We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel - great room”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 7, 2013

We stayed here last weekend while visiting daughter and loved the hotel. The room was modern, the lobby beautiful the bell and desk attendants were very helpful. Close to many things in Philly. Loved this hotel - we usually stay at Marriott and this was a welcome surprise.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,452)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 950 of 1,452 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2013

Stayed here on a business trip, and was I happy with the high quality of this hotel! It is in a wonderful location near UPenn, restaurants and other attractions. The hotel is beautifully decorated, and although contemporary, has the kind of warmth and character often hard to find in a modern hotel. It has a super-inviting library/small bar area with a fire in the hearth on cool nights.... you will not want to leave it.

The rooms were extremely comfortable, nicely furnished, and room service was fantastic - food prepared just right, and on time. All of the staff were extremely courteous and professional. And, the hotel has a strong environmental sustainability focus such as neat recycling wastebaskets in the rooms - also an iPad in every room so you can just order room service or get hotel info from there. I really appreciated that this hotel is managed in such a responsible and caring way.

Can't recommend this highly enough. It is a great place to stay in Philly.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank historylover3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2013

A splendid, clean hotel, with knowledgeable, attentive staff. The facilities are very clean, the fitness center provided numerous cardio plus strengthening options, and the location was perfect. The room was very quiet with beds outfitted with high quality linens.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Jesse G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

As an experienced and frequent traveler I can honestly say that I have NEVER had encountered such a sincere, personal, and accommodating Front Desk staff. I spent (and still do) several days at the Inn at Penn due to an illness that put my wife in the hospital at the University of Penn Hospital. Picked first because of its proximity to the hospital (and Hilton is my Hotel of choice), I will now go out of my way and stay there on any visit to Philadelphia. Everyday, the staff would send prayers and well wishes to my wife as I left the hotel for the day. Since the situation was questionable about a release date, the staff gave me the much needed flexibility during my stay - that was one stress they relieved me of and for that I am grateful. Did I mention that the place is spotless and richly appointed?

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel staff was friendly and helpful. The room layout and condition was top notch. The maintenance and management of the hotel was excellent. Also the Italian restaurant within hotel had excellent cuisine

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Hotel is by Penn and not really near the main tourist sites. That being said it's a great bargain for a Hilton hotel, nice rooms/Peter Roth bath products/comfortable bed with a terrific attentive staff. iPad was a nice up to date touch.

Bobby Flay Burger Palace around the block for excellent burgers and shakes. Short taxi ride to town,,,really enjoyed my stay and will happily return next time I am in Philly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tide2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Wonderful facility, excellent and attentive employees, well appointed rooms, overall cleanliness and modern. Rooms include free wifi and an iPad for guest use. Great location on Penn's campus. High definition tv with Directv also included. Guest comfort clearly is a priority.

Stayed: December 2013
Thank Harveyjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,554 reviews
City Center East
Hilton Philadelphia at Penn's Landing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 88 in Philadelphia
833 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $148 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing