We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Fabulous hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Florence, MT
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

I stayed here for a week while I was taking a class at Penn...so convenient to everything! Walking distance to great restaurants and activities. Plus, the rooms are really quite nice and so high tech! I just loved that in order to keep the lights on in your room, you insert your room key into a box on the wall. I did have a bit of trouble keeping it cool enough in my room when temps hit 85 in April, but other than that, it was a terrific stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitecalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    736
    311
    69
    24
    8
See reviews for
363
173
80
428
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed with out kids for a visit at the Inn at Penn. It is a great location to visit the University, close to everything including the admissions office. The hotel itself is nice, with a good gym and a very, very good breakfast. The rooms are quite nice also and the beds comfortable.
What really stood out was the staff. They were exceedingly friendly and helpful. As good as anywhere I have seen. I don't know her name, but the concierge was made for that job - always smiling and always helpful.
It is a great choice.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JonathanII
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

This is the most unique Hilton we have experienced. Right on the Penn campus in University City, one feels as if one is staying at a cozy-sized, plush mansion. Attractive lobby, wonderful lounge and breakfast area, comfortable yet elegantly finished rooms. Convenient to restaurants and shopping. Pleasant and helpful front desk staff.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Road_Warrior52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Our vehicle was "keyed" while in the care of Hilton. The facilities were very nice, but I would not stay there again as our claim was denied. According to them there was no proof the damage happened during our stay. I would not recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nc1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for being our guest. While I am pleased that you enjoyed our hotel, I am sorry about the damage that occurred to your vehicle while in our parking operator's care. I have reviewed the incident with our parking manager and I have instructed him to pay your claim. Like most hotels, we do not manage our parking operation directly, so I was unaware of the damage to your vehicle or that your claim had been denied. I wish you had made me aware of the matter rather than using this forum to voice your frustration. However, ultimately what is most important is that we correct the problem. Please contact me if you have not heard from our parking manager by the end of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood SC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This is a beautiful hotel, with excellent service. Very stately and dignified - large library style common area with fireplace and nice seating. Breakfast buffet is wonderful, although not included and a little pricey. The rooms are updated - very clean and comfortable with a nice TV and IPADs for ordering room service, etc. The location can't be beat for visiting Penn - front and rear entrances on Walnut St and Sanson St. The campus of U Penn is so beautiful, and this hotel compliments the visit nicely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tabby_D_1271
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your kind comments and for being our guest. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is located near a wonderful little street full of night time activity that includes an oyster bar and a fun little Irish pub! All of the hotel staff were very cordial and helpful. Everything about the room was spectacular!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aimster9870
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmgreg, General Manager at Hilton Inn at Penn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
We're please to hear that you enjoyed stay and we look forward to seeing again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

A very nice hotel and the perfect location for visiting Penn. The main campus is right across the street. Rooms were clean, comfortable, and in good condition. Service was fine. Breakfast buffet was nothing special, but not bad either. Would stay again if coming to Penn.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigSur707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 689 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,943 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#13 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing