We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Everything was great”
Review of Il Pittore - CLOSED

Il Pittore
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 20th Street
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
1,930 reviews
704 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2,268 helpful votes
“Everything was great”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

The interior is not stunning but the food is really good. The service outstanding- elegant, attentive and classy. We chose the 6 course chef's sampler and everything was delicious. The price for the sampler $89 per person and everybody at the table has to get it if chosen. Fresh truffle shavings were available for $25 per dish and they really added to the sophistication of the meal. The wine list has a good selection of Italian wines and you can have them by the glass if bottle is too much for the table. The cappuccino is well made and desserts tasty. It is a rather expensive place but great for celebrating your special occasions.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank podrozniczka60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    43
    14
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pottsville
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“All Around Excellence”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

One of the best dining experiences you will have. The atmosphere is perfect. The service is first rate and genuine. The food is delicious. The chef/owner is gracious and talented. Relax and enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Il Pittore was an excellent Italian restaurant. Our service was attentive and respectful. The entire meal was a joy.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skagan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

The food did not have any flavor. 2 of the things I ordered were supposed to have truffle oil in them, a distinct flavor. I could not detect it at all in either one. Not what I expected from a Stphen Starr restaurant. The service was exceptional, & the best part of the dining experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jillian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chambersburg, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“fantastic Italian in Philly”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My husband and I had our anniversary dinner here and loved everything about it. Words cannot describe how good the food is and the service is just as exceptional. We tried some pasta first, with the rack of rabbit for my husband and the trout for me. There was nothing on the menu that I didn't want to try!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nancy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Pittore also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing