We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #21 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Binghamton, NY
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2014

First, the wonderful aspects of the hotel. The staff met us at our car when we pulled up to the hotel and were quite kind and caring throughout our stay. The rooms were clean, the bed comfortable, the bathroom (though small) was updated and attractive, and the breakfast was simple but all that was needed (e.g., toast, coffee, cereal, yogurt). The neighborhood is attractive, quiet, walkable, and feels quite safe.

Now, the disappointed aspects. When we first walked into our Rittenhouse Suite, we felt immediately let down. When I had spoken with a staff member to reserve the room, she had clearly stated the Rittenhouse Suite was on "two floors." It was not; it was on one floor. The decor of the room was tired and out of date with heavy draperies complete with 100 pom-poms and worn carpet. The walls were an unattractive dijon yellow and the bedspread an unattractive brown. The bathroom with its squeaky pocket door was within an arm's length from the bed so it was not possible to use it without waking one's spouse. The room was warm and stuffy and though we had the air conditioning on as high as it could go, it did not cool down the room. And I suppose this is being a bit nitpicky, but a second bar of soap would have been nice. Not that it was difficult to open the glass shower door, walk into the shower, retrieve the soap, and bring it back to the sink, just inconvenient.

However, in spite of this, because the staff was so very friendly, we had decided we would stay here again, but perhaps in a $150-200 small room on the third floor since the Rittenhouse Suite was not worth its hefty $450 price tag (including tax). But a few days after we returned home, we realized we left our cell phone charger in the room. I called and they indeed had the charger. I was surprised they did not let us know that we left it behind, but nonetheless, they were willing to mail it to us for a charge of $25. This seemed a bit expensive. When we had left objects behind at other hotels over the years, from Residence Inns to the Four Seasons, usually they call or email us to let us know and either ship it for free or perhaps for the exact shipping cost of $8 or so. The charge of $25 left us feeling cheated, and so this was the item in the "con" column that tipped the scale in favor of trying another property next time we are in Philly.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stella99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2014
Dear Stella99,

Thank you so much for your kind words about the staff, comfortable bed, and cleanliness. All of our staff, from housekeeping to the front desk and beyond do our best to make our guests feel at home and comfortable. We are especially heartened to hear that our service would have brought you back to our hotel even if you were not entirely pleased with your stay. We wish we would have known that you would have liked a second bar of soap; we would have brought one to the room for you. We know that lots of guests like to use body wash, so we have body wash and soap in every room to offer both options to our guests, but will bring extras of any of our Molton Brown amenities to all of our guests upon request.

We apologize for the staff member that made the mistake in stating that the Rittenhouse Suite was on two floors. We do have a Presidential Suite that is on two floors, and that may be where the confusion stemmed from. Our decor is a mixture of traditional and contemporary design blended throughout the hotel and each room is unique. Also, at this time of year, it can be difficult to gauge whether air conditioning or heat is necessary, as the weather changes day-to-day. If we had known that the room was stuffy, we would have done what we could have to make you more comfortable.

The reason why you did not receive a call regarding the phone charger is because housekeeping did not find one in the room after your departure. When you had called to locate your charger, as a gesture of goodwill, we had offered to send an extra one that we had at the hotel. The quoted rate of $25 was an estimate for UPS shipping charges, which is how we ship all of our packages. (We have found them to be more reliable that the USPS.) However, UPS bills at a one-pound minimum for any packages. We do quote on the high end, so that if the charges billed to us by UPS are never higher than those quoted to guests.

I do hope that you will consider staying with us again. We have someone available 24 hours a day to assist with any questions you may have.

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    371
    132
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
72
268
34
91
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

When you walk in you feel like you are walking into a old home on a quaint street in Philadelphia. The front door is along a side street (Rittenhouse) right off of the part.
Daniel and his staff took care of us night and day. The room was warm and they brought us a fan when we asked. They knew the area--everything was within walking distance and what wasn't was by subway if you chose. Public Transportation by bus was also seen around the city.
We were in the city for an education conference and asked many questions of all of the staff at the hotel--they were all extremely helpful. The hotel is clean, quaint, offers a free continental breakfast, and a complimentary small wine reception each night.
Before we arrived, the staff called twice to make sure they would have our accommodations as we needed a cot due to a last minute booking for the conference.
The hotel is extremely charming and every room is different with little "unique" touches throughout the hotel.
If visiting Philly for the first time or going back---I highly recommend this quaint, clean, totally accommodating, and wonderfully staffed hotel. They even turn down your bed at night and leave a complimentary chocolate!
It was a gem of a find for our stay in the city.

Room Tip: If you get a room on the third floor---your view is a bit more fun!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cinderella2all
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear cinderella2all,

It is true that all of our rooms are unique; we try to have something available to suit everyone’s tastes. Our aim is to accommodate our guests in every way, and we are pleased that we were able to answer all of your questions and help you as much as we could. We contact guests prior to their arrival when possible to make sure that everything about their stay runs smoothly and to assist with anything we can.

The turndown chocolate is pretty great, isn’t it? It’s from Shane’s Confectionery, one of Philadelphia’s oldest candy shops, located in Old City.

Thank you for considering us a gem of a find. That means a lot to us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time you’re in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level Contributor
96 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

This 23-room hotel was our choice for a 3-night stay in Philadelphia in early April; we were very happy with our choice. We were in a deluxe (Room 211), which had plenty of space and all the amenities for which one would wish, including a large, flat-screen television (wall mounted), king-size bed, comfortable arm-chairs, and a good bathroom, with a big walk-in shower; there are no in-room coffee/tea-making facilities, but the breakfast room is just two floors below, and the hotel offers complimentary wine in the lounge each evening between 5:30 and 6:30. We had the continental breakfast each morning, but did not try any of the fresh juices on offer, which average about $6, or the other cooked-to-order dishes; the continental was sufficient for us. The hotel is in a great, quiet location, just off Rittenhouse Square, and the staff are all extremely pleasant and helpful. The owner introduced himself to us on our final morning, as did the manager, and we had a pleasant email from the hotel on our return thanking us for our business. Car-parking is an easy, short 2-block walk away on Latimer, and at $18 a day is a good deal for a city-center location. (Be aware that Latimer Parking only accepts cash.)
We'll certainly stay at the hotel next time we are in Philadelphia; that's really the acid test of any hotel.

Room Tip: Room 211 is a pleasant, spacious room at the front of the hotel. If you are a light sleeper, you mig...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travlinbrit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Travelinbrit,

Thank you very much for your kind words about the hotel. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay! I wish that we would have known that you would have liked to have coffee and tea in your room; someone from the front desk could have brought it to you.

Daniel (the manager) and Jarred (the owner) are both wonderful assets to the hotel and we are thrilled that you were able to meet them both. We are very pleased that you will choose to return to the hotel the next time you’re in Philadelphia and look forward to your return!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
101 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at this darling hotel in March 2014 for two nights. Our room looked like it was the former library of a home. We had bookshelves and a fireplace. We faced the street and had charming windows we were able to open. The service was stellar. I received a phone call the day prior to our arrival, asking if there were any special requests. Breakfast was included and was very nice. The location of the hotel makes it easy to walk to major attractions.

Room Tip: The room on the second floor above the lobby is excellent. The elevator is right outside the door o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ALeMire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear ALeMire,
Thank you for your compliments about your room, our staff, and our continental breakfast. We try to do everything we can to anticipate our guests’ needs prior to their arrival and during their stay, including the concierge calls that you mentioned. We are also very glad to hear that you enjoyed the decor of your room. All of our rooms are uniquely decorated, so there is something to suit everyone’s tastes. The majority of our rooms have windows that open, unlike a lot of newer buildings, which we appreciate as well. Philadelphia has a lot of hidden gems to offer in addition to the major attractions. We hope you’ll be able to come back to the city and to our hotel to enjoy them!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate ny
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed here after a five year gap and were warmly welcomed and even UPGRADED!. Each room is charming and unique. Great free breakfast and wine and cheese at 5:00pm. Staff are exceptionally accommodating and even called us in advance to see if there was anything they could do to ease our stay. Great location in Center city and near the best shopping (Boyd's, Joan Shepp) and restaurants. And Philadelphia is a foodie's delight.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms are only accessible by several flights of stairs. Be sure to ask if this an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dsn624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Dsn624,

We are pleased to hear that you’ve come back to stay with us after such a long absence! It is true that all of our rooms are uniquely decorated, even within the same room type, and it is nice to hear that you find them all to be charming. Thank you very much for your compliments about our staff and the continental breakfast as well. Hopefully you will be back in Philadelphia before another five years pass to enjoy more of our great restaurants and shopping, and we look forward to seeing you again then!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

I stayed at the hotel for a night en route from London to Pittsburgh. The Rittenhouse 1715 challenged the taxi driver [why are US taxis so uncomfortable?] but he got there and a new member of staff popped out to welcome me when I missed the front door - in my defence this is three converted houses and the opening isn't completely obvious. I was made very welcome and was escorted to my room which was large and superbly furnished. Other welcoming features - wi-fi is included and works very well and a couple of bottles of wine were opened around 5.30pm in a communal guest lounge so that guests could relax and meet some new faces. A dinner reservation, a taxi in the morning and an early-morning wake-up call were all taken care of with grace. The location means that I could walk to Market Street to find my restaurant through the old part of the city which helped me to revive after the flight. By the time I returned it was around midnight UK time and I crashed out. The bed is a delight and I had an uninterrupted night's sleep. The bathroom was great and it had one of those rainfall showers which could wake anyone up. The continental breakfast was included although the omelette ($11) and the orange juice ($8) were not. So, $306 for one night in a superior room with breakfast. Luxury costs, but in terms of making me feel welcome and giving me a good night's sleep then it's worth it. The Rittenhouse 1715 helped turn Philadelphia from a city into home.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin_Dillon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, April 3, 2014
Dear Professor Dillon,

Thank you so much for considering us your home in Philadelphia. As the primary function of a hotel is to provide travelers with a good night’s sleep, we are pleased to find that you found your room to be well-furnished and comfortable. We are also glad to hear that our staff did everything possible to make you feel welcome in our city, and that you were able to enjoy the Old City area and our great restaurants. We hope to see you again the next time you are in Philadelphia!

Kind Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
168 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed at Rittenhouse 1715 for two nights earlier this week. We found it a convenient and comfortable small hotel in one of the most interesting areas of Philadelphia. The bedroom was spacious and quiet, quite attractively furnished, and with a very comfortable mattress. The only slight difficulty was that the closet, located in the narrow passage running from the door into the main part of the room, was dark, making it difficult to see the clothes hanging within it, or the key-pad for the in-room safe that it also contained (it would be advisable to have a light fitted in this area, perhaps one internal to the closet and operated by the opening and closing of its doors). Staff were helpful and efficient, and the public areas of the hotel light and spacious. The complimentary glass of wine at the end of the afternoon was a nice touch. The complimentary continental breakfast was more than adequate, though for those who want more substantial cooked breakfasts, these are available on request for a charge. I was initially a little concerned by the parking arrangements, which involved delivering the car oneself to a busy local garage whose operations seemed casual to the point of being somewhat chaotic when I arrived there (the last I saw of my car was its being driven towards a ramp with the driver's door still ajar). But in the event, all worked well, and the $18 a day parking charge was certainly very reasonable for the centre of a major American city. Thus overall, Rittenhouse 1715 deserves its reputation as an efficiently run, upmarket boutique hotel in an attractive period building.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Travel1000Glen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Renee G, Guest Services Associate at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Dear Traveller1000Ottawa,

Thank you very much for your compliments about the hotel and the neighborhood. Our location is certainly an asset, and we try to use it to our advantage as often as possible. We are especially pleased that you enjoyed our continental breakfast, as we have made a sincere effort to source items locally, and in-house when possible.

From your description of the room, I can tell that you stayed in room 206, which does have a light in its closet, as do all of our rooms. The light switch, which is located inside the closet, must have been obstructed. I apologize for the inconvenience that may have caused for you. The suggestion to have the light turn on when the closet opens is a good one. I will suggest it to the owner for when he chooses to renovate the rooms.

While the Latimer Garage can be casual, they have always taken very good care of the cars they have kept for our guests, and remain one of the best deals for parking in Center City, especially in the Rittenhouse Square area.

Thank you again for your stay at Rittenhouse 1715, and for your kind words. We hope to see you again if you come back to Philadelphia.

Warm Regards,
Renee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,182 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Square Street, Philadelphia, PA 19103 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#11 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TravelClick, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing