We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
NY, NY
Level Contributor
95 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed June 27, 2010

I spent 2 nights here for a local event. The hotel is fantastic. The lobby with its "Living room" area was charming and peaceful. The rate was quite reasonable. We had a room on the 6th floor with a great view over Penn's campus. The bed was very comfortable. The room was quiet and nicely furnished. The lcd tv had about 30 channels available including HBO and the reception was good. The fitness center was well equipped. This is a great location for University City. Restaurants and other venues are all within a block or two, including interesting places like a new frozen yogurt place called Kiwi and Bobby's Burger Palace. I should also note that in the midst of a 95 degree heat wave the a/c worked perfectly throughout the hotel so it was great to come back to after 2 hectic days. As for complaints on valet parking, you can self park at the sheraton for $20 a night and walk 1 block if you don't want to use the valet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYCandworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
Thanks for your kind comments about your recent stay. We're so happy to hear that your stay was comfortable and of course in this record setting northeast heat wave, reliable AC is certainly paramount. I'm please to also hear that you were able to enjoy some of the new and fun eateries in and nearby the hotel. There's more to come so please come back soon.

Warmest Regards,

Greg Stafford, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    853
    351
    77
    27
    10
See reviews for
421
201
92
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2010

I stayed at the Inn @ Penn for almost a week and had a pretty good stay. The service was excellent and the hotel looked great. The rooms were decent, other than getting two twin beds when I have one King saved on my reservation.

Remember - this is a full service Hilton, so there are extra charges for breakfast/internet.

Overall, it was good and I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chasesfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 23, 2010
I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. All of our rooms have either a king bed or two full size beds. We apologize if we were unable to provide you with a king bedded room. We look forward to seeing you back again soon to experience our $10M state of the art guestroom renovation.

Warmest Regards,

Greg Stafford, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
45 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2010

I couldn't believe how wide the hallways were (weird I know) and the rooms are very comfortable with great lighting and effective/efficient desk areas. Bathrooms are large.

Extras get you: Wifi $13.00, onsite restaurant is a bit expensive for dinner, even the business center minimum $5.00. But this is a full service Hilton (unlike a Hilton Garden Inn where many options would be free) so you are paying for a full service Hilton.

Obviously the number one item is the location next to University of Pennsylvania and the UPenn Hospital system.

Restaurants are with a block or two of the hotel with many different types and price ranges.

SEPTA station is a few blocks away (we stopped at the University SEPTA station instead of 30th Street and it is a bit shorter of a walk (but may not seem like it)).

Only issue: UGH - come on: 15 or so television channels!

Highly recommended if you have business at UPenn.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bowdenj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2010

My husband and I recently stayed here and I must say the hotel is beautiful! This hotel isn't a "modern" hotel rather one with old world charm and sophistication that I enjoyed. As with other Hilton hotels I've stayed at, the bed was amazingly soft and the room decor was impeccable. My only complaint about the room is the fact they have HD televisions yet didn't spend the money on HDMI cables so the picture quality is horrible. The check-in and check-out process was easy and the staff were extremely friendly. Without asking they gave us a quick run-down of the local area, what stores were in close proximity and they're hours of operation.
Something that everyone should be aware of, there is little to no parking around this hotel so 9 times out of 10 you'll have to Valet your car ($32 per night). This is actually a good thing because The University of Penn, its not in the safest of neighborhoods (and not as close to center city/downtown Philly as you'd think). The Valet parking lot is about 3 or 4 blocks away from the actual hotel so if there's a line of people waiting for their vehicles, the wait could run upwards 30 minutes. When I went to get my SUV, it took about 15 mins.
Each room has a Wi-Fi connection but it's not free HOWEVER if you use the Wi-Fi connection in the main lobby of the hotel, its free.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CruisingFeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2010

Spent two nights here on business. The location of course is a bit out of the way but if you are looking to visit the university or the area's hospitals, this place is nice. Rooms were spotless, nicely decorated and very quiet despite the busy street outside the window. Concierge was helpful. The hotel's restaurant, Penne, was typical run of the mill Italian fare, but I couldn't find any fault with it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2010

I stayed at the Inn at Penn for three weeks whilst doing some work in Philadelphia. The location was excellent as it was close to the university and HUPs. I was surprised at the lack of service I experienced from the reception staff. I had prerequested for my room to be on the top floor, when i mentioned this , the reception staff just told me my room was on a high floor and they would not be changing this. There was free wireless internet in the foyer and library but it was very expensive to pay per night to have it available in the room. The gym was a reasonable size and as i was staying for so long, i had complimentary breakfast included. The buffet was fine, however, when occupancy decreased, they stoopped providing hot food for the breakfast. In general the staff that served at the breakfast room were lovely and friendly. The rooms were average, and a bit noisy as overlooking a main street. Compared to a much cheaper hotel I had just stayed in, I would say that this is a very over priced hotel, that lacked the good service (apart from the staff at breakfast) and I am sure there are other cheaper hotels nearby that would be much better

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EmilyFS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
69 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2010

We stayed at this hotel while touring local colleges. Very nice hotel. Rooms a little small with a 16 and 12 year old, but it did the job! Breakfast was excellent and service was great. Lots of local restaurants to choose from for dinner. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CT_Traveler1515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,781 reviews
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing