We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“elegant small little hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #22 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Rooms are beautiful, large and comfortable. People are nice and helpful, especially head doorman. Room service is fast and efficient . The public areas don't feel so inviting, and the fitness room is really tired, but with beautiful rooms, you want to spend your time there anyway. Pricey, but would go back.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

We appreciate that you've chosen to review: however, the content of your message leads us to believe that you've stayed across the park at the beautiful Rittenhouse Hotel. For example, we do not have a fitness center on site, yet our guests enjoy complimentary access to La Fitness down the street. Being that our first names our identical leads to this happening every once in awhile. That said, we wish you the safest of travels. And, a lovely experience wherever you call home.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (565)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 565 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here on a long weekend in Philadelphia visiting friends. The location is great--central and right near Rittenhouse Square. The staff were friendly and tried very hard to make us feel at home, despite some small snafus like the gentleman at the front desk taking us to the wrong room when we checked in (my apologies to the guy whose door he opened!). They were also very gracious to recommend a local parking garage much cheaper than the lot across the street. While they call it a "boutique hotel," I'd say it's more like a bed & breakfast in that the staff is small and they try to get to know you during your stay--some people like this, others (like my boyfriend) find it kind of creepy and prefer to be more anonymous at a hotel. Just personal preference, I guess.

We did not try the nightly wine reception or the breakfast cafe, so I can't speak to those. We were on the third floor and while the room was not huge, it was clean, had perfectly adequate amenities, and the bed was pretty comfortable. Overall, I was satisfied for the price we paid but not blown away. I would consider staying here again if the price was right but other wise might try something different.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveler9523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This was the last stop on a three week trip to the States. We found the hotel location excellent with really good restaurants close by. The staff are very friendly, knowledgeable about the area and extremely helpful and obliging. Our room was on the first floor, just off the lobby. It was very comfortable and the turn down service a pleasant surprise. If there was a fault with it, we could sometimes hear the chatter from the reception and it was next to a restroom and a back exit which the staff used. Not a big issue really and on the plus side we didn't have to carry our bags too far. Regarding the breakfast, we found the free food and coffee quite acceptable, but did buy the freshly squeezed orange juice (which irked slightly, but was very good). We would stay again if we return to Philly, but would request a higher room I think.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharon J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

This was our third stay at the Rittenhouse. My husband and I like to come up to philly for a getaway every now and then. The Rittenhouse 1715 is our first chioce. We have stayed in the same room each time because we like the quiet location. Our request for the same room has always been granted. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful. I asked if I could see a couple other rooms just in case in the future we would like to try another room. The young lady very nicely took me to 3 rooms for comparison. All were equally nice, the jr. suite was very nice. The one thing we were a little disappointed with was the breakfast. In the past they offered complimentary breakfast, which we know is added into the cost, but, perfect for us. There was no hot food offered but still good. This time we were surprised to see eggs, omlets, pancake, fresh juice and smoothies listed on a chalkboard sign inside the cafe. All for a price. They used to offer yogurt, juice, bagels,toast, buns,and fruit in the cost of your room. The only beverages offered for "free" were tea, coffee, milk and water. No yogurt, bananas, or fruit juice and scaled down offerings of the usual fare. The breakfast staff were nice and friendly but had a tip jar near the egg station. We would have tipped a little something for table service anyway, didn't need the reminder This was kind of off putting,especially since we were not advised of the "new" breakfast style. We would still stay here in the future.The only other negative to our trip was our atm card was hacked from the Citizens bank on Walnut. Just found out on Monday. Disappointed in scum in Philly for putting a damper on our getaway.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ex-laxmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

For the price, I was expecting much, much more. Great to be small and discreet, but quality of experience just not there. Much press on how wonderful the place is - but this is based upon the previous owner / management. No hot water in $500 suite on arrrival. No apology. Front desk eager but incompetent - booking us into a restaurant which was closed and not taking / relaying messages. Breakfast set-up comical.

Room Tip: try a different place!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear Sir,

Sorry that you didn't have a great experience in Philadelphia. Our hotel hasn't had any ownership or management change as stated. However, a great hotel across the park that shares our same first name(Rittenhouse) was recently purchased by another group. That said, like us- they're one of the finest properties in the city. If you'd be willing to try our little gem of a hotel the next time you return to Philadelphia(refer to this review) we will gladly and thankfully serve you with our very best.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I stayed at the Rittenhouse in Oct. 2012 for three nights. It is lovely and they have a nice breakfast. My room was very nice and comfortable. The staff is great. It is homey and quiet.
They DO have bed bugs. I had one one me and brushed it off.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amarige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jarred3838, Owner at Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Thank you for staying with us for 3 days! Our intention to serve our guests with and from the very heart of our being is our primary purpose. Your positive comments are appreciated and sincerely noted. That said, your ending comment stating. "they do have bed bugs " is very auspicious to me as the owner. First, our property has been and is professionally inspected by professionally licensed exterminators who specialize in bed bugs. Also, our housekeeping staff inspects our rooms and beds with a certain protocol every few days. And, we've never..... found any bed bugs in any of our rooms or common areas. We do this protocol as preventative medicine so to speak as bed bugs can be carried in via luggage or people. Lastly, you checked out of our hotel without ever mentioning any issue to any of our staff members. To all who will read this review and response- please note the context of this review. Myself as owner and my staff love this business especially our guests. We would never allow a bed bug problem to manifest in our hotel without dealing with it immediately. To this very moment- we do not have bed bugs. But, we do have a sincere desire to be great. And, when something is written about our hotel that isn't what we experience to be accurate- we respond not react.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Rittenhouse 1715 for two weekend nights and enjoyed it very much. The staff was polite and helpful at every turn. Our room was street-facing yet quiet, nicely furnished, with a roomy bathroom. The location is second to none, with the delightful Rittenhouse Square nearby. Breakfast was decent, although we tend to get up late so by the time we sat to eat, the pastry and bread selection was rather limited. The smoothie bar is a great plus, although smoothies cost extra. We had a delicious strawberry-mango-orange-pineapple smoothie one morning. Overall, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FactotumDellaCitta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
828 reviews
City Center West
AKA Rittenhouse Square
AKA Rittenhouse Square
#57 of 88 in Philadelphia
128 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,344 reviews
The Ritz-Carlton, Philadelphia
#21 of 88 in Philadelphia
1,621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#13 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $195 - $580 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TravelClick, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cheap Tickets and Cancelon so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing