We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic German food and good beer selection”
Review of Hop Angel Brauhaus

Hop Angel Brauhaus
Ranked #870 of 4,370 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: German
Restaurant details
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Authentic German food and good beer selection”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

You can always tell a good German restaurant when the menu has the actual German spelling. They have good selection of German food along with American favorites like steak & burgers. They have at least 12 different draft beers, both imported and local craft brews, plus a large selection of bottled beer. The emphasis is obviously on the German beers.

The staff is very helpful and friendly. We were there on a Friday night when they had a live band in the bar. We were only there for dinner so they made a special effort to seat us in a quiet area.

They have ample parking behind the restaurant. Prices are average for this type of restaurant.

For good German food, friendly atmosphere, and good service, I recommend Hop Angel Brauhaus in Fox Chase.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KenGPhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    21
    5
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
87 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A real German food treat in Philly”
Reviewed March 20, 2013

This was my second time to the Hop Angel. I had the sauerbraten and my friend had the beef sandwich and fries. We went for lunch and the server Tim was very friendly and efficient. He recommended their soup of the day which was spicy carrott soup. It was very tasty and the first time I ever had carrot soup. The beer selection is outstanding. Looking forward to going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beachboundeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“good beer good grub!”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I've never had a dish I didn't like there. The veggie of the day is always fantastic as is the soup of the day. Mostly German cuisine with quality pub food as well. The beers are the greatest and the bartenders and servers are top rate! Go, you'll like it.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraJM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“decent German food, great building, slow service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We go to this restaurant because it is near family in Fox Chase, open for Sunday brunch, and hospitable. The food is good, brunch entrees are the best. I like their take on eggs Benedict with a potato pancake instead of muffin. Unfortunately service is always slow. My husband likes the beer. The wine is okay.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lneufeldpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon Valley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food, Great beer”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

This is a nice, casual bar and restaurant. A good place to go on a Friday night after a tough week at work, or if you're visting friends in the area, and just want to go somewhere that's casual and comfortable.. They have a great beer selection, lots of beers that you won't find anywhere else. They serve both German food and American food. I've been here twice and have had the German food both times. It's good. I'll give the food a 3 out of 5. The service is extremely friendly and professional, and both the food and the drinks are priced reasonably. There's a parking lot in the back, so you don't have to worry about finding a spot on the street. I look forward to going back again.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hop Angel Brauhaus also viewed

 

Been to Hop Angel Brauhaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing