We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third time still a charm!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
249 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Third time still a charm!”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

I've stayed at Rittenhouse 1715 twice before with my husband and brought my mom back this year for Mother's Day. She was speechless after a wonderful weekend at the inn. It is charming, elegant, and seems even smaller than it is; the staff pays close attention to your needs. The rooms are gorgeous (we've been lucky enough to stay in the Presidential Suite each visit) with beautiful furnishings and marble bathrooms. That suite even has a chandelier, spiral staircase and two story windows. It is also very reasonably priced!

In the evening, there is a hosted wine hour, and the staff is so attentive, that if you'd prefer to have wine if your room, they will bring you a glass! Similarly we had hot tea delivered up one afternoon, which was complimentary! Breakfast is served (included in room rate) in the downstairs dining area, which is incredibly charming and served on beautiful china.

It's always hard to leave! Definitely the best option in Philly!

Room Tip: Splurge on the Presidential Suite! If it is not booked when you arrive, you may be able to upgrade f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank courtney9384
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2014
Dear TravelForLife84,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel, particularly about our staff. One of the primary tenets of Rittenhouse 1715 is Five-Heart Service, an ideal which we all strive to achieve. Our Presidential Suite is one of a kind, and we are pleased that you've been able to enjoy it for multiple special occasions.

We also appreciate your compliments about our breakfast. Our complimentary continental breakfast is very good, and we are glad that you agree. Perhaps the next time you visit, you will be able to enjoy one of our chef-prepared items or fresh-squeezed juices and smoothies, which are available to be ordered from an a la carte menu. Until next time!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    137
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
274
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Smithtown, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I was visiting Philadelphia for business and found the 1715 Rittenhouse Hotel, which is near the downtown area business area and just off Rittenhouse Square on a quiet street. The hotel is excellent, with well appointed rooms, beautifully redone marble bath (large walk-in shower with rain head and european handheld shower heads), which reminds of The Pierre in NYC. The hotel is tranquil and Daniel and the rest of the staff were delightful and fantastic. They went out of their way to accommodate my needs. They have complimentary wine in the early evening in a side salon. They also have a little outdoor area in the back and couple of chairs on the sidewalk out front, so we decided to have the wine outside on the sidewalk. As we were walking out the front door with out glasses of wine, the assistant at the desk stopped us, told us we could get in trouble for public drinking and ran and got us a couple of mugs for our "tea".
There is also a small complimentary breakfast and free wifi and a parking lot directly across the street. I will be returning to Philadelphia for business regularly and will not even bother to explore anywhere else to stay. It is a great hotel for business travelers as well as couples or a group of friends. Rittenhouse Square is a lively area of the city; City Hall is a 10 minute walk and even the historic district is not far and a very pleasant walk.

Room Tip: I was on the third floor and walked the stairs all the time and peeked a few of the other rooms - I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljsamson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear ljsamson,

We are pleased to hear that you were able to achieve tranquility while staying with us. That is one of the highest compliments that a hotel can receive! Thank you very much for your compliments about our bathrooms; we do have a mix of rooms with the walk-in shower with rainfall showerhead and with a bathtub/shower combination to suit all of our guests’ preferences.

While it is convenient, we do not recommend the open parking lot across the street; they do not have 24 hour security and their rates are very high. We have a list of nearby garages that are indoor and staffed 24 hours a day, with better rates as well.

We do try to be the ideal place for business, romance, and leisure travelers, and are glad that you find that we would meet your needs in all of those circumstances. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

I spent one night at this nice victorian hotel and I wish it had been more nights! Bedroom was vey clean, bathroom well supplied with fine amenities. The staff are very friendly and welcoming, ready to assist with anything. Breakfast is served in real china! What a pleasure. I will be back. Located within walking distance to many city attractions, great restaurants and business area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear Clo S,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel! We are pleased to hear that you appreciated the cleanliness of the room and Molton Brown amenities in the bathroom. When you plan to come back, please be sure to call us directly, so that our staff can continue to assist you in any way that we can. We hope to see you again soon!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2014

My husband and I recently spent our 27th wedding anniversary in Philadelphia where we experienced excellent service and hospitality at 1715 Rittenhouse Square Hotel. Centrally located in a vibrant district known as the French Quarter, we were directed to some of the finest cuisine, shopping and tourist attractions all within easy walking distance. Our room was spacious, clean, QUIET and very comfortable. Daily housekeeping and nightly turndown service was appreciated. The front desk staff were warm, welcoming, gave us excellent restaurant suggestions and took the initiative to book our reservations for us. The breakfast room is charming and provided a full menu of hot and cold carefully prepared selections, prompt and friendly service. Plus lots of good strong coffee on offer. We thank the staff and the City of Philadelphia for a memorable holiday.

Room Tip: We were in room 307 which was very quiet and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 25, 2014
Dear Anne T.,
Thank you for choosing to spend your anniversary with us! We appreciate all of your kind comments about your room and service. Our housekeeping, cafe, and front desk staff work passionately to make sure that all of our guests are taken care of in the best way possible. Additionally, we pride ourselves on having such a quiet location while still being in the middle of everything, and are pleased that you feel the same way. We hope that you will be able to come back to Philadelphia soon!
Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2014

My wife and I attended two graduation ceremonies in Philadelphia and needed a place to stay near downtown and I came up with Rittenhouse 1715 on Tripadvisor. It is small and on a side street, but what that gave us was no street noise. It is easy walking distance to city center and has very convenient parking a block or two away. It is well appointed and gracious.
What makes this hotel a value is the staff. From the moment we arrived they were friendly and helpful. They gave us the feeling that whatever we might want they could provide.
This is truly a "boutique" hotel.
Thank you.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jerry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Jerry T,
Thank you very much for your compliments about our staff. We do try our best to be friendly, helpful, and provide everything that our guests desire. We also appreciate that you enjoyed our location. We are very happy that we are in the center of things, but don’t have to suffer the street noise that usually comes with being in an urban location.
We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!
Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I got to stay here using Hotel Tonight (iPhone app that gives you day of deals at hotels). So my savings was great. The staff was so very friendly and the breakfast downstairs is so cute. It's close by to all of the historic points of interest, I walked everywhere. I definitely would recommend this hotel to everyone and stay here again! One night was not enough!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HilaryWyckoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Hilary W.,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to the staff. It’s important for all of us to be as friendly and helpful as we possibly can. We are very glad that you were able to partake in our breakfast options and experience our neighborhood as well. We hope the next time that you stay with us will be longer than one night as well; Philadelphia has a lot to offer, and we’d like for you have enough time to enjoy it.
Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Rittenhouse 1715, and it was hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff was friendly and helpful (calling twice before our visit, to see if there was anything we needed), the room was spacious, lovely and quiet, and the location was perfect. It was exactly the sort of hotel I've always wanted - it really felt like going home at night. They get all the little details right, from the Frette linens to the yogurt parfaits at breakfast. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AMRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear AMRowley,

Thank you so much for noticing the little details that we provide to make our guests feel welcome. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, location, and rooms. We are so thrilled to hear that you consider us the best hotel you’ve ever stayed at, and that you felt like you were home. Looking forward to seeing you the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
782 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,943 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing