We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Wonderful location and ambience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Union League

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #54 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New York, NY
Level Contributor
172 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Wonderful location and ambience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

Spent several nights through an introduction my club, but have learned that the inn/hotel is open to the general public. Incredibly convenient location with garage across the street (the valets refuse tips, a first). Staff is very friendly and accommodating. Rooms are comfortable. The club's public rooms and restaurants are just spectacular. They have done a great job of updating the dining rooms to create an elegant, but more contemporary feel.

The only complaint is the noise. My room was facing onto Sansom Street. One night, the crowd from the jazz club across the street & garbage trucks were incredibly noisy until 2 am. Another morning, construction across the street beginning at 7 am created incessant noise (construction debris being thrown continuously into a dumpster several floors below). Apparently, there are earplugs in the bathroom, but I didn't see them. Would recommend asking for an interior room.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank nyctravelr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
22
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

we stayed at the Inn for 2 nights during our friends wedding. Reception was held here - cocktails and canapés in the cozy libraries on the second floor, then into the spectacularly grand, chandelier- encrusted Lincoln Hall for the reception for 280 guests. everything ran smoothly, food was delicious, including the desserts that were served in the adjoiningPresidents room. We were well aware of the dress code beforehand so dressed appropriately. everyone was courteous, helpful and gracious. There is also a "no tipping" rule which was most welcome. Public bathrooms were well maintained and well stocked.Guest rooms were on the smallish side (only room for one bedside table) complimentary bottled water in the refrigerator, tea andcoffee making facility in the room, free wifi with excellent reception, Gilchrist and Soames toiletries in marble bathrooms, cozy robes, oversized towels, large bath and great shower, pillow top queen bed desk and desk chair and lounge chair and standard lamp and generous wardrobe. all we needed and a full cooked breakfast buffet every morning. Superb old world elegance and charm of impeccable standards in the main 2 floors.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank ratchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington,NC
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We spent two nights here with a letter of introduction from our club. The public spaces are spectacular. Loved the old world charm and history of the place. It is so deserving of its'5 diamond rating. The rooms were not large but very comfortable. The bathrooms were quite large with great showers and big thick towels and the closets were large. Staff were very helpful with all our needs.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're looking for a step back in time, this is a really fun place to stay. The room we stayed in was extremely small, but updated and clean. The real interest is in the public places. The ballrooms/meeting rooms are gorgeous (make sure to check them out on the 1st and 2nd floors). The bar areas and restaurants are beautiful. They have two business centers which were wonderful. I felt like I was in a library! Location couldn't be better. So many great shops and restaurants within walking distance and the local attractions are a bit farther but definitely within walking distance (Liberty bell, constitution center, etc). Housekeeping was very polite and patient (our first morning we got a late start out due to jet lag and they were very understanding). If you plan to eat in one of their restaurants take note that they do not allow jeans or athletic shoes. One of the restaurants also requires a jacket for men.

Room Tip: They are renovating rooms and in our experience the updated rooms seemed to be smaller and the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are staying in Philadelphia on business or pleasure, the Inn at the Union League is definitely worth considering.

It represents excellent value when you add up the benefits of location, room quality, free breakfast and the opportunity to stay at one of the best clubs in America.

I found the staff very helpful. The Inn is a short walk to good eating, coffee, shopping and city attractions.

The food in the restaurants is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I could say nothing else than: this is the place you want to be to enjoy the best sevice ever. Great location, great food, great service and customer care. If you are there for business you can enjoy different first class business solutions also. They will take care of you like noone else before, and you can enjoy the best food.

Room Tip: Try the philadelphia cheese steak
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuelperrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed at the Union League Club in the early 1990's, when it was strictly a private club and access to a room for a non-member was only through connections with a member. It was fun then even though the room decor heralded back to the 1960's. There were very few out of town guests staying there. Several elderly bachelors and widowers resided there full time. I recently stayed there on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at the upgrade. My room was more than adequate for business travel. Although some posts mention small restrooms, mine was more than double the size of most business hotels. There is plenty of history inside the Union League, great artwork throughout with a Civil War emphasis. There are several restaurants and bars, including a cigar bar. Old world, old-club ambience. The only small inconvenience was a blues club located across the street from the side of the building where my room was located. The music coming from the club got a bit loud on occasion but I used a noisemaker on my phone to filter the night club noise. It might be generational, but I love staying here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eddy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#30 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 956 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#55 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#38 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,071 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Property: The Inn At The Union League
Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn At The Union League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing