We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creative beverage pairings matched with a bargain of a prix-fixe menu. Exemplary service.”
Review of Sbraga

Sbraga
Ranked #186 of 4,388 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Pine Street
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Creative beverage pairings matched with a bargain of a prix-fixe menu. Exemplary service.”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Sbraga got my attention for its prix fixe menu of four courses with available beverage pairings. Although $49 a pop (plus $35 for the beverage pairings) hardly seems like a bargain it's kind of difficult to find set menus of creative modern American food at that price.

We booked well in advance for a late reservation on a busy Saturday night. Although the place was packed our table was ready when we arrived.

You might as well go for the beverage pairing since there are few wines on the list at less than $70 a bottle. Note that some of the pairings are wines, some are beers, and some are cocktails.

If it seems like a lot of booze, be aware that the beers are a pour of several ounces in a wine glass, and the cocktails are adorable little mini-cocktails. They're not trying to get you drunk. The cocktails are creative and delicious though!

We enjoyed every dish and every drink we tried. Certain dishes were spicy but the server let us know in advance, and we like spicy food anyway.

Our server was exemplary. She kept an eye on several tables, anticipating their needs and even thinking of small touches like giving my dining companion a small pour of wine while we waited for his paired cocktail to arrive.

The restaurant is an open room design with high ceilings and not that large, so it gets loud. Not the spot for a quiet evening or first date, but if you've been out a few times and know you love creative food it's a great date night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelers828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    41
    25
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Exceptional food and wine pairing”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

Have been wanting to visit Sbraga for awhile now. Did so on our 10th anniversary. Price fixe menu with lots to offer. We invested in the wine pairings and we were impressed with the exceptional pairings and how each complemented the menu item. The quality of the menu and the consideration toward the presentation were amazing. Flavor abounds! End with the cherries jubilee for a great finish. Great service We will definitely be returning even though we live in the suburbs.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Roger O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goodyear, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“This is top-notch food at a bargin price, don't miss this one!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

What a find! You can order 4 courses for $50! Ridiculous gggggoooooodddddd wow in your mouth food served by people that love bringing it to you. Can't be beat. Take a date, get to share 8 courses for dinner. Wow, Steak tartar and pork belly for starters, octopus and diver scallop for seconds, spring lamb and wagyu beef thirds, and then, (too full to finish) artisanal cheese plates to go. Too good to believe for a late night nosh with a cold pair of beers. What an evening and meal. We live in Arizona and prefer full flavor in our meals so the spices were found to be rather on the moderate to mild heat scale but robust in nature. It can get just a tad noisy and bustling, so it is not really cut out for sitting back and noshing for over an hour or more, but who is complaining? I wanted to give it a rating over 4 but can't give a five just because it should not be done without an overwhelming once in a lifetime dining experience.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TheNoFearFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Food was good but really way too salty”
Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

We went to Sbraga for our long weekend in Philly. The restaurant is nicely decorated and it had a good ambiance. The appetizers we had was good. The main dishes were way too salty. The chef could cut the salt in half or 2/3 even. It was so salty that we had to drink tones of water once we were back to our hotel.
The service was ok, my bf took the alcohol pairing. It came with a cocktail drink, a glass of wine, a beer then some dessert wine. It is just a bit cheap that for the beer, the waiter did not bother to leave the whole bottle of beer. For the price you have to pay for the pairing, one would expect to have a full bottle of beer at least, especially that it is one of the cheapest one on the list.
Overall a very just ok experience. Not worth any return trip at all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank JJMontreal2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All-around enjoyable experience”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We've been wanting to try Sbraga for quite some time and when we were finally able to get a reservation we found it was well worth the wait. The menu is 4 course tasting but with more than enough to choose from for each course. Our server was patient with all of our questions and well versed in the menu. It must also be noted that she made a point of the spiciness of certain items on the menu and that if you weren't into spicy foods you should maybe not pick these items. Yes the food was spicy, and maybe a little salty but all of our choices (there were four of us) were right on the mark. All the presentations were unique as was the preparation of the food. Flavorful and exciting! The pot du creme for dessert was one of the best I've ever had. The atmosphere was very nice, though the A/C was running a little too high. A great night out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sbraga also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Sbraga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing