We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming and Great Value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #20 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming and Great Value”
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Just returned from spending 2 nights at this charming property in a great location just off Rittenhouse Square (literally 1/2 block off the square). Everything is lovely, the staff are friendly and helpful and our room was very quiet and, though small, had everything we were looking for including a very nice bathroom with a large walk-in shower. Each room is decorated differently so you're not staying in a cookie cutter environment. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room faced a little alley in the back, but even the front facing rooms are on a quiet street so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Cathy W,

Thank you very much for finding us to be charming and a great value. We are quite proud of the fact that neither our rooms nor our staff are “cookie-cutter,” as we all have our own uniqueness that provides a more personalized experience.

Our location near Rittenhouse Square does offer a lot of options for restaurants, shopping, and museums, which is ideal. We are glad that you appreciated that as well.

Please be sure to give us a call the next time you’re in Philadelphia. We would love for you to stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    138
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
275
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2014

This was a great place to stay for several days in Philly. It's so close to the square and all the nearby shopping, restaurants and bars. For being in the middle of everything it was very quiet. I never heard any traffic noise or other hotel guests. The staff were attentive, but not overly so. I had help while having trouble with the wi-fi, and Alyssa responded promptly when I requested ice and a plastic bag to nurse a bad knee. I was never in the hotel for the complimentary wine, so can't attest to that. The room was very nice...not over-the-top, but comfortable and roomy. I'd easily stay here again.

Room Tip: A room closer to the back is probably a little quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pigeonherder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear Pigeonherder,

Thank you for your compliments about our hotel and our staff. It is a blessing that we are so close to everything, yet in a very quiet location. Alyssa is definitely an asset to the hotel, and I often hear kind words spoken about her from other guests as well.

Please give us a call if you’ll be able to stay with us again. Hopefully you will have time to relax in the evening with a glass of wine during the reception hour!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We were somewhat disappointed to find this hotel was not on the square,
but on a side street which is still called Rittenhouse
Sq.Street. After we got over the disappointment of not find our selves on the square, we found the hotel quite charming, and staffed by a most helpful, friendly, and caring staff. They really are the best! Each room has Molton Brown products in the bath room. The towels are fluffy white, there are good shades to keep out the sunlight if one wants to sleep in, and white wine is served in the lovely sitting room in the early evening. The breakfast room, thought it is in the basement,is delightfully decorated, and the continental breakfast offerings(all complimentary) were wonderful.....even elegant. It would be nice if the air conditioning could be controlled from the room, one can call the front desk to have it turned off completely, but not part way which seems a rather drastic. The rooms we and our friends had were on the top floor, thus quiet, but somewhat somber....though tasteful.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor....so it was quiet, though there wasn`t much of a view. Our friend stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank citycat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, August 3, 2014
Dear citycat66,

We appreciate your kind words about our hotel and breakfast. It is true that we are not on Rittenhouse Square itself, but we are still very close by! Thank you very much for your incredibly kind words about our staff; we all do what we can to make everyone’s stay as enjoyable as possible.

I am sorry that the air conditioning was too cold for you during your stay. As one of our buildings has a central air system that is controlled in the hallway of each floor, it is the case for 10 of our rooms that the air conditioning isn’t able to be controlled from the room. However, most of the windows in the rooms of our hotel are able to be opened to provide fresh air and can help to neutralize the temperature. Additionally, we do have 13 other rooms where the air conditioning is able to be controlled from the room. Hopefully, if you’re able to come back, you’ll be able to try one of those!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2014

An extensive container garden display spanning the 3 townhouse facades that comprise the 1715 Rittenhouse Inn is the first hint of its charm. Inside, the lobby feels a bit like a large English country estate. Inside one is met with an old world patina and a prompt and genuine welcome from an innkeeper who is so professional you might think her to be the owner. Our room was large and pleasant with the usual amenities including a comfortable bed, plasma TV, marble shower and bathrobes. A peek inside other rooms as they were being cleaned showed that all are different. A continental breakfast is included in the base room price but be aware that it follows the strict definition, meaning no protein. Eggs and other items can be ordered from the menu. Excellent fruit smoothies and green juices are also available from the menu. Rittenhouse Square is close to excellent shopping and French-style sidewalk cafes. A tiny single drawback is a very thin wall in the bathroom of room 220 which allows TV from the adjoining room to be heard.

Room Tip: Hotel is very quiet. Some ambient noise from next room in room 220.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kimberly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear Kimberly T,

Thank you very much for your kind words about our flower display. The flowers were hand-picked and displayed by one of the owners, who takes a lot of a pride in what she has cultivated.

It is true that all of our rooms are unique and include different amenities. We are glad that you found yours to be comfortable and pleasant, though I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise from another room, as this is generally a quiet property.

Our continental breakfast does incorporate a lot of breads, pastries, cereals, and fruit, however we do have yogurt parfaits available as a source of protein, and as you mention, we do have eggs and other hot breakfast items available for purchase. We are pleased to hear that you found the fresh-squeezed juices and smoothies to be excellent.

We hope that you will think of us the next time that you return to Philadelphia, as there are 22 other rooms for you to try!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014

We can highly recommend this delightful hotel, in a particularly attractive part of central Philadelphia. It is small, peaceful, very clean, stylish and run with efficiency and care by the most helpful of staff. Highlights for us included the complementary breakfast each morning, and a wine reception each evening in a period drawing-room setting.
For those looking for "old-fashioned charm" in the heart of a busy city centre, this can`t be bettered!

Room Tip: Even the "Standard" room, which we had, was of top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimandJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 31, 2014
Dear JimandJennifer,

We sincerely appreciate that you find our hotel to be of top quality, as that is always our aim. It is great to hear that you found your room to be peaceful, stylish, and clean and the staff to be helpful, charming, and efficient, as those are the most important qualities for a hotel to have. We are pleased that you enjoyed the nightly wine reception and complimentary continental breakfast as well!

If you happen to come back to Philadelphia, we hope that you will be able to stay with us again!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Be sure you know where you are staying as our taxi driver took us to the big hotel on the square!
Rittenhouse 1715 is a great little hotel tucked away around the corner from Parc a great restaurant on the corner of the square. Reception is friendly, rooms are a bit quirky and ours was a bit dark, but it is a great change from big chain hotels and the location is great, literally no minutes walk from the main streets. Breakfast is good and they offer a complimentary wine service early evening. We are going back and staying there again in August.

Room Tip: Our room was spacious but a bit dark and a little old fashioned, but we liked the character and it w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisandVeronica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ChrisandVeronica,

We do have a fabulous location, it’s true. Very few other places are so close to main streets, yet so quiet as well. Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff and the hotel. We pride ourselves on providing a much different and more personal experience than any of the chain hotels. Our layout, decor, and character are definitely unique; we are a building of three town-homes that were converted to one larger building, with hand-picked furnishings from myriad sources.

We are very glad to hear that you will be returning in August. We have twenty-two other rooms for you to try! Please do not hesitate to contact us directly if you have any questions prior to your return. Until then!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Located right at Rittenhouse Square, the hotel is a very nice boutique property. From here you can walk about a mile and a half to the historic Constitution area or a little over a mile in the other direction to the Barnes Foundation.

There are many great restaurants in the area, as well—check out Alma de Cuba, which we thought was delicious.

Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious, and quiet. There is no refrigerator in the room, but the front desk staff will keep wine or other items for you in the hotel kitchen. The hotel has free wi-fi but we found it to be quite spotty.

The hotel will also direct you to covered parking nearby at a better rate than the parking which is directly adjacent to the hotel.

The evening “wine tasting” sadly consists of only Chardonnay wine, which many people don’t like. It would be nice to have more of a selection including Sauvignon Blanc.

The included continental breakfast is very adequate, with nice pastries, yogurt, fruits, coffee. However, you are offered additional (overpriced) selections from a menu including fresh squeezed juice and freshly prepared egg dishes. Frankly, for the price of the hotel, I feel that the additional breakfast items should be included for no additional cost. Even if the room rate were raised a little bit, it would just add to the overall nice feeling of the hotel if one did not have to pay more for the extra breakfast items, especially at the prices charged.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and received one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ssgtravel,

Our location and proximity to restaurants is certainly a part of our appeal. We appreciate your kind words about your room. As we have someone on site 24 hours a day, it is no trouble for us to store any items in the refrigerator and retrieve them for guests at any time. I am sorry that you experienced spotty WiFi service during your stay. After your departure, our IT personnel upgraded our wireless capabilities and we have stronger WiFi than we ever have before.

We do change the selection at our wine reception periodically, so perhaps the next time you stay with us, we will have white wines other than Chardonnay. (For example, this week we are serving a Sauvignon Blanc.) It is true that we do only serve one type of wine per evening, and it is a good suggestion to provide alternatives for guests who may not enjoy the selection for that particular evening.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast. As for the paid breakfast items, we understand that not every guest is interested in having that sort of option, and would not want them to have to pay for the extra service if they do not wish to. Our breakfast prices are such as they are because we source the ingredients from local and smaller vendors, which are more expensive than regular vendors, but also fresher and better quality.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
789 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing