We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel at University of Pennsylvania”
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #3 of 87 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We've stayed here twice and this is clearly the best hotel at the University of Pennsylvania. The staff is excellent. They are very happy to help. You are literally at the center of the University. The rooms are spacious, very clean; there is a nightly turndown service. There are many restaurants nearby; the Penn bookstore is next door. The internet connection was robust; we never had any drops.

The staff has many good recommendations. Listen to them; they really want to make your stay pleasant. Overnight parking is expensive (you can park a block away at the Penn parking lot on Walnut) but worth it if you are using your car a lot. There are always taxis available as well.

We have only eaten breakfast at the hotel, but it is excellent. They have very good omelettes as well as a nice buffet. There is also a nice librayr/lounge next to the restaurant. The gym is also nicely appointed the third floor. The business center allowed us to print boarding passes for free; there was also a fax machine and printer for us to use.

The Inn at Penn is more expensive than the surrounding hotels, but in our opinion, worth it.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,394)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Inn at Penn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

960 - 966 of 1,394 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

It's located in the Penn campus so the location is very good since we are just visiting the school. It's not far from some other attractions in the city, too; all within 5 miles. There are many restaurants and stores nearby. Our room is very clean and comfortable, with some pretty decorations. As for its prize ($239) I would say it is totally worth it. Recommend!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

From the moment you pull up and are greeted by the valet to the front desk staff to the concierge to housekeeping and even room service- every single employee we were in contact with was so friendly, making sure we were not only happy, but completely satisfied. This hotel was recently renovated and we were upgraded to a Superior King Room (Thanks to my HH). It was LARGE and all the finishings reminded me of a Westin. A spa-like bathroom, comfortable bed, great linens, and every detail seems to have been thought of with the customers comfort in mind. The only blip with the hotel was the iPad that was in the room (a new feature for Hiltons) that has all the information the old 3 bind notebooks use to have. We tried for 20 minutes to pull up restaurants in the area and kept getting kicked off the site. I did order room service for breakfast through the iPad and it worked perfect. The gym is spacious and has up to date free weights, a pulley machine, instability stands (boss), a tv on each machine and it felt bright and cherry. The location is PERFECT if you are here for something at U of Penn or one of the neighboring schools/hospitals. We didn't find many places to eat close by and ended up taking a cab downtown ($8). There is also not much shopping (Ann Taylor Loft and the Gap are the only main stores I could find). I went with my husband to Phili for something he had to do for work in the area, so I had time on my hands to wander around a lot. Wish we were closer to downtown because there wasn't much to do or see in the immediate area, but if you are looking for a hotel close to Penn, I can't imagine staying anywhere else. Room service is outrageous, but there is a Starbucks, Dunkin Donuts and Cosi all within a 3 minute walk from the hotel. We also found the day we were leaving, for lunch a GREAT Italian place to grab a sandwich, salad or pizza- Pizza Rustic (I think that was the name. It's on Sansom, right by hotel). Overall The Inn at Penn was a fabulous hotel!!!

Room Tip: We did hear the train and were in room 437, maybe ask for a room with an even number on the opposite...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Myself and two daughters stayed here for one night to visit colleges. Very easy to get to and literally across the street from UPenn (a few minute walk to Drexel). Within walking distance are a few restaurants, an Auntie Anne's pretzels, a Starbucks and a few stores (Urban Outfitters, American Apparel, a few boutiques and a CVS immediately down the street, others within a few blocks). Also a lot of food trucks around catering to students/college staff. Room was very clean and nicely decorated. It was the first time I have stayed in a hotel where instead of the binder of hotel/area information, it is provided on a room ipad (also used as alarm clock). Nice staff as well. Be aware that the hotel has a valet parking service with a fairly hefty fee, however this area, as well as the city center area (which is a 5-7 minute drive) is all pretty much parking garage/fee style. The only reason I did not give it five stars was due to the overall room cost (although worthwhile to pay to be within walking distance of campus) and parking fee. If visiting UPenn, go to the college website under Visits and there is a link to a reduced rate for this hotel. Highly recommend for college visits.

Room Tip: We had a room facing the campus; it was right on the street but no road noise was heard.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serenity37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Very Nice Hotel. Staff was very helpful and knowledgeable of the area. Bellman and valet gave us great recommendations about philly cheesesteaks. Hotel was very clean and room was very roomy. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This was perfect for my purpose, a one-day visit to an academic centre at the University. Clean, comfortable room, with the air-conditioning already set to a temperature that was ideal for me; excllent sleep; good breakfast; fast, free and easy-to-use wi-fi: faultless.

Add the easy taxi ride from the airport, the charming staff, the excellent location ... what more could one want?

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DGCPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

The Inn at Penn in Philadelphia is a very convenient spot for visiting Drexel University and UPenn. You are within walking distance of both colleges plus the train station and restaurants. The rooms are quiet and well appointed. We have stayed here 3 times so far and each time was pleasant. One of the things we like is that they have free wifi and many convenient plugs for charging your devices. There shops, restaurants, coffee shops, drugstore all around you but set in vary college atmosphere. Try Doc Magrogan's in the next block for their terrific oysters and Han Dynasty for Chinese.....both are delicious!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Portia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 87 in Philadelphia
808 reviews
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#7 of 87 in Philadelphia
5,282 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 87 in Philadelphia
3,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range: $177 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing