We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Inn at Penn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Inn at Penn
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Philadelphia
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

I stayed here because my brother and I had early appointments at the UPenn Hospital and live out of town. The rooms were clean and from my understanding, recently renovated. The beds were very comfortable, the decor was pleasant, and the location was perfect. The hotel is right next to the UPenn bookstore and there were places to buy everything from food to clothing to toiletries within a couple of blocks.

The best thing about the hotel was the customer service. A few things stood out with regard to the interactions had with employees that work there. The most pleasant occurrence had to do with our room location. Initially, our room was about as far away from the elevator as possible. My brother was very sick and going back and forth from the room to the lobby took a lot of energy out of him. When realizing how far we were and what a toll it would take on him, I called the front desk asking if it were possible to move closer to the elevators. Not only were they extremely accommodating but they also brought the new key cards to us in out old room instead of having me go down to exchange them with our current cards. In addition, they offered to carry our bags and did not expect us to return the old card keys to the front desk.

Another nice surprise happened when I received a personal note from the manager of reservations welcoming me to the hotel and wishing me and my brother a good stay. Reiterating what she had said when I spoke with her to make the reservation, that if we needed anything, we should not hesitate to ask. I thought it was just a nice gesture from her.

Finally, any staff that we had any interaction or exposure to was extremely polite and helpful. I have no doubt that I will stay here again if I ever need to stay in the UPenn area. Great place and a completely fantastic experience.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    311
    69
    24
    8
See reviews for
363
173
80
429
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The facility is lovely! The normal accomodations that you expect from a Hilton have been upgraded. In room ipads were new to me and very enjoyable. The valet parkers were so nice and very helpful. The bell staff always had a smile and were extremely friendly and helpful. If you want a lovely place that is near Drexel and Penn, I do highly recommend The Inn at Penn. Breakfast is very nice with a chef available to cook any type of omelette that you choose. I had an egg white omelette loaded up with fresh veggies and some Greek yogurt with fresh fruit. Others had ham and cheese omelette with a side fo bacon!! Of course it is a bit pricey, but the accomodations truly are lovely, and sometimes we just deserve to feel special!!

Room Tip: I had myself and my two teenage daughters with me. I booked a room with two double beds, but when I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeggyH21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Classy hotel, with classy living room, good breakfast and clean and large rooms
Lobby is on second floor... two entrances from 2 streets may be confusing
Just across the street from uPenn and Wharton, with the bookstore just aside.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nir1703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
102 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I stayed here on business when visiting UPenn, and it is the best location. You can get up and literally walk just 2 min to the business school. There are some fast food places a short walk away as well, and the subway is very close if you need to go into Philly. Its a quiet area, but has everything you really need.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rakesh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

This is by far one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Rooms are clean, newly renovated, and equipped with the latest technology (iPad controls, DirecTv, iHome radio). Front desk staff went above and beyond to ensure my needs were met.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Daisy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great rooms (iPad is a nice perk!), extremely comfortable bed and wonderful service. Perfectly located for visiting UPenn. Have stayed here many times with family and it is our first choice when visiting the campus. Note that prices fluctuate greatly throughout the year and sometimes you need to reserve way in advance if there's a big event on campus.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TJ0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Breakfast at the Inn at Penn is an enjoyable experience. It is where I stop to eat after early morning church service. I find the physical environment clean, the ambience pleasant and food fresh and traditional. The main room wall consists of windows which allows the sunlight to brighten the entire room. Omelettes and waffles are made to your specifications in your presence. Fresh fruit are always available. - The service providers are pleasant and very willing to help and the manager is always present to assist patrons.
T.Koger

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Philadelphia hotels
City Center West
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Philadelphia
City Center West
The Rittenhouse Hotel
The Rittenhouse Hotel
#1 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 692 reviews
City Center West
The Windsor Suites
The Windsor Suites
#9 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.0 of 5 stars 1,089 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City Center West
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
Sofitel Philadelphia Hotel
#8 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 2,949 reviews
University City
Homewood Suites University City
Homewood Suites University City
#17 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 501 reviews
City Center East
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
Loews Philadelphia Hotel
#10 of 84 in Philadelphia
4.5 of 5 stars 3,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Inn at Penn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Inn at Penn

Property: Hilton Inn at Penn
Address: 3600 Sansom St, Philadelphia, PA 19104-3212
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Pennsylvania > Philadelphia > University City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Business Hotel in Philadelphia
#3 Spa Hotel in Philadelphia
#4 Luxury Hotel in Philadelphia
#5 Romantic Hotel in Philadelphia
#7 Green Hotel in Philadelphia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Inn at Penn 4*
Number of rooms: 245
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn at Penn is a traditional hotel with a contemporary twist. Our state-of-the art AAA Four-Diamond hotel is located on the campus of the University of Pennsylvania and is walking distance to shopping, restaurants and the great nightlife that Center City Philadelphia boasts. Complimentary wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel as well as an iPad in every guestroom plus PURE (hypo-allergenic) rooms, media hubs, refrigerators, and luxurious bath amenities are all included in our guestrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Inn at Penn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Inn At Penn Hotel Philadelphia
Hilton At Penn
Hilton Philadelphia
Hilton Inn Penn
Philadelphia Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing