We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sbraga

Sbraga
Reserve with OpenTable
Sbraga is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #159 of 4,339 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pine Street
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Went for a business dinner with some local colleagues. Imaginative food, good service and nice cocktails. A good experience overall.

Helpful?
Thank Martin12N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    41
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amelia Island, FL
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Inventive Four Course Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

Sbraga was crowded and noisy, but that made it more exciting. With each course, there were many dishes to choose from. I enjoyed all that I was served (and more bites from my husband proved to be delicious as well). The service was attentive and (with help) the wine selections made were perfect. We will be traveling back to Philadelphia soon and will definitely go to Sbraga again!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WoodyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, NJ
Level Contributor
558 reviews
334 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 615 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Enough said...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

We were familiar with Chef Sbraga's cooking excellence during his tenure at our neighborhood's Rat's restaurant 'back in the day.' We are happy to report that his Philadelphia flagship restaurant is nothing short of terrific, amazing, fantastic (fill the bank for a proper revering adjective).
The four-course dinner is actually a five-course one, because a complimentary Foie Gras soup is being added to the menu. The bread are popovers, Chef Sbraga's trademark item from his Rat's days, but with amazing addition of Gruyere cheese, which makes it even more delicious.
The price-tag of $55 per person is a very good bargain for a similar dining experience. The wine list also offers a few affordable options.
We will not dwell on or point out to any specific dish, everything was a culinary masterpiece. Every dish was a top-notch, both in creativity, superb taste, and artful presentation.
We can't recommend Sbraga high enough.
The only advice is to try and come as a group of three or four people. If it is just you and your partner, you are going to be seated in an extreme proximity to the next table or two. A Parisian bistro style involving having to listen to your neighbors' conversation is our only turnoff.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RGSOUNDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson Valley, NY
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Top Chef Murders Lamb, Sea Bass”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

A once good piece of sea bass rendered indecipherable under a heavy, spicy paste; an entree advertised as spring lamb cooked to the consistency of jerky, then covered with an incredibly salty sauce -- these types of "inventive" dishes may win you points on Top Chef (where Sbraga's chef gained fame), but this is a crime against food. If you subscribe to the school of fresh local ingredients prepared carefully and simply to let the flavor shine through, eat elsewhere. I wish we had.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hudson_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
166 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“In a word – phenomenal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

My taste buds were in overload mode as I savored every bite that I took. We have not been here in quite a while, but the food is still exquisite and the service is terrific. We brought friends with us and they were bowled over as well with the intricate complex flavors blended together that is guaranteed to please the discriminating palate.

Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sbraga also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sbraga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing