We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wanted to give it a 5 but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Slice Pizza

Slice Pizza
Ranked #832 of 4,342 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Seating, Takeout
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
168 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wanted to give it a 5 but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, kind service. The Truffle Pizza was fabulous. The sauce was great. The thin crust on the two cheese varieties we ordered was the right consistency, but a little too charred in some spots. The only other complaint was the lack of cheese. For the grown-ups, this made for a healthier, delicious, fresh tasting pizza. My picky kid did okay too. For the youngest, she refused to eat it.

So, expect good things, but prepare for a hit or miss with picky kids or if you have an issue with the trend toward a slightly charred crust.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoadTakenEM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    12
    6
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“2nd visit disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Ate at the South Philly location yesterday for the 2nd time and was disappointed.
Although we love thin crust pizza, pizza was overdone, overcooked, making it hard, almost crackerlike. One of the pies we had was the Italiana, the proscuitto on it was of domestic quality and not the excellent imported kind that can only come from Italy. The tomatoe sauce was superb though, San Marzano, the best tomatoes in the world were used.
Was impressed with my first visit there, but totally not on my 2nd visit.
Not sure if I will return.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmine0814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing Arugla Salad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Tiny little place that looks like nothing from the outside, but inside is terrific thin crust pizza with lots of regular and also unusual toppings, the mushrooms are not those rubbery canned things most pizza places use - and the arugula salad is amazing, dusted with fresh shaved parm cheese and balsamic vinagrette dressing with delicious free side of crusty pizza dough rolls...yum! You can get just one slice or a whole pie. I love this place!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank frisco14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent and Food Allergy Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2012

Met my wife and kids for lunch. My son has severe Milk, egg and nut allergies so we seldom dont bring his food, but spoke to them via phone prior to going and he had an excellent tomato pie. Thin, crispy and it made for one happy 8 year old. I had a slice of Pizzazz which was great as well if you like spicy (hot peppers & Tomato). My wife had a great veggie slice, while my daughter enjoyed the plain cheese.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haverford, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Tasty, Gourmet Thin Sliced Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We just tried this pizza restaurant last night on10th Street and found the pizza very tasty. Its a small, pizza joint, but the staff tries to give you personalized attention making it feel more like a small restaurant. They also have salads, but we did not try them. Nice big slices!
We at the florentine pizza- excllent- and pepporoni pizza- delicious too!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1966Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Slice Pizza also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Slice Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing