We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good location to visit U Penn” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 86 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
206 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good location to visit U Penn”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Better than your average Hilton property and best location for visiting U Penn. Updated rooms, comfortable and clean. Superior to the Sheraton Hotel that is close by. Parking is $40. Concierge was helpful. The one thing that was really annoying was the smell of fish/cooking as you walk into the lobby. They really need to do something about it.
Good hotel but does not deserve the five star mobile award of excellence.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aluor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    797
    330
    74
    26
    8
See reviews for
391
184
88
460
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We were very pleased with our first visit to the Inn at Penn. The hotel is very updated, clean, and has excellent service by the staff. The location is unbeatable to UPenn. When visiting UPenn in the future, we will look forward to staying there, and would recommend anyone to stay there as well. The only thing we did not like was the breakfast buffet, as we felt it was too expensive for what it gave you.
Tip- an excellent sushi restaurant right next to the hotel is Pod. Interesting atmosphere and great food and service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gotobermuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Hotel is located in area that's walking distance for what you need. The staff was very friendly and ready to help when needed. The hotel shines as a star. The rooms was clean and you can smell the freshness in the air. You can't go wrong with this hotel, you will come with a smile and leave with a bigger one.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Haven, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

This hotel has the warm feeling of a club hotel but the amenities of a 5-star hotel. Fantastic staff and lovely rooms. Nice breakfast buffet. Close location to HUP and Penn campus. Many fine restaurants within walking distance.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Director of Sales at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Inn at Penn. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and recognize how conveniently located we are to many fine establishments. We are an easy walk to shopping and Philly's great nightlife too. Check those out on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming back to the Inn at Penn should your future travel plans include Philadelphia. Nancy Barag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, Nc
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Perhaps the nicest hotel I've stayed for conference business. Very nice, very modern amenities. Exceptionally clean and comfortable with a super friendly, super helpful staff. I would certainly stay here again and will check rates on this hotel when I return to Philly for a conference next Spring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nbarag, Director of Sales at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Thank you for your glowing review of the Inn at Penn. Our staff works very hard to please each guest that passes through our doors. We welcome the opportunity to have you back again next spring and I would personally like to speak with you about your needs. Please feel free to contact me directly. Nancy Barag
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
113 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here last minute since all late flights to Philly seem to have been cancelled. The room was quite updated and included an iPad. The TV selection was great as I waited to speak to the clowns at United about being put on another flight, but I had two issues. I found the HVAC system to be a bit off with the temp and I couldn't get the setting comfortable from a consistent temp perspective. Second, the TV needs to have a sleep timer, which it did not.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CLEShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the Inn at Penn. The hotel is meticulously clean...the beds are comfortable (not the pillows, however!)...the room is spacious...everyone who works there is extremely pleasant. The location in University City was perfect - great neighborhood. A bonus - the 21 bus runs in a loop from right outside the hotel. I would stay here again and again, if I got the chance to go back to Philly. The price can really fluxuate, but usually is very reasonable for what you get.

On a side note, a couple of great restaurants (within walking distance) - Kilamandjaro (not the best neighborhood, but the authentic african cuisine is amazing) and Distrito (fantastic tapas-style mexican).

Also, if you have some extra time, I highly recommend Big Bus Tours - it's a hop-on/hop-off type of tour that takes you to most of the prime tourist spots in the city (you can select which ones you want to get off at, spend as much time as you like there, and then hop on the next bus). It's great transportation throughout the city, and the historical information is really fascinating. I'm not even really big on taking tours, and I really enjoyed myself.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 729 reviews
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,049 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#9 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,071 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#6 of 86 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#8 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing