We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Above expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Corner Bakery Cafe

Corner Bakery Cafe
Ranked #18 of 169 Bakeries in Philadelphia
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Fresh & delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner & catering, we're dedicated to keeping you happy in your Corner of the world.
Trenton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Above expectations”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The menu choices are more than what you might expect. All are prepared perfectly and service is quick and comes to your table after you order at the counter. Coffee and tea are self-serve. Check the time for breakfast service, though.
This makes a nice stop for food after a train ride - it is walking distance from the Suburban Station.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craneger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    31
    14
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
wny
Level Contributor
96 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Cold Soup”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

They were out of the first flavor of soup I ordered. I can understand running out, but take it off the menu. It was not a permanent menu, it was a small sign. They had my second choice. I was served cold soup. I brought it back and asked that it be warmed up. The waitress brought it back and it was still cold. I brought it back again and it was warm. I don't think they know how to serve soup here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank willtravelfromhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley CA
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Watch the calorie counts!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Bright place that serves tea and coffee in non-styrofoam, a plus. But commercial pastries can run those calories up quick.

Early closure on Saturday; closed Sunday.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank drlaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Level Contributor
179 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Nice breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

We had our breakfast there. Although they don't have the traditional pancake or wafle, their American breakfast is really nice. We also had banana muffin, steel cut oat meal and coffee + tea, all for $18. So very reasonable for the two of us and the quality of food is there too.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pascal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks County PA
Level Contributor
76 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Good Food, Fast Service, Right Price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

I can't speak for every Corner Bakery Cafe, but the one at 1701 Market Street is exceptional. Even if the lines are long it moves at a quick pace because they have many order registers open and the people taking the orders are fast, efficient and friendly. They have an easy to read menu board and their offerings are great -- soups, salads, sandwiches, panini, combos, etc. Gotta throw a special plug in for the Roasted Tomato and Basil Soup ==> better than mom's! And the price for lunch is very reasonable for a center city cafe. I usually get the soup and 1/2 sandwich combo with a drink and drop $10. The manager walks around to make sure everyone is satisfied and opens extra registers when the need arises. It is a well run place with excellent food!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rustyjdcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Corner Bakery Cafe also viewed

Philadelphia, PA
Philadelphia, PA
 
Philadelphia, PA
 

Been to Corner Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing