screen. I noticed little little kids were kinda bored until the end when "snow" fell from some machines above everyone. Not alot but enough to facinate and get oohs from people. We went during lunch and the building employees were coming and going. There are places to eat underneath the main floor but they were all busy and there was no real lines to place orders. Went again at night and it was much better. worth seeing if you have other things to do in area. there is limited seating on benches up front. kids mostly sat on floor in front.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank plurp8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Always fun (and free!)!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We've been to the Comcast Experience numerous times and taken out of town guests there as well. We just returned this evening for the holiday show and enjoyed it as well. It's a great quick stop in Philly and everyone appreciates that it's free! Definitely worth a visit next time you're in the city!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jhn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth seeing, very unique.”
Reviewed December 20, 2012

This is our first year seeing this and I'm glad we went. This is a very unqie show and our small kids enjoyed it.

Make a day of Philly and hit the Christmas Village at Love Park, Reading Terminal Market, Macy's, and The Comcast Experience...you won't be disappointed.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank JeffTraveler2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A "new" holiday tradition in Philadelphia”
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Although this Christmas show is in it's 4th or 5th year now, it's a nice "new" companion to the more traditonal Christmas show in the Wanamaker's Building (Macy's). It's new in that it's only a couple of years old and in that it makes use of newer digital technology versus the old-style lights at Wanamaker's. It's good for adults and children from about age 4.

The visual and audio content is cheerful and interesting and is modified a bit each year; but it's also worth going to see the biggest digital screen of it's kind in the world. (Not sure if this is still true.) The screen is the "wall" above the security desk and office entry; you watch from the public area of the lobby atrium, which has some whimsical sculpture and art scattered throughout it.
The show is about 20 minutes long and is sometime accompanied by indoor snow. One year it was in 3D and glasses were handed out.

Downstairs are a small food court and bathrooms, if you want either.
I still prefer the old Wanamaker show, but this is a nice addition to the holiday season.

By the way, if you are wondering how they do it, the upper wall is a digital screen. Normally it broadcasts am image of pannelling that matches the lower part of the walls, making all look like walls - but allowing for quite a bit of special effects.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Hampsteader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Comcast Experience also viewed

 

Been to Comcast Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing