We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Daily Bread” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Pain Quotidien

Le Pain Quotidien
Ranked #477 of 4,318 Restaurants in Philadelphia
Cuisines: Cafe, French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: One of two Philadelphia locations. The other is at 8th and Walnut.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Daily Bread”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

We went every day we were on vacation. The breakfasts are fresh and flavorful, the jellies and assorted peanut butters are to die for. Give me coffee in a bowl and fresh veggies with my eggs and I'm sold!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MJ P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    28
    11
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape May, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Slipping?”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I ordered the Tuscan platter for the third time. I was thrilled the first time. The second time the sundried tomatoes had an odd chemical taste and I couldn't eat them. Today is it the same for the tomatoes. The ones I make and buy are so much cleaner tasting, so I am surprised about these here. Today my cheese has a refrigerator flavor meaning to me it wa cut yesterday or earlier. Yuck. The atmosphere is usually great but it is very hot in here today and everyone is complaining. They just say the air is on. I wonder if my favorite lunch place is slipping.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CapeMayDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent healthy lunch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The presentation was beautiful, ingredients were super fresh and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Coffee served in French style soup bowls! Nice bakery in-store too if you are on the run. Went to the one closest to the central Liberty Bell area.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lili R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the bread, the "jams" (including chocolate) and the oatmeal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is a lovely small restaurant (part of a chain) in the heart of downtown Philadelphia. My husband and I ordered the bread "basket" for $7.95 and had enough breads for two breakfasts at the restaurant PLUS two breakfasts at home. The variety of bread was amazing and everything was so fresh. The blueberry and apricot jams were delicious (I now realize how lousy the commercial brands are!) and there's a dark chocolate spread that's wonderful. Our daughter ordered the (steel cut) oatmeal with fruit and had her choice of having it prepared with milk or water. The place is decorated in a non-fussy French country style and the "host" and waitstaff were really helpful. I can hardly wait to go there again. I just wish they'd open up a restaurant in my hometown.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne_1172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Good quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

A very French place with a better service than in France (and I'm French ;0))
A bit pricey for breakfast but I liked the concept and the food.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Pain Quotidien also viewed

 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Le Pain Quotidien? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing