We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Boutique Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #12 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Boutique Hotel”
Reviewed September 25, 2008

I found this hotel on the internet. From the time I checked in, until I checked out it was a great experience. The room was well appointed, and the bed was very comfortable. The staff was very helpful and accommodating . The breakfast was delicious. The plantings around the hotel are gorgeous. I would definitley reccommend this hotel.

  • Liked — The bed and the staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank OurJana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    138
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
275
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manalapan, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2008

This is a boutique hotel on a small quite street in the Rittenhouse Square area. Within walking distance of many restaurants and bars. The bars across from the park are especially popular. We entered the hotel and immediately felt welcome by Asia and Chris. Its an 1900's carriage house that's been meticulously renovated. Our room was very comfortable with a king size bed and nicely decorated. We also had plush robes, marble bathrooms, cable plasma TV and turn down service, with chocolate and bottles of free Fuji water. Each morning in the downstairs cafe a continental breakfast is offered, with bagels, pastry, fruit, cereals and most important coffee. A wine reception is held from 5-7 in the upstairs living room, with the coolest TV you ever saw. A great place to stay!

  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColonelChamberlain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia,Pa
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2008

I live nearby in Philadelphia and was having work done in my condo when I was told to stay here. I was made to feel right at home the staff was extremely helpful and friendly. My room was gorgeous, comfortable, and very clean. The breakfast was delicious with homemade fruit salad, and great pastry. The location is on a quiet side street off the square and very private.

  • Liked — The Staff and the room
  • Disliked — leaving
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyboy519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventor, NJ
1 review
Reviewed March 4, 2008

My husband and I decided to go on a last minute getaway. Found this place on the internet, called to make reservations the same day for that night and we were 'offered' without asking a 'last minute rate' which was very nice. We just loved everything about this place. Decor, breakfast that is included in rate, location and staff. Great find! Highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kosherbuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2008

We stayed at the Rittenhouse 1715 for one night recently. The location is very good, near many restaurants, and the staff is good about recommending places to eat. We had a large, comfortable room, however, I thought the decor was a little cheap looking. The electric "fireplace" heater was a nice idea but ends up seeming a little silly. The bathroom was nice except for the tub which had some kind of residue on the bottom, and the jacuzzi jets were mildewed. Also, only one towel/hand towel/washcloth per person was supplied, which seemed odd, though upon request they brought up plenty more.

We stayed only one night on a Saturday, and the hotel imposes a $50 surcharge on Sat. only stays, which makes the rate more than the hotel is worth. I could understand this if the hotel were full, but it clearly was not when we were there--there couldn't have been more than 2 or 3 other rooms occupied.

  • Liked — Large, comfortable room
  • Disliked — Cheap decor and Saturday night surcharge
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TripsPlease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2008

After trying to find a nice hotel on Rittenhouse Square online, we stumbled on Rittenhouse 1715. We reviewed the reviews, and they were okay but a bit mixed. But we chanced it, and we found that most of the favorable reviews were right on. Because there was some issue with our online reservation and the appropriate room was not available, they upgraded us in advance to the Presidential Suite at the same cost of the original reservation. This was good value, indeed! Since we never saw the standard rooms and will likely not stay in this suite again, we can't comment on the regular rooms. But this two-story suite was lovely and curiously furnished and appointed. The two story windows connecting the living room to the bedroom loft were spectacular. Although there had been previous comments about the breakfast in the basement, we found the breakfast room just fine. And so was the breakfast; it was fine, not extraordinary. The folks who worked there were friendly and helpful. Keep in mind that this boutique hotel is not on Rittenhouse Square, but is rather on a side street right next to the Square. Overall, good value, and a very relaxed, comfortable place in the middle of one of the nicest areas in Philadelphia.

  • Liked — Boutique hotel, bit querky, location, bedding, free wireless
  • Disliked — This is not a five star hotel so don't compare it to the best of the best.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BFBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2007

My husband and I recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at the Rittenhouse 1715. Upon entering the hotel, we immediately noticed how similar in ambiance it was to a small hotel where we had stayed a few years ago in the Saint Germain area of Paris. In fact, the Paris hotel served a similar breakfast in a charming downstairs breakfast room just as is served at Rittenhouse 1715. However, 1715 also offered modern amenities such as a plasma TV and updated bathroom (unlike the bathroom in Paris, it was nicely updated with a rainshower and sparkling marble). The bed was very comfortable and we had no problem regulating the a/c in our room during a warm spell in October. Due to a rainstorm, our flight was delayed and then diverted to Baltimore causing us to arrive at the hotel at 3:00 in the morning from the West Coast. The desk person was very accommodating and took our luggage to our room with a smile even at that late hour. My only negative comment would be the inconsistent level of customer service. While some desk employees were extremely pleasant and helpful, there were others who were cool and indifferent. Overall, the hotel was very charming and clean and ideally located near Rittenhouse Square where excellent dining and shopping is within walking distance. We look forward to staying at the Rittenhouse 1715 on future visits to Philadelphia.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
788 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
5,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TravelClick, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing