We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, needs upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Ranked #38 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great location, needs upgrades”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Although you can't beat the location of this hotel (right in front of city hall), it does leave something to be desired in terms of the room itself. The room is large and spacious but in my opinion, it does not make good use of the space. The bathroom is tiny with barely enough room to close the door! There is a small vanity outside of the bathroom which is nice if 2 people are trying to get ready but this place definitely needs a larger bathroom. The bathroom itself was not as clean as I would have liked and needed some upgrades.Also, I wish the rooms were a bit more "smell proof" - we smelled like curry all weekend because someone in a room on a our hall was cooking and it stunk up the entire hallway and seeped into all the rooms. Don't get me wrong, I love curry - but don't want to wear it like perfume. Other than that, our bed and the room were comfortable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dapfunk187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    334
    121
    46
    10
See reviews for
229
186
47
189
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (195)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Palm Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
237 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed October 30, 2012

This hotel was located in a good location, right on the circle around City Hall. You have to REALLY look for the gold awning to see where to pull up to drop off your luggage and valet park. Parking is typical BIG CITY price $48 and you really don't have another viable option. Don't expect help with your luggage. My daughter and I had several pieces of luggage and NOT ONE person offered to help us. In fact the gentleman who was out front "managing" the arrival and departure of guests walked AROUND to the drivers side of my car when the valet parking attendant was leaving my car and I am still not sure what he was doing, but it wasn't helping us.....AT ALL. He just sort of wandered around our car as my daughter and I loaded the van. The breakfast bar was nice and relatively complete and the 2nd floor is a comfortable meeting area with plenty of chairs and tvs. Our room was typical for a Residence Inn, small refrigerator, microwave and two burner stove. We had a nice view of City Hall, a queen size bed and a pull out sofa. Our pull out sofa was not equipped with linens and we looked EVERY where in our room- not even an extra pillow. We could have called down for them but when we realized it at midnight we were too tired to wait, so mother and daughter piled into the queen sized bed- problem solved.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view if that is important to you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank floridatocanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
Level 6 Contributor
197 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not sure of value as we used our points, but loved the hotel. Nice room, neat and clean with plenty of space. Decent breakfast options, free wi-fi and a nice friendly bar.

Most of all was the location, location location (as they say in real estate). Across from city hall and right near all N E S W bus and metro connections.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NLtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As other reviews have noted, the location of this hotel is ideal for a visit to Philadelphia -- it is near shopping, dining, tourist attractions, and transit. The rooms are generally comfortable, although decoration is generic and a furnishings a bit worn. Couples (or others) with different sleep patterns will appreciate that the rooms have separate living and sleeping areas, each of which was fairly snug. We would have preferred if the advertised queen-sized bed was actually queen-sized; it wasn't. Sound insulation was good from the street and decent from the hallways, but the hotel has some of the noisiest water pipes I've ever encountered. The valet parking is expensive (as might be expected from the center of a densely popiulated city) but worked as advertised and was not unduly slow for a property that does not have a parking lot or garage on the premises.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank otberbur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
williamstown, ma
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This hotel is in a great location - walk to Reading Market, the Convention Center, Walnut Street, Chestnut St, and Broad St. restaurants, Constitution Hall, Chinatown, City Hall - in fact, from our room, we had a great and direct view of City Hall. Loved loved loved the location. The room itself was comfortable, what you would expect from a Residence Inn. Lots of room to move around, 2 queen beds option, full service kitchen... It was also surprisingly quiet, and we appreciated having laundry service downstairs. The bar/coffee area was very strange - it seemed to be a hangout for a LARGE group of men only. We tried the dinner once, but it was a definite pass - worse than hospital cafeteria food. The coffee bar was only available one morning we were there; the rest of the time it always had an Out of Order sign. The security at the hotel is questionable in the evening; we came in with our card around midnight one evening, went to the elevators (the staff never once looked up or greeted us at night - almost like they knew there was a problem and they were deliberately ignoring it). A young man we didn't initially see was sitting the other side of the round seating arrangement by the elevators, and jumped in when we had gone in and already inserted our card. I notified the front desk when we got into our room that we felt this was highly uncomfortable, and they said they would send someone up to the floor to make sure it was safe. We said that wasn't the question; that people hanging around to hop on the elevator should be noticed. Further, this happened two more times! What is going on here? Altogether, the hotel is comfortable, in a great location, and typical of what you would expect in a Residence Inn. Please work on your security; you should know who is hanging around in that small front lounge area in the late evenings.

Room Tip: Room service is provided from a nearby Chili's Restaurant. Arrived cold, with wrong items. Forge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank journey500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We took the kids to Philly for the weekend and Residence Inn was the perfect choice. The location can't be beat, right across the street from city hall and within walking distance of many attractions, restaurants and shopping. Also a very quick cab ride to the Franklin Institute or Liberty Bell/Constitution Hall/American Jewish Museum. Staff was very friendly and eager to assist. Room had kitchen area, living room and then separate bedroom with bathroom - spacious for family of four. Breakfast food was decent, didn't bother with the hot food as it didn't look great but the cold food options were plentiful. There was a bar on the second floor but not sure if it was open on weekends. If it is open, they don't do a good job of advertising the fact. Valet parking is $45 and will take 20-30 minutes to retrieve your car so plan accordingly. Next door are both a 7-11 and Dunkin Donuts which was very nice. There's also a small store on the other side with cheap souvenirs. The gym was also pretty nice even though it was in the basement/lower lobby, just not too many treadmills (2-3). Hotel was nearly full but didn't have any issues with noise from other rooms or floors. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others traveling with kids.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWA_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

My husband and I spent the week end here. The staff was friendly and helpful. The view from our room was incredible. We faced City Hall. The location is perfect:within walking distance of everything. Breakfast was just fine. I was quite satisfied.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gail60795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
#15 of 86 in Philadelphia
972 reviews
City Center East
Home2 Suites by Hilton Philadelphia - Convention Center, PA
City Center East
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
Philadelphia Marriott Downtown
#40 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center East
Hilton Garden Inn Philadelphia Center City
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City

Property: Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City
Address: One East Penn Square, Philadelphia, PA 19107-3308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center East
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#28 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#38 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City 3*
Number of rooms: 269
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel is ideal for day, weekend getaway, or longer stays. Our hotel in Center City Philadelphia is just steps away from Historic City Hall and the Reading Terminal Market. The Pennsylvania Convention Center, Kimmel Center for the Performing Arts, world-class restaurants and shopping are all within walking distance of our extended stay Philadelphia hotel. While away from home, our Philadelphia Center City hotel helps you feel connected. Enjoy a sense of community at our complimentary hot breakfast buffet and the complimentary evening social events Monday-Wednesday. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel suites offer separate living, working and dining areas, complimentary Wi-Fi Internet and hallmark Marriott service. Our Philadelphia hotel in Center City is easily accessible from the Philadelphia Airport, Amtrak Train Station and I-95. Our Center City Philadelphia hotel meeting rooms, ideal for groups of 20-40 guests, are perfect for small meetings and social events. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Cancelon, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Philadelphia Center City Hotel Philadelphia
Philadelphia Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing