We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very positive experience, made me look good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very positive experience, made me look good!”
Reviewed August 9, 2011

I was asked to book 4 rooms for business colleagues and myself travelling in from around the US, plus I needed to book a conference room. I took a chance on this hotel and was very pleased. My boss thought it was an excellent selection, better than a traditional restaurant. The hotel staff gave good options on meeting rooms and made sure we had what we needed. When we needed a table for lunch at a local restaurant, the hotel owner walked over to "Parc" and personally reserved a table for us on the sidewalk overlooking the park. My colleagues and I actually got a flavor of Philadelphia rather than being confined in a generic hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BluegrassBicycler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    137
    24
    11
    4
See reviews for
73
274
35
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

As a local PA native and having lived in Philly for 2 years several years ago, I feel as though I know the city well and the different hotels and their offerings. We have stayed at this hotel twice and it has been a simply divine experience. We were traveling with our toddler daughter and the staff could not have been more accomodating to the needs of our family. We were upgraded to a junior suite for our second stay which was perfect as it provided a full bathtub for our daughter as well as an alcove separate from the bedroom so she could sleep in peace. As we found it too cold for her to sleep, a staff member quickly came up, whisked off her shoes and closed a vent w/o making a peep to ensure she did not wake. The breakfast spread is delicious and healthy, they made a special treat for our daughter. The wine reception in the evening is perfect to cap off the night. All in all, the staff from font desk to owner to breakfast were wonderful and so kind. We will return again and again to this charming hotel!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nbatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

I had a quirky room with eclectic furnishings. Staff at front desk was helpful and friendly. Breakfast was unexceptional, unless you pay extra for the hot selections. Fun to be in a bit of old Philadelphia. Will use this hotel again.

Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank katyzm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for one night at the end of April 2011 for a wedding in Philadelphia, and I have to say, it was a very fun hotel in very walkable (for 2 New Yorkers) area of Philadelphia.
The hotel itself is tucked on a side street from Rittenhouse Square and felt very authentic and classic. The staff was as accommodating as they could be - the only reason I could not give them 5 stars is because they did not have our room ready after we had notified them we were arriving and needed early check in time to prepare for a wedding. Finally, they switched us to a (same priced) room with a smaller bed to get us in immediately.

The decor is very colonial classic feeling but still tasteful and almost chic. The layout is adorable with a tiny staircase hidden into the lobby.
The bathroom was very clean, as was the bedroom - with all the comforts one could hope for in a boutique hotel. If we ever need to stay in a hotel again in Philadelphia we will definitely come back to Rittenhouse 1715!

Room Tip: The staff was so sweet - being sweet back to them made a huge difference in being helped as much as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

At my recent stay at the Rittenhouse 1715, a small boutique hotel in the very heart of Philadelphia, I enjoyed the highest appreciation as an individual traveler that I have ever experienced. Every single staff member was dedicated to fullfill my needs and wishes. I literally felt loved, welcomed and spoilt. The whole place, a wonderful little mansion, is focused on your comfort and well-being.
The highly attentive management creates an uncomparable ambiente and style that is clearly outstanding and one-of-a-kind. This is my future place to be in Philadelphia and I highly recommend this place to every individual traveler.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrike011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2011

We lived in Europe for 12 years. When we travelled, we enjoyed staying in B&B's and small Pensions. The Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel truly reminded us of those very pleasant experiences, where service is personal and rooms are spacious and well appointed. The location along a quiet side street in the heart of downtown Philadelphia added convenience and charm to the experience. We highly recommend this hotel if you are looking for a quiet getaway in the center of the city.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maluik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2011

Service was excellent. Daniel was so pleasant, courteous and helpful with any suggestions or directions, etc. We will look forward to seeing him again the next time we stay at this hotel. The room was elegant, clean (very clean), and the bed was so comfortable. This boutique hotel is tucked away in an assuming area; therefore, it is very quiet. My husband and I loved coming back from touring, shopping, dining, etc. in the city to complete peacefulness. No noise in the hallway, no kids running about - it was peaceful and restful. Even the breakfast area is elegant and peaceful. We love coffee and it was fresh and delicious. The coffee cake was wonderful, also. -- We were in Philadelphia to visit with my son. We had one day to ourselves and a day and a half to spend with him. It was pretty easy to get around on our own the first day as Daniel suggested the Phlash Trolley, which we used - and it got us everywhere we wanted to go for only $5 a day. We loved the Terminal Market, Rittenhouse Square, Old City and Penns Landing. We enjoyed the Plough and Star Restaurant in Old City, and Marathon On The Square and Parc Restaurant (for big a cooked breakfast) in the Rittenhouse area. I highly recommend this hotel especially if you're looking for peace at the end of a busy day in the city. We'll definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sweetiebaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
782 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 86 in Philadelphia
3,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
The Warwick Hotel Rittenhouse Square
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 86 in Philadelphia
4,939 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel

Property: Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel
Address: 1715 Rittenhouse Sq, Philadelphia, PA 19103-6109 (Formerly Rittenhouse Square Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > City Center West
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#9 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TravelClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Rittenhouse 1715, A Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rittenhouse 1715 a Boutique Hotel
Rittenhouse Square b&b Philadelphia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing