We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Retreat in Philly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 85 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Henderson, Nevada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat in Philly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

The Hilton Inn at Penn has many attributes that are worth mentioning. The reception staff is welcoming, kind, and cordial. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. Wifi worked perfectly for the duration of my stay.

The hotel is located in a quieter area of the city in the University district. Public transit is not much more that a stone's throw away and is only minutes to the center city.

This is one hotel that practices what they preach when it comes to enviornmental matters. Housekeeping follows the guest's wishes when they leave their towels as instructed in order to reuse them.

Definitely recommendable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ziggy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    837
    345
    77
    26
    9
See reviews for
413
199
92
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Follansbee, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

A quality Hotel for our convention participants, we felt safe and secure within a large city of such a large diverse population. Excellent job by all Hotel Staff during our stay. We would like the opportunity to say Thank you to the entire staff at Inn at the Penn for a job well done. The room was a little small and could have had some extra drawer space for our clothing but the cleanliness of the rooms and honest values made our stay worthwhile and secure. Our convention had over 19,000 registrations and hopefully our membership did not embarrass or give anyone a bad impression of Narcotics Anonymous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank James F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Perfect location, excellent service and nice clean room make this a standout hotel for visiting university parents. BTW, the breakfast is wonderful, lots of choices, couldn't be better! This is our go-to home away from home in Philly.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Betsy33498
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

I got a king deluxe room. It was clean and had great amenities. The issue? The room backed up to the elevator, which made it very difficult to sleep. I paid extra for the deluxe room. Serious disappointment!

I mentioned it to two people at the front desk the following day. One advised I ask for another room when I come back. I'm not going back.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camp Hill, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Got a very good rate for this place via their website. By far the nicest hotel in the area. Will stay here again next chance I get. Rooms are large and clean. Location is optimal with restaurants nearby. Parking is probably the only thing that could be improved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have been on the hunt for a decent Hilton in Philly. Finally found it with the Hilton Inn at Penn. BEYOND decent, wonderful rooms with eco-friendly features and updated bathrooms, courteous staff, fantastic breakfast at the University Club, and a wine bar for the evenings when I didn't have chance to grab a bite to eat. The surrounding area is fun to explore and the asian fusion restaurant POD is literally steps from the hotel's front door--now my go-to dinner destination when traveling to Philly. Definitely check out this beautiful, comfortable hotel with top-rate staff!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zinzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This had to be one of the best if not the best hotel I've stayed in, and my girlfriend agrees. Clean and tidy. VERY polite staff. If a staff member didn't know the answer to my question they actually pointed me in the direction to who could help. Wether I needed a taxi, or directions the staff at the Inn and Penn went beyond my expetations. Not to mention they didnt charge me for an amenitie I asked for because I arrived late, and room service was closed. It was brought up the next day, and didn't show on my bill. Will definitly return.

One happy Canadian...

Room Tip: Standard King was a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 762 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,530 reviews
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 85 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Jetsetter, Hotel.de, Reservation Counter, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing