We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location to sight-see”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Palm Bay, Florida
Level Contributor
124 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good location to sight-see”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2009

My wife and I stayed for two nights in late September to do some sight-seeing while in town for my brother's wedding in south New Jersey (we moved to Mt. Laurel, NJ for the wedding after this stay). My brother’s finance’ suggested this location due to its proximity to the Old Town so I booked using Marriott points for our 2 night stay. We arrived around 1pm on Thursday and the staff person at the desk said that it would be no problem checking in early. We had a room on the ninth floor (918) and had no issue with traffic noise even though it is very busy on the street out front which is across from City Hall. The room was comfortable and roomy enough for the two of us and most importantly, clean . I sued the business center to check email and update my Facebook since I didn’t bring my laptop. It was a nice center with four PC and two printers. The fitness center was very nice and up to date. The breakfast area was the standard Residence Inn type but was well-stocked and the staff attending to it was very on the ball. Overall, we found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. My wife realized that she left a pair of a very expensive shoes after we had moved hotels to New Jersey for the wedding. The lady, Della, was very helpful and arranged to have them shipped to our house in Florida and flowed up with a tracking number.

The walk from this location in the City Center area to the Old Town area where Independence Hall, the Liberty Bell, and other historic sites was very do-able as it took about 15 minutes to walk the 12 blocks. At night, we taxied down to the area for dinner and a great meal one evening at place called Farmica. We also took the Frommer’s book advice and avoided Geno’s and Pat’s and walked about two blocks farther to a little place called Cosmi’s Deli which was the best Chessesteak that I have ever tasted! We also enjoyed a really good breakfast one morning in the Reading Terminal at the Amish Restaurant. My wife thought that the eggs tasted really fresh and I really enjoyed the huge pancakes.

Overall, it was a very nice stay at the property and its location made everything walk able.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhino2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    323
    113
    46
    9
See reviews for
219
178
44
185
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kenosha, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2009

Good location. I also liked that they had a no party policy for the weekend. The breakfast buffet was also great.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherieVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
schuylkill haven
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2009

I'm a Marriott member so I booked the room and used points for the free night stay. Arrived at 11:30 room was ready.I was expecting a garage view but i opened the blinds to see an incredible view of City Hall. Very nice at night when it is lit up. Purple and gold the night we stayed. Very close to the Reading Market. We loved it! Lots of great treats. We also went to Octberfest.I beleive it was Walnut or Chestnut St. Lots of fun ! Bands , food, beer a good time. We visited friends staying at the Holiday Inn they got the garage view!! LOL!

The room was very clean, loved the lobby. Valet parking rocks!! 42 dollars worth every penny.Never heard noise from the street. We stayed on the seventh floor. Breakfast was very fresh. Employees were helpful and friendly. We fogot toothpaste and the front desk had plenty.I stay at Marriotts because they have great beds and wonderful service. I also like the non-smoking rule. I would stay at this location again because its very close to everything, cheaper than Courtyard(next door) free breakfast,great service!!! The elevators are a bit different must use room key. Didn't always work though, but its for safety.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wakeandbake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2009

Thanks to Josh, a front desk staffs and I believe he is one of the best front desk staffs in this hotel. He is very accommodating, pleasant to deal with especially feeling exhausted after traveling for many hours from our trip, I find him very helpful. Indeed there is a rude night front desk staff we have encountered with during our stay though, just be aware. In general, this place is good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ranaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2009

This was my first stay at a Residence Inn. I booked it due to its proximity to the Pennsylvania Convention Center (on Penn Square, a 5 min walk to the CC). I also knew I'd be in my room (working) quite a bit, so I wanted a larger room.
I got their standard jr. suite, which has a king bed, plus a quasi-separated sitting room / kitchenette with fridge, cooktop, microwave, coffee maker and dishwasher.
The little workdesk is ok, with a relatively comfy chair, but not exactly ergonomically friendly ... but I've yet to find a hotel with a good workstation that doesn't hurt my neck/back/etc.
I was on the sixth floor, and there was some traffic noise. That doesn't bother me, but be advised that you should ask for a higher floor if it does bother you.
The bathroom is small and pretty dated, but clean... and the shower had excellent water pressure. Oddly, the sinks in the bathroom and kitchen had very poor pressure.
The complementary breakfast is pretty good. For hot breakfast, scrambled eggs, pork sausage patties, pancakes, grits, oatmeal, and a self-serve waffle-making station were some of the things I remember seeing. They also had bagels, bread and english muffins, with a toaster station, plus yogurt, fruit and cereal.
The exercise room is relatively well equipped, with three treadmills and at least as many stationary bikes (all with TVs attached), plus a rack of dumbbells and a few universal machines.Internet access is wireless and free in rooms and common areas. It's not very fast, but it is reliable. There is also a small business office on-site with 4-5 terminals and a free printer (which works, but appears to be on its last legs).
Apart from the breakfast area, which is nice, there is no other restaurant or bar on site, but there are plenty in the neighborhood. There are some sundry items available for purchase at the front desk, including, I believe, beer and wine. I didn't buy anything there, so I"m not sure about the prices.
All in all, the hotel was adequate for all my needs.and in a great, downtown location. And the regular rates are not very expensive (about $119, reserved directly on the Marriott website).

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Moffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NewJersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2009

My highest commendations to the wonderful staff of this fine hotel. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Residence Inn, Philadelphia Center City - resulting in no small part from the helpfulness and friendliness of this Marriott property's team of employees. Everyone we encountered greeted us warmly and was very attentitve to our questions. Also, I made some requests for extra amenities in our room - including a DVD player. Everything I wanted was provided with absolutely no fuss, and at no extra cost.

Our 1 bedroom suite was immaculately clean and comfortable, although we did not find it to be as large as some other reviews have stated. The bathroom was absolutely tiny. However, for our group of 3 close friends, the accomodations worked out just fine. The king-sized bed had the most comfortable mattress I've ever slept on. And my friend who bunked on the sofa bed said it was quite comfortable, also. He slept very well both nights. Some traffic noise was audible from the street below, but this is to be expected in such a busy area. However, we did not hear any noise from the rooms of other guests.

And OMG...what a VIEW!!!!!! I cannot say how wonderful it was to look out from our windows at the EXQUISITE facade of city hall by night. We were positively in awe of the sight.

The hotel's breakfast buffet was excellent - with choices ranging from scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes and waffles, to cereal, yogurt and fruit. Everything you could want. Even Philly cheese sauce for your eggs & grits, too! YUM! All included free with the room price. The hotel's valet service was convenient and very efficient. We chose not to use in/out priviledges, as Philly makes it so easy to use public transportation. There are cabs lined up at the front door. And the Philly Phlash tourist bus stops just outside the hotel and goes just about everywhere in the city. But when we called for our car before checking out, it was promptly delivered. At $35 + $7 tax a night, the price is ok. It's tough to find parking in this area - and we found it well worth the cost.

The only problems were that the elevators are a little slow, as has been commented on by other Trip Advisor reviewers. But it did not cause us inconvenience. If you're not in a hurry, it probably won't bother you. Also, the hotel does not have a restaurant or room service. However, there is a Quizno's directly next to the hotel for quick munchie runs, and many nearby eateries. if you play on dining in your room, I would recommend researching a few local restaurants that deliver to the hotel before your stay.

Other than that, this is an excellent hotel with friendly service, at an extremely reasonable nightly rate. I honestly don't think you'll find a location better for seeing the historic sights of Center City Philadelphia. Marriott, you should be very proud of this hotel!

Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank NJHistoryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2009

I'm usually not impressed with Marriott hotels, but this Residence Inn was one of the best hotels I've stayed in recently in relation to the cost of our stay. Our corner room on the 19th floor was incredibly spacious and clean. It fit three adults and our dog very comfortably. When looking for a hotel in Philly that accepts pets, we looked at the city and suburbs and I'm most certainly happy we chose this hotel. It's in a very convenient location for all points of exploring Philadelphia (both in walking and/or taking the subway). I would stay here again without any hesitation. Oh, free internet is included in the room charge, which was very unexpected considering Marriott typically charges a fee for access.

The staff were incredibly pleasant and helpful, too. In terms of parking, there is a very cheap lot one block north of the hotel on Juniper at Filbert, which is significantly cheaper than the hotel valet option.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#20 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 900 reviews
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#42 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,025 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,702 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing