We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Step up in history” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At The Union League

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #53 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
120 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Step up in history”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

Ascend the steps of the historic Union League and step into history. The inn has classic elegance, but the rooms are larger than historically possible. Key location, unfortunately street noises are unavoidable and may disturb your sleep - even though the bed is great. Staff is attentive and respectful. Look around and notice the special touches and enjoy your journey.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StillinLOVEsince84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    31
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
23
5
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oradell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

This private club is like stepping back in time. Staff and accommodations are very old school and first class. The only food I can review was the (included) breakfast buffet: outstanding. Excellent cigar lounge...just remember to bring a jacket or one will be supplied. Complimentary parking in garage 40 feet from side door at 1415 Sansom Street.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Inothreeputt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
136 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

I had a great experience at the union league. Great staff that were very helpful, I got to my room and my keys didn't work, which seems to happen at about 20% of my hotel stays. The housekeeper let me in and called the front desk to have them bring new keys up to me. In other hotels when this has happened I have had to go back down to the lobby and get new keys made.

The history of the union league is very interesting.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Dtar1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haddonfield, New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Overall the room was an average hotel room, nothing worthwhile. However my wife accidently left her purse in the room and luckily the next day room service called and was able to meet her outside the Union League to give it back to her. Nothing was missing or taken and they were very courteous and friendly.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013

After a grueling day, checking in at the Inn at the Union League is the beginning of a memorable experience. We always are greeted by smiles and courtesy. Unfailing politeness is the standard of everyone at the Inn and includes the rest of the wonderful facilities: the bar, the restaurant, and the rooms. We snuggle in our robes in our impeccable room, complete with marble sinks, we plan our dinner and the next day's breakfast, sip a drink and lean back and relax.. we are home.

Room Tip: The concierge and reception will make suggestions about a room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigsmokey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent several nights through an introduction my club, but have learned that the inn/hotel is open to the general public. Incredibly convenient location with garage across the street (the valets refuse tips, a first). Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are comfortable. The club's public rooms and restaurants are just spectacular. They have done a great job of updating the dining rooms to create an elegant, but more contemporary feel.

The only complaint is the noise. My room was facing onto Sansom Street. One night, the crowd from the jazz club across the street & garbage trucks were incredibly noisy until 2 am. Another morning, construction across the street beginning at 7 am created incessant noise (construction debris being thrown continuously into a dumpster several floors below). Apparently, there are earplugs in the bathroom, but I didn't see them. Would recommend asking for an interior room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the Inn for 2 nights during our friends wedding. Reception was held here - cocktails and canapés in the cozy libraries on the second floor, then into the spectacularly grand, chandelier- encrusted Lincoln Hall for the reception for 280 guests. everything ran smoothly, food was delicious, including the desserts that were served in the adjoiningPresidents room. We were well aware of the dress code beforehand so dressed appropriately. everyone was courteous, helpful and gracious. There is also a "no tipping" rule which was most welcome. Public bathrooms were well maintained and well stocked.Guest rooms were on the smallish side (only room for one bedside table) complimentary bottled water in the refrigerator, tea andcoffee making facility in the room, free wifi with excellent reception, Gilchrist and Soames toiletries in marble bathrooms, cozy robes, oversized towels, large bath and great shower, pillow top queen bed desk and desk chair and lounge chair and standard lamp and generous wardrobe. all we needed and a full cooked breakfast buffet every morning. Superb old world elegance and charm of impeccable standards in the main 2 floors.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#30 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#28 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,234 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#55 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Rodeway Inn Center City
#46 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Property: The Inn At The Union League
Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn At The Union League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing