We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #37 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Spacious rooms with kitchen and living room, good location across from city hall, very strong WiFi. The staff was very courteous and accommodating for a busy weekend. The location really helped us navigate around the city. Would gladly stay again

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ucfbeerknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear ucfbeerknight,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding how large our suites are with full kitchen ammenities. Our Wi-fi is one of the fastest in the Philadelphia area supporting you in getting your work done faster while staying longer. Our team will always go to the next level in giving the best Marriott Service possible even during the busy weekends but thank you for saying.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (751)
There are newer reviews for Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

337 - 343 of 752 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2014

We are just back from a week's stay at the Residence Inn. We were there with toddler twins in a two-room suite, and the hotel was great about getting us two pack-n-plays. The entire staff was incredibly helpful -- whether it was to get two carseats down to a rental car or to find high chairs for the breakfast. Having a full kitchen was incredibly useful, as was the buffet breakfast. You can even buy beer and wine from the hotel, which is, well, amazing in Pennsylvania. Our room was clean and tidy with a gorgeous view of City Hall and the west side of Center City, in a great location -- just a block from Reading Terminal Market and two blocks from Midtown Village. My only criticism is the lobby's tininess -- it was a challenge to get in and out of the building with a double stroller. Really, this should be a 4.5 star review. There are more stylish hotels, but this one was most practical for our needs.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank phillytraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2014

Dear phillytraveler71,

Thanks so much for the wonderful comments regarding the entire team here making your stay better for you and your toddler twins. The team here always goes out of their way in making your stay more memorable. Please come back and visit on any future trips to Philadelphia!

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Rooms were a bit tired and needed attention. Bathroom was about as tiny as they come. Room was clean and fairly spacious but it needed a makeover. I've stayed at better Residence Inn properties.' Location is a selling point and staff were very attentive and service oriented.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dana A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Dana,

Thanks for taking the time in giving us feedback from your stay. Very sorry regarding the size of the bathrooms. I'm glad that the rest of the room size was more to your liking. I'm pretty sure when they converted the hotel they had the size of the rest of the room to be more inviting to guests staying for longer stays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Spent the weekend of the 4th and loved it. Larger studio had a very complete kitchen w/almost full sized appliances…not hotel sized. Rm was quite large and plenty of space for two adults.
But service not up to usual Marriott standards. The desk crew working Thursday pm thru Friday pm gave decent service but almost as an afterthought. We and three others waited for 5 minutes as the desk clerk was on the phone and it took five minutes for someone else to appear to help us. The Saturday and Sunday crew was quite a bit different, and the Asst Manager David Fester(sp?) was great.

This is not a tourist hotel so no concierge or literature. If the desk clerks, valets did not know and the Thursday and Friday crew didn't, how to get somewhere you were on your own.
The breakfast was excellent,with plenty of well cooked items to choose from.

One hint on parking. Hotel parking is $49.00 per 24 hours. It takes up to 1/2 hour to retrieve your car or to retrieve anything from it. Right behind the hotel is an outdoor parking lot manned 24/7. Parking here was $36 for 24 hours, and it is only 5 minutes or less from the hotel front door.

The hotel was within walking of distance of everything we wanted to do, the museums, Penn's landing and Independence Mall. Right next door is a Courtyard by Marriott.

The elevators are quirky. They use a card lock out system which usual works, but sometimes you needed it on the down side and sometimes you didn't . But it seemed safe enough and it gave everyone a lot of laughs as one traveled up and down while searchiing for the right floor.

Room Tip: We stayed in RM 2402 facing City hall. Plenty of light
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded July 9, 2014

Dear Joanie,

Thank you for giving your feedback from your stay at our hotel. At Residence Inn Center City we strive on giving the best service to all of our guests. Unfortunately on the first couple of nights you didn't feel this level of service and I do apologize for that. I want to thank you for the nice comments regarding David our Front Office Manager. I'm glad that he took care of you during the weekend. I hope in the future you will give us another chance in making your entire stay a memorable one.

Sincerely, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The room was spacious and clean, and the staff were unbelievably friendly and helpful! The room could have used some sprucing by way of updating/renovating, but nothing that was even worth removing a partial star form the rating. Seriously, the staff was amazing and I highly recommend anyone going to Philly to stay here. The location could not be better, the view was amazing, the breakfast was delicious, and the room luxurious and clean!

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alyson M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed there recently with my family, we were 5. Rooms were great and accommodating. The gym was very nice and properly equipped, and you had everything you needed from a food and drink perspective with in a block. The challenges we experienced were with valet, it took approx. 40 minutes to get our car (which 30 minutes is average), and we lost hot water for 24 hours due to a area steam issue. The location was excellent being basically in the center of the city. If you are concerned about security, no worries during the day, being across the street from City Hall we saw more law enforcement that we can imagine. Also breakfast is provided every morning on the second floor.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel in June to celebrate his upcoming birthday as well as our anniversary. Due to schedule conflicts at home, this was the only weekend we could get away to commemorate both occasions.

Front Desk Staff ~ Kelly R. is exceptional! I spoke to Kelly the day prior to our arrival to confirm our reservations and requested a quiet area since my husband and I are very light sleepers. Once Kelly knew why we were visiting Philly for the weekend she gave us an upgrade! We had a one bedroom king suite on the 23rd floor with an incredible view of City Hall! Kelly also gave us a bottle of wine, snacks and a picture of Philadelphia with a note congratulating us on our anniversary as well as birthday wishes for my husband. She went above and beyond her duties and everything Kelly did from the moment we arrived was outstanding! Kelly made our weekend extremely special and words cannot express how much this meant to us!

Kathleen C. was also a pleasure to talk to, answered our questions and made our stay very special as well.

Valet ~ Granted $48 a day is very expensive but knowing that our SUV was in a secure location put us at ease. The valet attendants were professional, friendly, assisted with our luggage and our SUV was retrieved in a timely manner. A special thanks to Thomas for his fantastic service! Thomas was on top of everything, pleasant to all the guests and kept the cars/taxi's flowing without difficulty.

Breakfast ~ The continental breakfast was very good. Nice assortment (scrambled eggs, sausage, cereal, fruit, waffles, French toast, toast, bagels, muffins, juice, coffee, milk, etc.). The room was huge, food areas were clean/well stocked, tables were clean and the staff was very nice.

Room ~ We loved our suite! The view was stunning and the size of the suite was perfect for us. The kitchen was a blessing between our leftovers and the food we purchased over the weekend. The room was clean, spacious, bed was comfortable and it had everything we needed.

Internet ~ Worked great.

Location ~ We loved the location of this hotel. Close to many restaurants, Reading Terminal Market, Liberty Bell, Independence Hall, Convention Center, shopping, public transportation, etc.

Thank you very much Kelly for making our weekend celebration very special! You're fantastic and we appreciate everything you did for us! Also a special thanks to Kathleen, Thomas and the other staff members that made our weekend enjoyable. Due to the fantastic service we received, we will be back!

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor with a view of City Hall.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luv2PlanVacations
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

Dear Luv 2 PlanVacations,

I'm so glad that your husband had a wonderful birthday! It was great to hear how well Kelly took care of your weekend and making it a special one. She's truly one of the best Guest Service Representatives around. Thanks also for the warm comments regarding our Front Desk Supervisor Kathleen who always takes care of our guests. You mentioned Thomas who works for our outside 3rd party valet company. I cannot tell you how many great comments we get regarding him. We're very lucky having one of the best teams in the city and glad that you got witness it during your stay.

Take care, Ed F

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $167 - $363 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing