We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We liked it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #14 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
nj
Level Contributor
197 reviews
149 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
“We liked it”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

Located right at Rittenhouse Square, the hotel is a very nice boutique property. From here you can walk about a mile and a half to the historic Constitution area or a little over a mile in the other direction to the Barnes Foundation.

There are many great restaurants in the area, as well—check out Alma de Cuba, which we thought was delicious.

Our room was very nicely decorated, spacious, and quiet. There is no refrigerator in the room, but the front desk staff will keep wine or other items for you in the hotel kitchen. The hotel has free wi-fi but we found it to be quite spotty.

The hotel will also direct you to covered parking nearby at a better rate than the parking which is directly adjacent to the hotel.

The evening “wine tasting” sadly consists of only Chardonnay wine, which many people don’t like. It would be nice to have more of a selection including Sauvignon Blanc.

The included continental breakfast is very adequate, with nice pastries, yogurt, fruits, coffee. However, you are offered additional (overpriced) selections from a menu including fresh squeezed juice and freshly prepared egg dishes. Frankly, for the price of the hotel, I feel that the additional breakfast items should be included for no additional cost. Even if the room rate were raised a little bit, it would just add to the overall nice feeling of the hotel if one did not have to pay more for the extra breakfast items, especially at the prices charged.

We will definitely stay here again if we return to Philadelphia.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room and received one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ssgtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear ssgtravel,

Our location and proximity to restaurants is certainly a part of our appeal. We appreciate your kind words about your room. As we have someone on site 24 hours a day, it is no trouble for us to store any items in the refrigerator and retrieve them for guests at any time. I am sorry that you experienced spotty WiFi service during your stay. After your departure, our IT personnel upgraded our wireless capabilities and we have stronger WiFi than we ever have before.

We do change the selection at our wine reception periodically, so perhaps the next time you stay with us, we will have white wines other than Chardonnay. (For example, this week we are serving a Sauvignon Blanc.) It is true that we do only serve one type of wine per evening, and it is a good suggestion to provide alternatives for guests who may not enjoy the selection for that particular evening.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the continental breakfast. As for the paid breakfast items, we understand that not every guest is interested in having that sort of option, and would not want them to have to pay for the extra service if they do not wish to. Our breakfast prices are such as they are because we source the ingredients from local and smaller vendors, which are more expensive than regular vendors, but also fresher and better quality.

Thank you very much for your feedback and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    136
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
274
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Enjoyed a week stay in June 2014. Found 1715 Rittenhouse on an amazingly quiet street in a restaurant rich section of walkable Philadelphia.
What we liked:
1. Hotel was quiet.
2. Bed was comfortable and bath was well appointed. Loved the room door's cipher lock...no key needed!
3. Continental breakfast was plentiful: fresh baked bread, local jams, pastries, apples & bananas, yogurt/granola/fruit parfaits, and coffee & tea.
4. Front desk 24/7 was always willing to dispense information and advice about Philly.
5. Coffee and tea available 24/7 in breakfast area.
What we did not like:
1. WiFi was spotty, never had a strong signal. There was a Netgear router in our hallway so a source was near. Hotel front desk provided a different source but that only worked for a couple of days. Perhaps WiFi boosters in the rooms would strengthen the signal.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OH_Traveler3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear OH_Traveler3,

I apologize that the WiFi was spotty! Our IT personnel upgraded our WiFi capabilities during the month of June, and now our signal strength is better than ever all throughout the property.

We are very pleased that you found the hotel to be quiet, comfortable, and well-appointed. All of those things are very important to us, as they are the hallmarks of a quality hotel room. We are also very happy that you liked our continental breakfast and found our staff to be willing and helpful.

We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ambler, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The location was great and our room was adequate. Overall the whole stay was nice and we enjoyed the many things to do nearby. I would rate this a 7 out of 10 for botique hotels. The only complaint would be the pillows, not comfortable to me at all, invest in new pillows Rittenhouse

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Dee Q,

We are glad that you enjoyed everything that our location has to offer and that you enjoyed your stay.

I am sorry that you did not find the pillows to be comfortable. We have multiple types of pillows available, some of which are filled with down feathers, and others which are filled with down alternatives and are a little firmer, because we're aware that pillows are an important aspect of sleep and want to provide options that suit everyone. If the Front Desk had been aware that your pillows were uncomfortable, we certainly would have brought you different ones.

I hope that you will be able to stay with us during your next stay in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Best part about the hotel was its location, right off Rittenhouse square with easy access to some of the best restaurants and shopping in the city. Staff was also a positive, welcoming and responsive. The hotel itself has a charming quality, with older/antique decor. Definitely some signs of wear and tear in our room (cracked bathroom tiles and ripped drapes), but decently maintained essentially large home with bedrooms turned into guest rooms. Negative was that for the price, the room we received was on the small and dark side…seemed like it was not even a queen bed, but a full. We spotted other larger standard rooms and suites however, so possibly the luck of the draw - we didn't asked to switch, room was just large enough for 2. Our room was near the stairs too, where we could hear passers by. Might want to ask for larger room/away from stairs if available. Also didn't love the bedding - thin, rough sheets and relatively thinly padded mattress…not quite that comfort feel. The morning breakfast is offered till 11A, which was great - in a super cutely decorated dining area of the hotel, the epitome of B&B charm. Selection of dry cereals, pastries, yogurt parfaits and fruit. Hot selections are extra...and overpriced. Better bet to walk to the park and try out any of the many options there if going that route.

In summary - don't expect a luxury stay. But for a very cute B&B weekend not of the standard hotel variety, its a good option…location adds to the price value.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TToy123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear TToy23,

We are very pleased to hear that you considered your stay with us to be great. It is true that we are in a fabulous location and incredibly close to some of the best restaurants and shopping in the city. Also, we appreciate your compliments about our staff and our continental breakfast. We do offer the complimentary continental breakfast from 7:30am until 10am during the week, and from 7:30am until 11am on Saturdays and Sundays.

I am very sorry to hear that you found your room to be lacking. All of our rooms that have queen-sized beds do in fact have queen-sized beds; the pillowtop mattresses are slightly rounded which can make the bed seem smaller than it actually is. Our rooms are all uniquely decorated, so even rooms of the same room type can feel very different. If we had been made aware that you were unhappy with the room, we certainly would have remedied the situation. If you would like to stay with us again, please be sure to contact us directly, as all of our Front Desk Agents are intimately familiar with the rooms, and can assist with finding a room that will suit your preferences.

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 28, 2014

I normally take my family to 5 star resorts, and I am frequent guest of hotels such as the four seasons, the Ritz, and the One and Only. This time I opted to try a boutique hotel off of Rittenhouse Square and of the many options, I was taken with the photos on the Rittenhouse 1715 website. These photos are accurate, it is an absolutely charming and exquisite space. The staff upon calling for an early check immediately treated me with the utmost care. My welcome was sincere and gracious by staff who appeared to be very proud to be working there. I immediately felt I was being welcomed home to my "city carriage house". This is not a hotel that feels run by a corporation. I felt I could be in jolly old England in the time of Charles Dickens and Benjamin Franklin (with flat screen tv, fine linens, luxury shampoos, fireplaces, and beautiful framed one of a kind paintings that make you feel like a king and queen). The presidential suite is not to be missed. It's charm is beyond description. I fly from SF to Philadelphia every year at this time, and I'm so excited to have found this place. I'll never stay anywhere else in Phila but here.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Karen Y,

Thank you so much for your kind words about our staff. We are truly honored by your compliments. Our greatest goal is making our guests feel “welcomed home” and are thrilled that we’ve succeeded. It is true that we are not a chain hotel, and work hard to be distinctive and to let the personality of our staff and the property itself shine through.

We are also very pleased that you were charmed by our Presidential Suite and all of the amenities that it has to offer, such as Molton Brown toiletries and Frette linens. We can’t wait for you and your family to return next year! Until then!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
185 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Just completed a very short stay here. The front desk staff were excellent overall. They knew I would arrive very late and had everything ready to go as soon as I got in.
The room I stayed in was decently sized (will comfortably fit two people). Everything was working. Bed was comfortable. Wi-fi worked well (provided free).
The bathroom door is translucent (only matters if you have someone other than a spouse or a close friend/family staying with you).
My room had a shower stall with a hand-held as well as a rainshower. Water pressure was acceptable.
Molton Brown toiletries were provided. I personally liked the fragrance.
Breakfast is also included in the rate. The (free) breakfast consists of cereal, fruit, yogurt (parfait), coffee, pastries. One can order a hot breakfast for extra charge.

Check-in/check-out was easy.
The location (Rittenhouse square).is actually very good in my opinion. It is very close to most of the downtown sights / restaurants, etc.
I will return if I get the opportunity.

I will return again if I get an opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank snod73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear snod73,

Thank you very much for your compliments about our staff and the ease of checking in and checking out. We do have someone available 24 hours a day to assist with late arrivals, early departures, and any requests that arise during a guest’s stay.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your room. Our housekeeping and maintenance staff work very hard to make sure that everything is working well and comfortably in all areas of the hotel. A lot of guests appreciate the Molton Brown amenities, and we are glad that you did as well.

We look forward to your return the next time you are in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed here based on all of the reviews and the hotel description. We were under the impression that this was a boutique historic hotel. Our experience was that of a large bed and breakfast. The sheets, bed, and pillows were all uncomfortable. The room was a little run down and mismatched. There was no bathtub. No coffee in the room. And to add insult to injury our room was at the base of the staircase so we had the distinct pleasure of listening to everyone's coming and goings. The wine reception was hot Chardonnay and peanuts. The hotel itself is located on an obscure side street, however the overall location is great. We were expecting a boutique, upscale hotel. Overall, really disappointing & unrestfull experience.

Room Tip: This is a large bed and breakfast. The classification of boutique hotel is misleading.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaberger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Aaberger,

I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed by our hotel. If our front desk staff had been made aware that you were not pleased with the location, lack of bathtub, and condition of your room, we certainly would have done our best to rectify the situation. Some of our rooms have bathtubs, while others have walk-in glass showers, to try and suit everyone’s preferences. We do have coffee and tea available 24 hours a day that our front desk staff is more than willing to bring to guests’ rooms. It is true that we did begin as a 6-room bed and breakfast in 1999, but with expansions and upgrades, we became a 23-room boutique hotel in 2007, and 23 rooms is considered too large to be a bed and breakfast. We hope that you will reconsider staying with us the next time you’re in Philadelphia. Please contact us directly so that we are able to find the right room for your needs.

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
780 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,925 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing