We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grim Philly & Carolina Rock”

Grim Philly Twilight Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
$25.00*
and up
Dark Philly Adult Night Tour
More Info
$29.00*
and up
RAW Culture: Ben Franklin Cheesesteak Tour
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Philadelphia Prohibition Pub Crawl
Ranked #2 of 250 Nightlife in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With a seedier R-Rated mature audience's aspect, Grim Philly reveals the less told, often bloody; sometimes embarrassing (grim) histories of our city through meticulously researched tours conducted by professors, authors, and young professionals. Ghost and vampire lore are explored, and language used by our guides is more than often not suitable for children or the prudish. A wide variety of topics include ghost hunting, serial killers, and gangsters to magick, Voodoo and brothels; riots, local pirates, and the Jersey Devil. Tours are offered by foot, tavern, and boat. Voted Best Philly tours and featured on Travel Chanel- we are open year round though offerings, hours, and departure change seasonally.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Grim Philly & Carolina Rock”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Did this tour on a recommendation from the visitor centre and it was amazing, our tour guide Carolina was amazing she was the perfect guide. I didn't even want to learn about normal history after this tour. Thanks Carolina you were the highlight of Philly! Your Aussie friends Bec & Nikkii

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jedibec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrimPhillyXXX, Owner at Grim Philly Twilight Tours, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Bec; Nikkii- Thank you so much for your kind words about Carolina, & our tour! I'm always excited to see when someone else shares in our interest for the macabre and unusual. Life would, I think, be a bore without it- and it certainly adds to the zest of the experience! If ever you find yourselves back on this side of the pond please look us up, and you can always keep up with the Grim (Grim Philly Twilight Tours) on FB in the meantime! Thanks again! Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    355
    72
    29
    15
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“one of the best "turn over the rock" tours I've been on, and I've done them in 4 continents and dozens of cities.”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

great look into philly's dark side. The guide (carolyn?) was a great presenter and really seemed to know her stuff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank marc w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GrimPhillyXXX, Owner at Grim Philly Twilight Tours, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Hi Marc- your review means a lot, particularly being as it seems you'd done a good bit of traveling as I have myself. I'd actually created our tours around my personal and eclectically different sense of what the perfect tour should be- the kind I'd wanted always to take in the various cities across Europe and America I'd traveled to, but had been rarely able to find. ...Something later on in the day, academically based, but with the feel more for entertainment, and definitely different and not geared to the children in any way. Any tour experience, too, is reliant in equal measure on the material and the guide presenting it. Carolina is our newest addition; a grad student at Penn, brilliant and an absolute delight! She'll go far, and we are lucky to have her! If you ever find yourself back in Philly come on out for another one of our tour varieties if you can make it! Thanks again! Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent and interesting”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

A few coworkers and I took this tour (the Vampires, Sex, and Ghosts tour) with the main guide as a team-building excursion. At first, I rolled my eyes at the thought of another on-foot city tour, which generally tend to be lame. However, this tour was thoroughly interesting. I've been through Old City Philly quite a few times, but to learn of the "grim" history of the area was both a shock and pleasure. Our guide was extremely knowledgable, engaging, and enthusiastic. He touched on the commonly known history of the area, such as Washington Square Park's communal burial lot, and then expanded on it with gruesome, lesser-known details that both shocked and thrilled our group. Our guide's presentation was more conversation-like rather than lecture, but the content of the tales he told left our group silent in anticipation of the next detail. From an eye-opening explanation of the berth of bankruptcy law, to the origin of the term "beaver" (yes, THAT beaver), to an unexpected link between Philadelphia and the infamous Black Beard, the tour was both informational and entertaining. As others have stated, the tour only briefly mentioned ghosts and vampires, but as a sceptic of both and as a person un-entertained by either, I was pleasantly relieved our guide focused more on actual, factual history rather than folk lore. In short, I can't recommend this tour enough. Grim Philly is a tour through history with a flair for what the city wishes would wash away down the Delaware.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Eddie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Grim Philly Bootleggers Ball!”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Joe and Adam are awsomely funny. Take the tour and you will see a side of philly you've never seen. Historical and fun. Its historically acurate and unbelievablly funny

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank christabell2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enon, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Fun with Vampires, Sex and Ghosts”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Two friends and I went to Philadelphia to have a girls' fun weekend. We took the Vampires, Sex and Ghosts Tour with guide Carolina. It was her first night to guide, and she did an excellent time. She was knowledgeable, humorous, and enthusiastic. She made the evening well worth the time and money. I would definitely recommend the tour, and be sure to ask to go with Carolina!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank mdonnellan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grim Philly Twilight Tours also viewed

 

Been to Grim Philly Twilight Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing