We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally Located - Great Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #39 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
NJ, USA
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Centrally Located - Great Hotel”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

This is a suite hotel which is great for all different types of travelers. The location is great, right across from City Hall with many things in walking distance. This is a smoke-free hotel with 280 suites on 25 floors, pets are allowed as well. The hotel offers several great amenities like a fitness room with some treadmills, eliptical machines, & free weights. There is a good sized coin operated laundry room, a lounge area, free wifi, & free breakfast, 24 hour coffee and tea.

They have a few different room types. I was in a studio suite, the smallest but by no means small. it was very roomy & comfortable. I really liked the room a lot. When you walk in there's a table for 2 where you can eat - the drawback is that it's right by the door with no TV. A few feet more and you have a living room area with pullout sofabed and the kitchenette. The kitchenette has a full refrigerator, stove, coffee maker, & microwave along with all the cooking utensils & dinnerware you will need. Next to the living room area is a desk & large tv which swivels so you can see it from the living room area or the bed. The bed was so comfortable, I got a great nights sleep for each of the 2 nights I spent there. The bathroom was large and the shower was great. The room did not have a safe. The closet is in the bedroom area in the corner and that's where the mirror is, the lighting there isn't great so that was a tiny drawback. There is an iron/'ironing board in the closet with a good amount of hangers. There is one luggage stand, I wish there were 2 since most times there's at least 2 people traveling. The heating system was odd, when I set it the room would warm up but they it would get very chilly before it went back on and it was a bit loud. I found our room to be drafy by the window so maybe that's why the room would get chilly before the heat kicked back in. Not all rooms may be set up this way.

The free daily breakfast was great. To my surprise they had scambled eggs, hash browns, & potatoes one day & french toast another day. They also offer bagels, muffins, cold cereal, yogurt, make your own waffles, fruit, coffee, tea, & hot chocolate. The offerings sometimes change daily. I think it ended around 930am, which I thought was a little early but it may be until 10am on weekends.

There is a bar in the lounge area outside the breakfast room but it wasn't open during my 2 night stay. On Monday through Thursday evening they offer a reception in the lounge which varies by night, it was light desserts when I was there. The lounge area is on the 2nd floor and has couches and comfortable seating with several tvs, it's where the 24 hour coffee & tea are.

We did not use the valet parking which is $46 per day, I found a garage 2 blocks away under Macys which was $26 for 24 hours! The hotel is in a good location, there are main bus lines right there along with the subway a block away. We walked to the Franklin Institute from the hotel and it was barely 15 minutes. You can walk just a few blocks and you'll find many dining choices, Chinatown is a 10 minute walk as well as the "Gay-borhood" area.

I would stay at this hotel again...and again!

Room Tip: To save money park in a self park garage and not valet which is $45 per night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JoeytravelerNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

733 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    229
    330
    118
    46
    10
See reviews for
225
181
46
188
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed here for just one night, but wished we were there longer. The place was clean, equipped with a kitchen, a nice TV, included breakfast, and a fantastic location.

This hotel is right across from City Hall and in the center of everything. If you like to walk, It's within walking distance to city attractions like Independence Hall and other historic sites, Love Park, National Constitution Center, Penn Convention Center, Franklin Institute, Philadelphia Museum of Art (a longer stroll), Arts Theatres, and Rittenhouse Square. Plus, you are right next to a station to connect to a couple of subway lines to move you around to other parts. It's a simple ride down Broad Street to get to the Sports Complex in South Philly, or north to Temple University. There is also another subway for E/W travels.

The only negative was the high price for parking, but if you are willing to walk 5 or 6 blocks, you can find much cheaper lots. We found one that was $5 from Friday night to Monday morning, but no in and outs. But since you can walk or ride to almost everything, you wouldn't need to take your car out much. And if you do, you'd still probably come out ahead. :)

The place just had everything I would need for a nice stay and I would definitely like to stay here again if I came back to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Eddie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

It was an OK stay. We had a gas line issue at our home so we decided to stay at a hotel. I did the reservations online and was accommodated immediately. When we got to our room it smelled like cigars. GROSS!! The extra sheets had a large rip in it. I called the front desk and they said that someone would be right up a new set of sheets. No one ever came. I told the front desk in the morning, they apologized and said they would give me Marriott points for the inconvenience. I did not receive it until I had to call 2 weeks later to remind them. For it was, it was an OK stay. I have seen better!

Room Tip: For business purposes only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BrendaK81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 303 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

Stayed for two nights on business. While work colleagues had told me the Courtyard (next door) would be better, I can clearly vouch that the Residence Inn was far superior. There are two reasons for this: the service (everyone is extremely friendly and helpful) and the breakfast (which was better than anticipated). The common space on the floor where the breakfast is served was quite large (for a city hotel), nicely decorated and well thought out (and TV's in the breakfast bar greatly appreciated so I could catch up on the news). The room had an odd layout to say the least, but had all the amenities one would expect from a Residence Inn (fridge, popcorn for first night, etc.) Great location within five minutes of Center Ciry offices, City Hall, Reading Terminal Market and top restaurants. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveltime841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

The Residence brand is not high-end, but in this case it is very classy. Located in a refurbished 1940s office building that is absolutely in the center of center city, the big windows give great city views of City Hall, up close, and busy Market Street. The rooms are comfortably spacious, cleverly laid out in the old building spaces, and fully equipped with a little kitchen. Service was awesome, with fast-moving and helpful valet parking attendants, cheerful front desk and a pleasant breakfast staff. Can't beat the convenience of the location, easy two block walk to the best shopping district in town, great restaurants, the commercial center of the city.

Room Tip: The end of the hall gives windows in two directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsetrockme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart-Germany
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Big city hotels are built upward not outward. Thus, expect rooms to be smaller as is the case here. But the staff was WONDERFUL and the room was well adorned. The free breakfast was super.

There is no on-site parking so either pay the $38/night valet fee or search around for a parking lot.

Room Tip: The higher your room, the better the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GeorgeIV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Staff, room, location nothing less than A++!
Front desk, breakfast ambassadors, bell men, doormen, dinner ambassadors, housekeeping, housemen! Efficient friendly
Definitely recommend! Made our mini vaca more than enjoyable and felt extremely comfortable from check in to check out
Thanks again to everyone
Xo

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erikaortizcorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#19 of 86 in Philadelphia
954 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing