We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #28 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 14, 2014

I got to stay here using Hotel Tonight (iPhone app that gives you day of deals at hotels). So my savings was great. The staff was so very friendly and the breakfast downstairs is so cute. It's close by to all of the historic points of interest, I walked everywhere. I definitely would recommend this hotel to everyone and stay here again! One night was not enough!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HilaryWyckoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear Hilary W.,
Thank you for your kind words about our hotel, especially in regards to the staff. It’s important for all of us to be as friendly and helpful as we possibly can. We are very glad that you were able to partake in our breakfast options and experience our neighborhood as well. We hope the next time that you stay with us will be longer than one night as well; Philadelphia has a lot to offer, and we’d like for you have enough time to enjoy it.
Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 568 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2014

My husband and I just spent four nights at the Rittenhouse 1715, and it was hands-down the best hotel I've ever stayed at. The staff was friendly and helpful (calling twice before our visit, to see if there was anything we needed), the room was spacious, lovely and quiet, and the location was perfect. It was exactly the sort of hotel I've always wanted - it really felt like going home at night. They get all the little details right, from the Frette linens to the yogurt parfaits at breakfast. We can't wait to return!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMRowley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2014

Dear AMRowley,

Thank you so much for noticing the little details that we provide to make our guests feel welcome. We greatly appreciate your kind words about our staff, location, and rooms. We are so thrilled to hear that you consider us the best hotel you’ve ever stayed at, and that you felt like you were home. Looking forward to seeing you the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Rittenhouse 1715 (not to be confused with the Rittenhouse hotel) is a cosy Englishsyle B&B in an old-fashioned mansion located in a quiet alley just aside of Rittenhouse square, in the homonymous district. Philadelphia centre is relatively small, so you are a few minutes away from the City Hall and JFK Plaza, and Walnut boutiques & shopping. The historic district is also 5 minutes by taxi and about 3/4 miles (8 blocks away, 20 minutes slow walk on foot).
The junior suite with fireplace was perfect for our spring stay. The continental breakfast in the basement is nice and good tasting, though more fresh fruits would be welcome (freshly pressed juices, as well as cooked breakfast are à la carte, reasonably priced though not cheap).
The wifi (complimentary) in our room (junior suite first floor) was really good only near the entrance door. Nearer or stronger access points should be installed to allow navigation in the bedroom.

Room Tip: The junior suite was just perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dharmamaster61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2014

Dear dharmamaster61,

Thank you very much for your compliments about our Junior Suite, location, and breakfast. We are absolutely thrilled that you consider us your home in Philadelphia and look forward to your return! It is important for us to be able to provide a good breakfast for all of our guests, so we appreciate that you enjoyed our continental breakfast options, and as the weather gets warmer and more fruit becomes in season, we will have more fresh fruits available.

We are aware that the WiFi capabilities in the hotel were lacking, as it is difficult for the signals to pass through brick walls, and have increased the speed and service of our WiFi throughout the hotel since your departure. We hope that you will see the improvement during your next stay.

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2014

Very pretty Georgian style building in a quiet lane way just off the main shopping and business area. No parking on site but they recommend a parking garage 5 minutes walk which was fine.The young couple managing the property were delightful and very attentive. Our room was comfortable, well appointed. Bathroom was very functional and had everything. There is a charming intimate library with a fireplace for evening wine hour provided by the hotel which was a lovely way to meet other guests. Lots of good places to eat nearby. The breakfast room and food were excellent. Would definitely recommend to travellers who prefer boutique hotel style at a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greengreta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear iloveolives,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the hotel and neighborhood. We love that our hotel is on such a nice quiet street. It can be a little difficult to find at first, but it’s wonderful to be so close to the action of the city (and great restaurants!) without all of the noise.

We are very pleased that you found your room to be comfortable and that the food at breakfast was excellent. We have often been told that the wine reception is a great way to meet other guests, and are glad that was the case for you.

The hotel owners, Jarred and Carol, are wonderful and we are happy that you had the chance to meet them. They are both are in the hotel frequently, and love to interact with guests as well.
We hope to see you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

First, the wonderful aspects of the hotel. The staff met us at our car when we pulled up to the hotel and were quite kind and caring throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom (though small) was updated and attractive, and the breakfast was simple but all that was needed (e.g., toast, coffee, cereal, yogurt). The neighborhood is attractive, quiet, walkable, and feels quite safe.

Now, the disappointed aspects. When we first walked into our Rittenhouse Suite, we felt immediately let down. When I had spoken with a staff member to reserve the room, she had clearly stated the Rittenhouse Suite was on "two floors." It was not; it was on one floor. The decor of the room was tired and out of date with heavy draperies complete with 100 pom-poms and worn carpet. The walls were an unattractive dijon yellow and the bedspread an unattractive brown. The bathroom with its squeaky pocket door was within an arm's length from the bed so it was not possible to use it without waking one's spouse. The room was warm and stuffy and though we had the air conditioning on as high as it could go, it did not cool down the room. And I suppose this is being a bit nitpicky, but a second bar of soap would have been nice. Not that it was difficult to open the glass shower door, walk into the shower, retrieve the soap, and bring it back to the sink, just inconvenient.

However, in spite of this, because the staff was so very friendly, we had decided we would stay here again, but perhaps in a $150-200 small room on the third floor since the Rittenhouse Suite was not worth its hefty $450 price tag (including tax). But a few days after we returned home, we realized we left our cell phone charger in the room. I called and they indeed had the charger. I was surprised they did not let us know that we left it behind, but nonetheless, they were willing to mail it to us for a charge of $25. This seemed a bit expensive. When we had left objects behind at other hotels over the years, from Residence Inns to the Four Seasons, usually they call or email us to let us know and either ship it for free or perhaps for the exact shipping cost of $8 or so. The charge of $25 left us feeling cheated, and so this was the item in the "con" column that tipped the scale in favor of trying another property next time we are in Philly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank stella99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2014

Dear Stella99,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff, comfortable bed, and cleanliness. All of our staff, from housekeeping to the front desk and beyond do our best to make our guests feel at home and comfortable. We are especially heartened to hear that our service would have brought you back to our hotel even if you were not entirely pleased with your stay. We wish we would have known that you would have liked a second bar of soap; we would have brought one to the room for you. We know that lots of guests like to use body wash, so we have body wash and soap in every room to offer both options to our guests, but will bring extras of any of our Molton Brown amenities to all of our guests upon request.

We apologize for the staff member that made the mistake in stating that the Rittenhouse Suite was on two floors. We do have a Presidential Suite that is on two floors, and that may be where the confusion stemmed from. Our decor is a mixture of traditional and contemporary design blended throughout the hotel and each room is unique. Also, at this time of year, it can be difficult to gauge whether air conditioning or heat is necessary, as the weather changes day-to-day. If we had known that the room was stuffy, we would have done what we could have to make you more comfortable.

The reason why you did not receive a call regarding the phone charger is because housekeeping did not find one in the room after your departure. When you had called to locate your charger, as a gesture of goodwill, we had offered to send an extra one that we had at the hotel. The quoted rate of $25 was an estimate for UPS shipping charges, which is how we ship all of our packages. (We have found them to be more reliable that the USPS.) However, UPS bills at a one-pound minimum for any packages. We do quote on the high end, so that if the charges billed to us by UPS are never higher than those quoted to guests.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again. We have someone available 24 hours a day to assist with any questions you may have.

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

When you walk in you feel like you are walking into a old home on a quaint street in Philadelphia. The front door is along a side street (Rittenhouse) right off of the part.
Daniel and his staff took care of us night and day. The room was warm and they brought us a fan when we asked. They knew the area--everything was within walking distance and what wasn't was by subway if you chose. Public Transportation by bus was also seen around the city.
We were in the city for an education conference and asked many questions of all of the staff at the hotel--they were all extremely helpful. The hotel is clean, quaint, offers a free continental breakfast, and a complimentary small wine reception each night.
Before we arrived, the staff called twice to make sure they would have our accommodations as we needed a cot due to a last minute booking for the conference.
The hotel is extremely charming and every room is different with little "unique" touches throughout the hotel.
If visiting Philly for the first time or going back---I highly recommend this quaint, clean, totally accommodating, and wonderfully staffed hotel. They even turn down your bed at night and leave a complimentary chocolate!
It was a gem of a find for our stay in the city.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the third floor---your view is a bit more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cinderella2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear cinderella2all,

It is true that all of our rooms are unique; we try to have something available to suit everyone’s tastes. Our aim is to accommodate our guests in every way, and we are pleased that we were able to answer all of your questions and help you as much as we could. We contact guests prior to their arrival when possible to make sure that everything about their stay runs smoothly and to assist with anything we can.

The turndown chocolate is pretty great, isn’t it? It’s from Shane’s Confectionery, one of Philadelphia’s oldest candy shops, located in Old City.

Thank you for considering us a gem of a find. That means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

This 23-room hotel was our choice for a 3-night stay in Philadelphia in early April; we were very happy with our choice. We were in a deluxe (Room 211), which had plenty of space and all the amenities for which one would wish, including a large, flat-screen television (wall mounted), king-size bed, comfortable arm-chairs, and a good bathroom, with a big walk-in shower; there are no in-room coffee/tea-making facilities, but the breakfast room is just two floors below, and the hotel offers complimentary wine in the lounge each evening between 5:30 and 6:30. We had the continental breakfast each morning, but did not try any of the fresh juices on offer, which average about $6, or the other cooked-to-order dishes; the continental was sufficient for us. The hotel is in a great, quiet location, just off Rittenhouse Square, and the staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful. The owner introduced himself to us on our final morning, as did the manager, and we had a pleasant email from the hotel on our return thanking us for our business. Car-parking is an easy, short 2-block walk away on Latimer, and at $18 a day is a good deal for a city-center location. (Be aware that Latimer Parking only accepts cash.)
We'll certainly stay at the hotel next time we are in Philadelphia; that's really the acid test of any hotel.

Room Tip: Room 211 is a pleasant, spacious room at the front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2014

Dear Travelinbrit,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I wish that we would have known that you would have liked to have coffee and tea in your room; someone from the front desk could have brought it to you.

Daniel (the manager) and Jarred (the owner) are both wonderful assets to the hotel and we are thrilled that you were able to meet them both. We are very pleased that you will choose to return to the hotel the next time you’re in Philadelphia and look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,
Renee

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#57 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Morris House Hotel
Morris House Hotel
#19 of 88 in Philadelphia
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#16 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $193 - $440 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing