We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful rooms and service”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #4 of 88 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Very friendly service and the rooms were beautiful. Beds and bedding were to die for! Very quiet and you can't get any closer to Penn then this! We used Lady Liberty Shuttle to get to/from the airport.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ConnieSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

I'm thrilled to hear that you love our plush beds. Our location is indeed convenient for Penn, Drexel, downtown, Amtrak and the Airport. Thanks for your suggestion about Lady Liberty. Many of our guests use their efficient and affordable service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,476)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 1,476 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

When I Philly, I typically stay in another hotel near Center City, but given my visit to UPenn nearby, I was glad I stay at the Hilton Inn at Penn.

I was really impressed by everything with this hotel.
The staff were all extremely friendly and personable from check-in clerk, the bellhop and the valet.

The room was modern with all the amenities you can need. Free bottles of water, and ipad with connections to hotel information (room service) and local attractions, alot of ports for your phone or computer and a TV with alot of chanels. The bathroom was a good size with a shower stall (although I was about to need a manual to figure out how to operate it!).

The room was comfy and there was no noise from the hallway or adjacent rooms. As a result, it made for a good night sleep.

And all the common areas were spacious and well lit including the lobby and the hallways.

Only negative is the high price for Philly, but its par for the course these days at any big city.

If I'm ever in the area again near UPenn, this hotel will be the first I look into.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank petertom25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Wow! Thanks for your kind words. Hopefully your travels will bring you back to us soon. Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stumbled on this property by accident, booking a reward stay about two years ago. Boy were we happy with our find! This property is in the heart of University City, so a smart college vibe is the scene-but we like how quiet it is away from the noise if the city! And it's only a short 10 min can into the city for the nightlife and restaurants, or if it's a nice night, in about 3 miles you can walk right into downtown which we have done before.

The place reminds us of Princeton. Upscale, historic, old building charm but renovated super nice rooms. The staff is also very accommodating and welcoming.

Lastly, don't forget to check out POD, the Steven Starr Sushi Restaurant downstairs-by far one of my favorite restaurants around; super upscale retro/Jetsons feel, the sushi and unique entrees are out of this world, just like its theme!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seversandheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

We do indeed like to think of our hotel as a very special oasis, sophisticated and stylish, but still ever so close to the activity and hustle of downtown. Thanks for your recommendation of Pod as well. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

If you have to be at Drexel or at Penn as a student, family or patient getting care in the area this is a very nice alternative. The rooms are all run by an iPad and they have a nice/reasonable room upgrade program if there are rooms avaiable. The customer service was excellent and every person I came into contact with was extremely pleasant. Beds were hard if you like that (not so much for me) bathrooms modern with standing shower no tubs. Very quiet and safe.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ginny00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for your enthusiastic comments about our staff. Warm regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Location: ideal for visiting Penn. Within walking distance of some of West Philly’s best restaurants.

Rates: We've paid from $199 to $599 for a King depending on Penn events/room demand. I always check online and then phone onsite reservations manager Sabrina Cooper. Ask Ms. Cooper for Campus Visit rate- generally lower than anything available on Hilton's website.

Staff: As always helpful and friendly from the door, valet parking, and bellmen to front desk, housekeeping and the Library/Penn Club. Bessie the Concierge is a wonderful ambassador for both the University and the hotel. Wonderful team.

Room 667- facing Walnut Street with nice view of Penn campus, quiet. Smallest room we’ve had on our stays but ok. As always it was clean and well maintained. If I remember correctly, some rooms have windows that open, this one didn’t.

Bathrooms are not large, but functional with reasonably sized shower stalls. Shower door design means your floor will get wet in all the rooms we’ve stayed in over the years. But housekeeping is great about keeping your towels refreshed both in the morning and with turn-down service.

Housekeeping does a very nice job keeping room clean and stocked.

Breakfast: some years back they downgraded from included full breakfast to continental, but upgrade only runs $4 a person, and it’s worth it for the cooked-to-order omelets. This visit the front desk kindly gave us full “hot breakfast” coupons for 3 of our 4 days. They also have breakfast pastries, smoked salmon, fresh fruit, and oatmeal. With so many outstanding restaurants within walking or short cab distance (Pod, Marigold Kitchen, Distrito) we’ve never eaten dinner at the hotel restaurant, Penne, and it never seems to draw a crowd.

Gym: small but clean, well ventilated. Decent assortment of free weights, elliptical trainers, recumbent bikes, and treadmills.

Umbrellas: This was a surprise and a disappointment. We travel with rain jackets, but it's nice not to have to lug umbrellas on planes. This is the first hotel we’ve stayed at with no umbrellas. The bell captain seemed as annoyed as we were- he’s missing a great source of tip revenues. Penn Bookstore had a wide selection and I found some quality gust busters small enough to bring back on the plane at Eastern Mountain Sports (34th & Chestnut).

We’ve stayed here just over half a dozen times since 2009. If you want 5 star, the Four Seasons in Center City is pretty much flawless. But the Inn’s location can’t be beat for visiting Penn. The staff is wonderful. And it seems to be thriving with occupancy rates in the in the 80+ pct range.

Room Tip: Call property directly for "Campus Visit" rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MAVacationerBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for your very detailed assessment of our services and we appreciate your many kind comments. We'll address the missing umbrellas. We look forward to your return visit.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Location is excellent. Rooms are comfortable with great amenities like an iHome, wall plug-ins for AUX, USB, HDMI, etc. Room service and other services may be ordered by iPad. Staff were very friendly and accommodating. TV has a large selection of channels. Rooms are quiet at night. I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sgi10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

This is a great Inn connected to Penn. For anyone having university business, this is the best place to stay. I've been to this Inn a number of times over the past 10 years. This summer I was pleasantly surprised to find that the facility (and most importantly the lodging rooms) had been beautifully upgraded. Staff is very nice and helpful.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
Thank WYWoman1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 88 in Philadelphia
5,619 reviews
City Center East
Courtyard Philadelphia Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia
Sofitel Philadelphia
#9 of 88 in Philadelphia
3,396 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $196 - $355 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing