We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Great old building with great updates. Was perfect for what I needed for a business stay. Very friendly staff and the location was perfect for getting to just about anything downtown including the convention center. I will without a doubt stay here going forward.

Room Tip: Many excellent views, but they vary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allentownpaguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear Allentownpaguy,

Thanks for the wonderful comments regarding the hotel and how helpful our staff was during your stay. We're very lucky to have really hard working associates that love to make you feel like you're at home.

Thanks again for choosing the Residence Inn Center City, Philadelphia!

Sincerely Ed Farrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (763)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

388 - 394 of 763 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Looked online... Got cheaper price when I called and asked. Nice studio with sitting area... Needs a bar, but there is one next door at courtyard or around the corner at the Marriott. People at valet and at desk very nice... Their recommendation for a restaurant was terrible though.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FuseGlassArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Fuseglassartist,

Thanks for taking the time in writing about your stay with us. Very sorry that the recommendation for restaurant wasn't so good. If you could contact me at my information below I would like to know which one you didn't care for. Thanks for the very nice comments regarding the valet and front desk team.

Sincerely Ed Farrington
General Manager
1-215-982-7930 or edwad.farrington@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014 via mobile

We did an overnight stay at RI center city and was very impressed with our stay. At check in we were greeted by DeAnna who was very friendly, efficient and helpful. She asked if we wanted to try one of the newly configured rooms on the top floor - which we did. Wow! Our room was beautiful, soft carpets, large bright bathroom with a walk in shower. Full fridge, micro - more than one can ask for if you do not have a full suite. Our views were breath taking as to the west we looked at City Hall and almost right into William Penn's eyes, to the south we could see all the way to the sport complex. Location is great and only 2 blocks from the convention center and reading terminal market. Breakfast was a full buffet with a good selection and hot food. Definitely will stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dme44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear dme44,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding DeAnna. She is always giving the utmost in customer service in making our guests stay a memorable one. So glad you loved the views from our higher guest rooms. We really appreciate you taking the time in giving us your feedback from your stay.

Thanks Ed Farrington
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in February and were very satisfied. Our room was attractive, clean, comfortable, and quiet--props to Jill in reception for noticing that we requested a quiet room and making sure we got one. Indeed, all the staff are to be highly commended--the bellman, the housekeeping staff, and the ladies serving breakfast and the evening "snack" (which is actually enough to make a dinner out of) were, to a person, friendly and helpful. Special thanks to Andrew in Security. When we checked out, I accidentally left my purse in a drawer in the bedroom. I had previously transferred my wallet and most of the items I needed to another bag, but the purse contained my checkbook and I was worried about it falling into the wrong hands. When I called the next morning, Andrew told me that the purse had been found, and he kindly shipped it back to me by FedEx at no charge! Truth be told, I was a little surprised that the hotel didn't contact me proactively to report finding the purse. However, I was very relieved to know they had it, and grateful that they returned it promptly at their own expense. All in all, we had a terrific experience at this Residence Inn. My only complaint would be the ridiculously high cost of valet parking, but you can find cheaper alternatives if you're willing to walk a couple of blocks.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingDolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2014

Dear Traveling Dolly,

Thanks so much for the nice comments regarding the team here at Residence Inn Center City. We're extremely lucky to have such hard working caring associates like Jillian, Andrew, breakfast and evening social teams taking care of our guests. I'm also very thankful that Andrew was able to send out your purse so quickly. Please don't hesitate in contacting me directly at edward.farrington@marriott.com if you needed any future room reservations.

Sincerely, Ed Farrington

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We got stuck in Philly due to a US Airways missed connections. We were travelling with our 2 year old and had to find a hotel in a hurry. Again since US Airways do not provide a hotel when you get stranded. Discount coupon, but they were for garbage hotels.
This place is a $30 cab ride from the airport, but was a great stay.
Staff were so so friendly and the rooms were good. At least we didn't have to hear airplanes all night if we would have stayed at a airport hotel.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Stevo L,

Thanks for the nice comments regarding your stay after being stranded due to airline connections. We're very lucky to have such a great team in all areas of the hotel that have worked for the hotel for many years. They fully understand in making service so memorable.

Take care and have a great week.

Sincerely, Ed Farrington General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We recently stayed here because of a huge power outage where we live (Philadelphia suburbs). The hotel was filled with fellow "refugees". It's not very much fun to have to go a hotel because you can't be in your own house, but the service here really made up for that. The front desk staff are incredibly friendly and helpful, as are the valet parking people. The room comes with free breakfast, and they also provide a light dinner in the evening. Our first night, the dining area was packed with people with little kids, all of whom were there because of the storm and outage. The staff in the dining area could not have been nicer and more patient. Everyone smiled and had a kind word.

We had to stay an additional night because our power was still out, and I simply called and requested the same room. The young lady at the front desk remembered me, and everyone greeted us warmly when we came back. I really can't stress enough how great the service was. We were in Jamaica a few weeks ago, and the difference between the front desk staff there and the staff at this hotel is like night and day.

The room itself was very nice. Totally clean and spacious room, comfy bed, good internet service, and nicely appointed kitchenette. We need a wheelchair accessible room, and they did a good job with doing accessibility properly. This is not one of the fancier, more upscale hotels in the city, but it's clean, it's comfortable, and you just can't beat the service. A particular thank you to Deonna at the front desk - thanks for making us feel at home!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jekesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ed F, General Manager at Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear jeke sq,

Just wanted to say thank you for taking the time in telling us how well our entire team did during the ice storm that occurred in our western suburbs. Luckily the city had rooms available due to the Car Show coming in that weekend or we all would have been sold out. I've been through many ice storms years ago so we were prepared to get lots of families that didn't plan to be at our hotel that night. I was very proud of our team in handling a much busier week than what was planned. We're also lucky to have such a great front desk associate in Deanna. She is truly a gem and we're so happy she took good care of you.

Take care and let's hope for Spring!

Sincerely Ed Farrington General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

I enjoy Marriott's chain of hotels and have frequented them in many cities around the world. This one is exactly what you expect from Marriott. A nice, welcoming lobby. Helpful desk agents. Clean and modern rooms that are comfortable. We stayed in a 2 King suite with our friends for NYE. Check-in was fast and the desk agent provided me with a print-out with all the information for the Mummer's parade the next day. We are already planning to stay at this location again for our anniversary.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing City Hall for a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kikiboombox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#41 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,318 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $135 - $358 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing