We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fantastic Location with history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Union League

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location with history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you're looking for a step back in time, this is a really fun place to stay. The room we stayed in was extremely small, but updated and clean. The real interest is in the public places. The ballrooms/meeting rooms are gorgeous (make sure to check them out on the 1st and 2nd floors). The bar areas and restaurants are beautiful. They have two business centers which were wonderful. I felt like I was in a library! Location couldn't be better. So many great shops and restaurants within walking distance and the local attractions are a bit farther but definitely within walking distance (Liberty bell, constitution center, etc). Housekeeping was very polite and patient (our first morning we got a late start out due to jet lag and they were very understanding). If you plan to eat in one of their restaurants take note that they do not allow jeans or athletic shoes. One of the restaurants also requires a jacket for men.

Room Tip: They are renovating rooms and in our experience the updated rooms seemed to be smaller and the rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank labs222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    31
    8
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
22
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

If you are staying in Philadelphia on business or pleasure, the Inn at the Union League is definitely worth considering.

It represents excellent value when you add up the benefits of location, room quality, free breakfast and the opportunity to stay at one of the best clubs in America.

I found the staff very helpful. The Inn is a short walk to good eating, coffee, shopping and city attractions.

The food in the restaurants is very good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I could say nothing else than: this is the place you want to be to enjoy the best sevice ever. Great location, great food, great service and customer care. If you are there for business you can enjoy different first class business solutions also. They will take care of you like noone else before, and you can enjoy the best food.

Room Tip: Try the philadelphia cheese steak
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Manuelperrotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

I last stayed at the Union League Club in the early 1990's, when it was strictly a private club and access to a room for a non-member was only through connections with a member. It was fun then even though the room decor heralded back to the 1960's. There were very few out of town guests staying there. Several elderly bachelors and widowers resided there full time. I recently stayed there on a business trip and was pleasantly surprised at the upgrade. My room was more than adequate for business travel. Although some posts mention small restrooms, mine was more than double the size of most business hotels. There is plenty of history inside the Union League, great artwork throughout with a Civil War emphasis. There are several restaurants and bars, including a cigar bar. Old world, old-club ambience. The only small inconvenience was a blues club located across the street from the side of the building where my room was located. The music coming from the club got a bit loud on occasion but I used a noisemaker on my phone to filter the night club noise. It might be generational, but I love staying here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eddy35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for 5 nights when I was in town on business. Very good building, plenty of history and richly decorated. The food served is great (whichever meal of the day), and the staff are welcoming and friendly. The rooms are a little dated, but acceptable. Good toiletry selection and excellent wifi signal to continue with business. The gym is very well appointed and I always found it a great place to work out. Even tho it officially opens at 6am...I have been in there around 5am (I was on UK time), and it was ok. There is fruit / nuts available to guests which I always appreciate as snacks. Excellent. All 5 star thus far.

The not so great: I was in a room next to the alleyway. The 5.30am trash collection is not cool. Sometimes they seem to be using the bins like steel drums. Now I get why there are ear plugs in the bathroom! Don't like to use these...so had to suck it up. Half star down.

Not so great part 2: this is a private members club with a hotel attached. One member asked me who I knew as I was staying there! Slightly pretentious in this place. In fact you are informed of the dress code when you arrive. Jackets and shirts must be worn virtually everywhere. If no jacket they will lend you one. I was told off 4 times for taking my jacket off in the bar and also for putting my jacket on the back of the chair at breakfast! You are also reminded not to use phones etc in the corridors or rooms, bars etc. only in your room. Feels a bit up tight at times...

Overall very nice...but the private member aspect can be stifling...but very nice place.

Room Tip: Ask for room away from alleyway!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OXAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sewickley, PA
Level Contributor
234 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

I stay at the Union League when I'm in Philadelphia and not with family in the area. They've made very good efforts to upgrade the facilities over the past several years and I was really impressed with how far they've come, although they were still working on the dining rooms when I last visited. The location in Center City is unbeatable. Staff are pleasant enough, but occasionally disengaged - arguably a Philadelphia trait. The guest rooms are what I'd call 'club quality' but the price is good; the real stars of the show are the public spaces. All in all, a good place.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Oberst06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful place, old world charm. Rooms are decent size, bathroom a bit cramped, wifi decent, noise from alley trash pickup at 5:30 am was loud!!! I wondered why earplugs were available. Toiletries were nice, as were towels. Breakfast included was excellent.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#30 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 952 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#54 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#38 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Property: The Inn At The Union League
Address: 1450 Sansom St, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102-3007
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn At The Union League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing