We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel in a great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Charming small hotel in a great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

This hotel is located on a small side street, half a block off Rittenhouse Square.
It is within walking distance of many of the popular destinations in the city, as well as great restaurants and shops.

Atmosphere is very pleasant; much cozier than a large hotel, but a little cold compared to a typical b&b. The staff was terrific though; extremely solicitous, accommodating, and willing to help however they could.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SplashDNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    124
    23
    11
    4
See reviews for
66
251
33
88
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Altenstadt, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013 via mobile

Thank you fellow Trip Advisor reviewers for recommending Rittenhouse 1715! From the wine reception to the helpfulness of the staff and the niceness of rooms and breakfast, everything has been great and as good as others have described. My husband is using the free pass to a local fitness studio as I write this.

I am suffering from bruised ribs which make all movement painful. The bed in our first room was a bit too soft, so turning over woke me up often during our first night. When the housekeeper asked me how I slept, I mentioned the pain. Surprise! When we returned to the hotel after wandering the city several hours later, the staff had upgraded us to a Junior Suite and moved all of our things! WOW! *That's* service :D!

We prefer small, personal hotels / inns, and the decision to stay here is definitely one we will repeat the next time we come to Philadelphia.

Helpful?
Thank dholldorff
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Lewes, Delaware
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

1715 has sophisticated boutique character and charm near Rittenhouse Square. Unlike other reviews, though, this is a thank you to Mariangely (Marian) who works at 1715. This week was our second recent stay at 1715. My wife wasn't well at dinner so I went for takeout. Marian let us use the breakfast room for a private meal, provided china dishes, cleared a second table to hold the takeout, and even served me wine. Her effort converted a difficult time into a memorable event. Well beyond what I would expect from anyone. Thank you.

1715 is stylish, with nice size rooms and well-appointed baths. Continental breakfast is included and other breakfast items are available for a modest charge. Not to exclude others there, the service from everyone is superb from help with bags to recommendations and reservations.

The hotel is very close to Rittenhouse Square and convenient to Penn and Independence Hall. I'll be coming to Philly and staying here again. I suggest anyone give 1715 consideration.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lukespaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Celebrated my husband's bday at this hotel with an overnight stay.
Pro#1: we were upgraded to a suite without asking.
Pro#2: upon check-in I expressed the wish to have something with peanut butter in the room for my husband when we return. A delicious fresh peanut butter cupcake presented with a candle, forks and drinks was waiting for us when we returned. Unbelievably thoughtful and performed to perfection.

The location is very good for the historical district sites - within 1 mile walk, but quiet enough to sleep soundlessly due to the sidestreet placement. There is no parking at the hotel, but they refer you to a garage about 3 blocks away ( make sure u have cash- 15 dollars as of April 8).
They do include continental bfast in the room price (with addtl menu options such as waffles and omelets for purchase). We can't speak of the quality, since we didn't get the chance to have bfast there ( sidenote regarding customer service: they were willing to extend the bfast to us even though past the 10:00 am mark) .
Conclusion: While not necessarily cheap, that level of service was priceless! Would def recommend it and would def stay here again if in Philly!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msx2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Lovely hotel, charming , great location and good service, nice continental breakfast included....and wine at night. The hotel is right near Rittenhouse Square, walking distance to lots of sights, shopping, dining etc. Our room was nice and large with a jacuzzi tub........the people working there were very helpful and friendly, we would definitely stay there again, good for couples or families

Room Tip: Get in older buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AmyH1027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
86 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This 23 room boutique hotel is located on a side street just steps from Rittenhouse Square. Because it is located on a small side street, it feels much more secluded, is very quiet and yet its center city location makes in convenient to central Philly’s many attractions and the Walnut Street shopping district. The hotel is a composite of three buildings. There are three common rooms, the reception salon, an adjacent drawing room and the café which is located on the lower level.
The room was on the small side but very tastefully decorated and furnished. A vintage mirror was situated over the fireplace mantel. There was a queen bed, night stands with lamps, casual chair, desk over which a flat panel TV was mounted on the wall. There was a small closet which housed a personal safe. The bathroom was fixtured with a single basin vanity, commode and glass enclosed walk-in shower with rainfall showerhead and a hand held showerhead. The room was booked through one of Jetsetter’s sales at a rate of $259.00 inclusive of taxes.
A continental breakfast is included and served in the lower level café. Other breakfast fare is available at reasonable prices. The OJ is fresh squeezed on the spot. Complimentary wine is served in the late afternoon in the drawing room.
Complimentary Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. Secure parking is available at a garage one block from the hotel. The overnight rate is $15.00.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewJerseyMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

This was our second time at the rittenhouse 1715 and we were so glad we came back. It was a last minute getaway, but worked out great. We wound up getting the room from hotel tonight. The hotel is very nice, very clean and the staff is extremely pleasant.

Our room was very nice, the bed was comfortable and its a very quiet hotel. Very conveniently located, with very reasonable parking nearby. Breakfast is simple. anything more than a continental is extra, but still not too expensive and its well done.

Would strongly recommend!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valeriejanern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 707 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,723 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TravelClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing