We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stylish, Convenient, and Comfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
639 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 598 helpful votes
“Stylish, Convenient, and Comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2014

A very good business hotel, right on University of Pennsylvania campus. A short walk to 30th Street Station (Amtrak), moderate taxi trip to airport. Plenty of interesting restaurants nearby. Stylish design, good public rooms (large "library" and other areas on the main floor to hang out and use the free wifi). One drawback -- nothing is open after 11 pm -- no food, no bar, no room service. So if you arrive late at the hotel (11 pm!), your only choice is vending machine soda. Very comfortable beds, upscale bathroom, good lighting and switches, plenty of outlets for your gadgets' chargers. Pretty high priced, though.

Room Tip: Don't locate near the elevators -- they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EagleEyeBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 24, 2014
Thank you for your comments, EagleEyeBoston. We hope that if your travels bring you through Philadelphia in the future, that we will see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    345
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
413
199
92
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

I stayed here for a business trip. It was a perfect location to walk almost anywhere. Extremely clean, great fitness center. Hotel location next to lots of restaurants and shops. Very happy with stay in University City at the Inn at Penn. I was also allowed to check in at 8am after taking the red-eye that was the best!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 654tanyak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
654tanyak,
Thank you for the five-star review! We're glad that we were able to accommodate your early check in, and hope that you return to stay with in the not-too-distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, PA
Level Contributor
367 reviews
175 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 489 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Inn at Penn was a fantastic hotel, worthy of its high rating on TA. They didn't have our reservation, but found it after 20 minutes. I had booked our room through Priceline at a great rate of $112, but it turns out our room was listed under another name. Not only were we given complimentary breakfast buffet vouchers (a $20 value per person), they also sent up a bottle of wine with a cheese and fruit platter. I can't say enough about their customer service, simply the best!

The bathroom in our room is one of the nicest anywhere. Wish we had that at home. We had a beautiful king room and complimentary internet is always a plus. I loved how all the hotel directories were accessed from an I-Pad in the room, very cool. Sleeping was very quiet on this Saturday night. The breakfast buffet was very good in the morning. Valet parking was $39.

Room Tip: Top floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you, relayer, for the five-star review! We're sorry that there was a delay in finding your reservation, but it sounds like our staff was able to make it right. We greatly appreciate your patronage and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

We recently enjoyed our stay during our trip with a group of rowers from Florida. Your decor is a beautiful Bogart Era design and very elegant but still modern. Well done. The rooms are very comfortable and quiet.
I especially want to bring attention to the staff from the attentive gentlemen working the valet parking, the lady concierge who was always helpful and bright, and especially the ladies in the dining room for breakfast. Khadeja and Lorraine. They worked as such a wonderful team. I have to especially mention Lorraine who made us feel so welcome, like she was a Philly neighbor having us over for a meal. Like an old friend. This woman is truly special. I grew up in Philly and she is everything good about Philly people. We miss her already. Please let her know we said hi to Reggie for her and it made his day. Next time we are back in Philly we will visit and look for Lorraine. She is that special! Hilton Inn at Penn is the best. Also for others visiting Federal Donuts and New Deck Tavern are walking distance. Both worthwhile.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Michaelene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Michaelene K,
We can't wait to share your comments with Lorraine and Khadeja! Our staff sincerely appreciates such feedback. Please return to see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel with great amenities and fantastic service! The staff, from the valet parking through registration desk were simply outstanding. The location is excellent with many great restaurants within walking distance. Can't wait to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Dennis L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Thank you, Dennis L, for the five-star review! We can't wait for your return visit either!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
usa
Level Contributor
95 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

The room was spacious, clean and comfortable. Ipad is a very nice feature.
We easily found street parking on Saturday night.
This hotel was very good value comparing to other 4 star hotels in Philadelphia, and is only 5 minutes drive from Rittenhouse square.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank icecream79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 22, 2014
Elephant79,
Thank you for the kind words! We're glad that you appreciated the iPad, which is standard in every room and can be used for everything from maintenance requests to placing a room service order! Please visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014

The hotel is located very close to Penn so is quite convenient to campus and restaurants. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, and the hotel is nice. The room was spacious for the area, clean, and fairly quiet (we asked to be away from street noise as much as possible).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GrnBfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you, GrnBfly, for taking the time to review your stay. Best wishes for happy and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,519 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing