We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Cigar Bar :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn At The Union League

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn At The Union League
Ranked #53 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great Cigar Bar :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Was there for a business conference - good place, clean room, helpful staff, great location.
what i loved best is the cigar bar.
I eat a few times there, not in the high-end restaurant but in the bar. Food was delicious and priced well. My one complaint is the mattress. I had back pain after one night.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank businessadvisor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

98 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    30
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
14
21
5
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk, Virginia
Level Contributor
130 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Inn at the Union League left much to be desired. The reception and banquet rooms were beautiful and well appointed; unfortunately the beauty did not carry over to the guest rooms at the Inn. The room I stayed in was drafty, offered no privacy (as I could overhear every conversation in the hallway and I imagine that other guests could hear mine), and it overlooked a brick wall. For the money, I would rather stay at one of the many other beautiful Philadelphia City Center hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JumeirahJenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

You couldn't ask for anything more and the location was wonderful. Great area for walking and people watching. Though the Union League rules dictate business casual dress for the FREE delicious breakfast in their dining room (which for guys was collared shirts tucked in and khakis; for gals it was khakis with dress T-shirt - no logo) there was NO dress code for the Inn itself. Thus, if you came and went via the Inn entrance, you could wear shorts and t-shirts (which we did because it was 96 degrees out). And you could help yourself in any kind of dress to the continental breakfast available in the 4th floor lounge. As to staff and/or Union League members treating us poorly, I did not experience that at all. It was a wonderfully comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 412 which had 2 queen size beds. You can split the room easily with a friend or fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chiromag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
244 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

1862 was one of the best places I have had the pleasure of eating! I am very pleased to be nominated for membership to have access to the entire club, but especially 1862.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ct3408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I recently had an overnight at the Inn at the Union League in Philadelphia. First of all the Hotel was "THE BEST". But the rest of the Union League is right out of a movie - LITERALLY! (There was even a scene from the 80's movie Trading Places filmed there.) The location of the Union League is the best - right in center city. The restaurant is probably one of the most elite restaurants in the City - but look out big eaters - they are small - gourmet portions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guinn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

One of the best restaurants ever; the food is great, the sommelier is excellent and the atmosphere is unique. I dine there often, most for business, and I can recommend this place to anyone. You may probably not get in easily if you're not a member of the Union League however a member can always bring you in under his/her membership.

The ultimate dining experience, for dinner and lunch!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank OnTheRoadAgain1357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upstate, Ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

The Inn at Union League is a beautiful, historic club/hotel located in a great area of Philadelphia with proximity to the convention center and other key places. The rooms are large, nicely furnished and very clean and the staff was helpful and very courteous. We loved staying here and would definitely do so again. The breakfast buffet was outstanding. We appreciated the dress code of no jeans or sneakers in the dining area.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TaylorUpstate_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Hyatt at The Bellevue
#29 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 928 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#54 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 97 reviews
City Center East
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#38 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,051 reviews
Rodeway Inn Center City
#46 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At The Union League? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At The Union League

Property: The Inn At The Union League
Address: 1450 Sansom Street, (between Broad and 15th Streets), Philadelphia, PA 19102
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Inn At The Union League reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Union League Hotel Philadelphia
Union League Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing