We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“So good!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bassetts Ice Cream

Bassetts Ice Cream
Ranked #3 of 87 Dessert in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“So good!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The ice cream was so good we went everyday we were in Philly. Great flavor sand really nice staff who were very free with the samples.

Helpful?
Thank Casey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    350
    108
    21
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadsworth, Ohio
Level Contributor
130 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Yummy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

We had a delicious ice cream cone just before leaving Philadelphia. The Gadzooks is delicious! Very creamy. A bit on the pricey side but it is in the terminal market.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank J M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
254 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Smooth creamy ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

We made a pit stop at reading terminal to check out this Philly institution My family and I had been walking around touring and were hot and need of something We wanted ice cream. You can tell the place is good by the line and boy was there a line. It moved quickly. I had fresh and creamy rum raisin. My son had peanut swirl which he devoured. All the ice cream is homemade.

The service is speedy and polite.

Helpful?
Thank Argusmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Ice Cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2014

This ice cream place is about 15 minutes from where I live and it is, by far, one of the best places in the area. I almost always get either chocolate or raspberry and they are always a great choice. I definitely recommend Bassetts to anyone visit the area or living in the area that has not been there yet.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carmen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impressive!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

My partner and I went to Reading Terminal to kill time before catching a flight to Florida. It was our first time there. He's difficult to impress and was hesitant at first when I suggested we try it but he got some rum raisin in a cone. They didn't have pistachio (my fave!) so I ordered a milkshake..?cant remember the flavor. He couldn't stop raving about the ice cream and my milkshake was so rich and creamy! Bassett's definitely lived up to the hype. This was a stand in the terminal and not a restaurant so it would be unfair for me to rate it as such. My only criticism was there was milk running done the side of my cup and the server made no attempt to clean it up before giving it to me. But we would definitely have it again. As a matter of fact, I'm getting ready to place an order for delivery!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bassetts Ice Cream also viewed

 

Been to Bassetts Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing